♠The Google Nexus 5 Official Thread Version 9♠, Lolipop + 1yr anniversary of N5 user!

super_evil_alien
post Oct 15 2014, 02:04 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ashwin988 @ Oct 14 2014, 06:27 PM)
You know what.. i am kinda having this exact same issue. I was going to drop by satu gadget today but then after a format back to stock, it seems to be working fine. I did notice that the notification pull down would come down by itself once in a while and I would not be able to touch anything on the screen, even after rebooting the issue would replicate. I formatted and it was the same. Weirdly enough it self repaired itself today morning after leaving the phone off a night. Mine is a HK set but i have 2 years of warranty from Satu Gadget. If they charge me, I will really make a big deal.

I am planning on waiting for a while, to see when or if this issue reoccurs cause at this moment, i can't really show them anything as its really really random. I also have a backup Galaxy S3 incase shit hits the fan if you know what i mean.

Lets see how things go.
Pretty sure with AP set shops only provide 3 months warranty for the touchscreen.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2014, 05:35 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 29 2014, 05:20 PM)
When is official lollipop OTA coming? 3rd november?
System image might be uploaded on 3rd November but the OTA rollout *might* only be for Nexus WiFi devices.
Why? Probably because American carriers are making d*ck moves again.

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Oct 29 2014, 05:22 PM)
I guess as long as it's the big 3 OEM Sony/HTC/Samsung flagship, you should get it in 3 months.
The updates should go something like this:
Nexus devices -> Within first 2 weeks
Motorola -> Within a month
HTC -> 2 months for unlocked devices like those in Malaysia
Samsung -> 3 months for S5 & Note 4 (need lots of time to reskin the lolipop stuffs in new touchpiss version) & the other devices in 6 months
Sony -> Honestly I don't know because because their update schedule is all over the place.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2014, 06:11 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(shenglimzdavid @ Oct 29 2014, 05:49 PM)
But.. but I think type of custom ROM for OEM are almost the same: CM, AOSP, PAC.. The difference is amount of bugs brows.gif
Depends.Some may agree but aside from the amount of bugs I think there are some differences between the custom roms.

CM -> Just build a stable stock AOSP build with some additions. The extra additions such as new camera app & theme engine are party to make CM more interesting to OEMS so they will hire CM to maintain OS for their devices.
AOSP -> Lazy build. As long as the base build is stable it's good to go.
PAC -> Just dump all interesting things that PA,CM and others did together in single ROM
PA -> Arguably the most interesting custom rom maker with neat ideas (DSB, Hover, PIE etc2)

Quite lot of custom rom maker still rely on CM team for device upbringing because they are very good at that.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 29 2014, 06:54 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(djlah @ Oct 29 2014, 06:39 PM)
okay, Samsung, Sony out. How about LG? Motorola doing good.
good info. agreed, many rom baker rely much on cm. If future don't want to buy nexus anymore, motorola flagship or OnePlus One are good choice.
LG? Huh...They'll take their sweet time updating their flagship devices.
LG still rolling out 4.4 updates to Optimus G which is base of Nexus 4 and N4 got 4.4 update last year.

Hope people don't mix up kang roms with with other AOSP based rom provider. Number of rom provider only use CM hardware patches to patch bugs. Kang is lain cerita. ROM devs are sensitive to this issue.

One Plus One device is a good device (forget about the garbage company) but the device seems to have some hardware issues. I myself is looking to buy 1+1 but still monitoring the touch screen issue. Artem (AndroidPolice leader) got some issues with his 1+1 & I'm waiting to see whether it's hardware or software issue. Seems like synaptics digitizier causes quite some issues.
super_evil_alien
post Oct 30 2014, 08:34 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Oct 29 2014, 08:27 PM)
Is it? Because 1+1 is in my list., but i didn't see anyone in the thread say anything. Hmm.
Issue might be limited to the earlier 1+1 batch
super_evil_alien
post Oct 31 2014, 11:58 AM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 31 2014, 09:13 AM)
mine is stock, 32gb.

just had a problem of mm-qcamera-daemon recently.
im not installed any snapchat, skype apps before.

how to get rid of this daemon in future??
Wait for 5.0 release. The bug should be solved in this release.

http://www.androidpolice.com/2014/10/07/go...ion-of-android/
super_evil_alien
post Nov 4 2014, 05:38 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 4 2014, 04:40 PM)
Most of us discussing Droid Turbo over Motorola X 2014 thread, I think will start Moto Maxx as well  biggrin.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3340633/+280&#entry71238370
Droid Turbo aka Moto Maxx's battery turned out to be a disappointment for now. 3900mA battery but last around the same duration as other flagships. Kinda hoping Moto will produce another magic like what they did with Moto 360 to improve the battery life.

