Recommendation for New Tyre 225/45R17, would like to replace a better tyre.

TStcken
post Sep 17 2014, 09:05 PM, updated 12y ago

413 posts

I'm using Goodyear Excellence 225/45R17 about 2 years and 4 months. Recently the workshop staff told me the tyres are worn out, so I'm thinking to replace a better and long lasting tyres. I drive quite often for long journey with high speed. I'm not familiar to this and I found there are many types even on a same brand tyre, its confusing. Anyone knows can give me some good recommendations? I should stick to the current size ? Thanks heaps!

This post has been edited by tcken: Sep 17 2014, 09:14 PM
6UE5T
post Sep 17 2014, 10:59 PM

1,704 posts

Michelin PS3 or Goodyear F1 Asymmetric 2
TStcken
post Sep 18 2014, 08:51 AM

413 posts

I always hear about Michelin tyre performance is extremely good but the tyres usually can't last long. Does it true?
overfloe
post Sep 18 2014, 12:43 PM

Ain't nothing but a thang..
2,207 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Sep 18 2014, 09:51 AM)
I always hear about Michelin tyre performance is extremely good but the tyres usually can't last long. Does it true?
depending on which model. cannot generalize. both michelin ps3 and goodyear asy2 i have used lasted about the same, 40k km. many tires will last around this mileage too.. you can stretch longer but will risk of poor braking and cracking due to the condition of tire (normally rubber hardens and thin tread).

toyo tires are reported to wear faster.
arj
post Sep 18 2014, 06:13 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

For 225/45/R17 I've used Continental CSC3, Goodyear Assymetric 1 & 2, Nexen N8000, Neuton NT8000 and Michelin PS3. Assymetric 2 for me is the clear winner in terms of performance among the lot. Noise and comfort isn't too bad either but the winner in that category goes to the PS3.
TStcken
post Sep 19 2014, 09:52 AM

413 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Sep 18 2014, 06:13 PM)
For 225/45/R17 I've used Continental CSC3, Goodyear Assymetric 1 & 2, Nexen N8000, Neuton NT8000 and Michelin PS3. Assymetric 2 for me is the clear winner in terms of performance among the lot. Noise and comfort isn't too bad either but the winner in that category goes to the PS3.
Thanks for the information. I change either Assymetric 2 or PS3 depend what tyre shop is around. Have to request for tyre as long as made in 2014 isn't ?
cfa28
post Sep 19 2014, 02:52 PM

4,830 posts

suggest GT Radial Champiro HPY

Cheaper than AY2 or PS3 but almost as good.

It is said that Champiro only cost 60% of a AY2 but gives 80% as good performance
isagami
post Sep 19 2014, 03:06 PM

Hi, sorry to bud in here. I need some adv on what's the best tyre for Nazaria ? size is 215/65/16. current tyres thread is abt 30-40% left so I guessed its abt time to change them. Recommendations greatly appreciated. thks
cfa28
post Sep 19 2014, 03:40 PM

4,830 posts

QUOTE(isagami @ Sep 19 2014, 03:06 PM)
Hi, sorry to bud in here. I need some adv on what's the best tyre for Nazaria ? size is 215/65/16. current tyres thread is abt 30-40% left so I guessed its abt time to change them. Recommendations greatly appreciated. thks
Some options for your consideration

Michelin XM2
Goodyear EfficientGrip
TireCorner
post Sep 19 2014, 07:48 PM

QUOTE(tcken @ Sep 19 2014, 09:52 AM)
Thanks for the information. I change either Assymetric 2 or PS3 depend what tyre shop is around. Have to request for tyre as long as made in 2014 isn't ?
Most ideal when you start to use the tire is after 6months to 12months, after the production date. Go ask those sifu and google. That is why some tire mfg gave 5 years wrty on it.

PS3 price for 1 pcs 505myr. C&C 225/45R17

This post has been edited by TireCorner: Sep 19 2014, 07:49 PM
TStcken
post Sep 21 2014, 11:32 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(TireCorner @ Sep 19 2014, 07:48 PM)
Most ideal when you start to use the tire is after 6months to 12months, after the production date. Go ask those sifu and google. That is why some tire mfg gave 5 years wrty on it.

PS3 price for 1 pcs 505myr. C&C 225/45R17
Seriously? I went to tyre store in Perak yesterday, the best price of changing 4 PS3 tyres for rm2200 (rm550 per piece) include balancing and alignment. :s
jeschong
post Sep 22 2014, 03:29 PM

17 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Sep 21 2014, 11:32 PM)
Seriously? I went to tyre store in Perak yesterday, the best price of changing 4 PS3 tyres for rm2200 (rm550 per piece) include balancing and alignment. :s
tyre price in Perak usually more expensive compare to KL and Penang mah
arj
post Sep 23 2014, 03:46 PM

RED DEVIL
4,896 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Sep 21 2014, 11:32 PM)
That's a pretty good price already. Most with lower prices around the Klang Valley doesn't include balancing and alignment.
TStcken
post Sep 23 2014, 07:34 PM

413 posts

QUOTE(arj @ Sep 23 2014, 03:46 PM)
That's a pretty good price already. Most with lower prices around the Klang Valley doesn't include balancing and alignment.
I have ordered it and have to wait for a week but currently they have no stock in the store. The boss told me that once you use Michelin tyre, you won't use other brand tyre anymore. It sounds so good cause that time I was considering Goodyear or Michelin.
TStcken
post Oct 7 2014, 09:11 PM

413 posts

I have changed the Michelin PS3. It feels really different for cornering. Please close the thread admin. thanks!
Quazacolt
post Oct 7 2014, 09:24 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(tcken @ Oct 7 2014, 09:11 PM)
I have changed the Michelin PS3. It feels really different for cornering. Please close the thread admin. thanks!
you can close it yourself at the bottom left corner of the thread

0.0194sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 10:21 PM