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Nov 4 2014, 05:31 PM)
When is the system image for Nexus 5 out?
5.0 source upload is almost complete. Factory image should be next.
Should be dropping within this week.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 4 2014, 05:48 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(samurai1337 @ Nov 4 2014, 05:39 PM)
Okay... I guess I will flash a fresh image rather than doing OTA then tongue.gif
Proper OTA rollout might take up to 2 weeks. You can sideload the OTA if someone managed to capture the OTA files from the initial rollout.

But if you messed around with the OS too much IMO it's better to start fresh with factory image flashing.
For me I'll be starting fresh because 5.0 made some of apps & hacks obsolete.

Source uploading take frigging long time with 5.0. Don't know whether it's because of number of devices or Android team trying to troll.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 6 2014, 01:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 6 2014, 01:11 PM)
Sometime wonder how low are our country in the eyes of Google  rclxub.gif

Play Movies expanded to more countries, and there's countries I never heard of before like Macedonia and Cyprus. Or maybe people from these countries never heard of Boleh-land as well  doh.gif

Bosnia-Herzegovina
Cyprus
Hungary
Iceland
Macedonia
Malta
Slovenia
Taiwan

http://www.androidauthority.com/google-pla...untries-564237/
The availability will be determined by legality and not by geographical reason.
Plus there's local companies who will be against Google launching their services (eg: Astro). Lot's of hoops to jump. We might never see Play Music & Movies services in Bolehland.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 6 2014, 01:54 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(iceman31 @ Nov 6 2014, 01:44 PM)
yup. all thanks to blood sucking cronies.

btw the wifi drain is fix in lollipop. yay!

https://code.google.com/p/android-developer...ail?id=189#c112
Yesterday before the Interstellar movie in GSC I watched Malaysian anti-competitive ad.
Can't help but to laugh at it. After years of cilaka punya cronies we are stuck with single companies like TM & Astro which control majority of their respective business.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 6 2014, 02:06 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 6 2014, 01:55 PM)
Yes understand that, hence why the rant. Google able to have Play Movies available ( and some how popular ) in US while traditional cable TV had strong influence and denial over new era of media consumption. If Google put priority over us, and thus much more effort to legalize Play Movies ( Play Music as well  cool.gif please ), it could become reality. Maybe Google still have the impression of Boleh-land been famous among pirated movie consumption country ( oops while my torrents running at home ).
Malaysia is a very small market & yes, the impression of Malaysia is pirate heaven might be true. Even yours truly download US tv series regulary whistling.gif

With all these reasons finance is the next important reason on online media availability. Malaysia is a very small market. If Google did spend some money to jump through the legal hoops can they be sure that they will make a decent profit in a small market which was somewhat proven to be pirate heaven?

Don't get me wrong. I would love to have these legal services in Malaysia. But I just feel like due the legal & finance issues there's low chance that it'll ever be available in Malaysia.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 6 2014, 02:10 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 6 2014, 02:02 PM)
Sigh, monopoly infrastructure. We are consider lucky while Unifi wasnt as expensive as it could be at some other countries, but then if more competition then we consumer definitely will benefit from it ( Maxis Home is using TM backbone so TM still monopolize, while TIME had limited reachability ). Astro can go die, maybe left mamak and soccer fans subscribe to it now  whistling.gif
I kinda remember our dear PM saying that he'll reduce broadband fees. Don't know what happened to that promise.
I do have Astro subscription in my parents home. I only watch sports & documentary channels in Astro because it's very hard to get consistent streaming service online. If one day I can get alternative service I'll happily say goodbye to Astro.

This post has been edited by super_evil_alien: Nov 6 2014, 02:11 PM
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2014, 04:39 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

QUOTE(Someonesim @ Nov 10 2014, 04:14 PM)
Google make L preview and Lollipop preview, most likely manufacturers also receive preview source code earlier for them to test. No surprise for Moto due to almost vanilla ROM, but LG does shock me as they have their own skin on top.
>LG Nexus 5
As the manufacturer of Nexus 5 for sure they have fairly up to date code.
I'll be surprised if they didn't take advantage of that.
super_evil_alien
post Nov 10 2014, 05:36 PM

Slumber Mode
5,105 posts

Hell will be truly frozen if Samsung update SG5/SN4 Verizon version within 14 days of new Android code release.

0.0433sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:41 AM