Maybank Gold is gooding? as in the price offer?
Any other place i can invest in gold for better prospect? Say mutual fund ETF relating to gold? Any of you got experience?
Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold
Sep 23 2025, 12:09 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
2,376 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
Maybank Gold is gooding? as in the price offer?
Any other place i can invest in gold for better prospect? Say mutual fund ETF relating to gold? Any of you got experience? |
Sep 23 2025, 02:14 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 23 2025, 02:02 PM) there are experienced people here for: Thanx mate..gold jewelry shops (tomei, poh kong, SK) .gold bullion traders (silver bullion, mybullion) .gold ETFs (0828EA at bursa, GLD at nyse) .paper or e-gold (UOB, CIMB, Maybank) i think UOB has the lowest spread, then CIMB. UOB: 508.70 - 504.60 https://www.uob.com.my/online-rates/gold-prices.page CIMB: 507- 500.5 https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/help-su...nt-account.html maybank: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...and_silver.page for paper gold, seem UOB is not a bad choice. For ETF right, i saw even some mutual fund are linked to gold ETF. Are they much safer option? compared to buying ETF directly from stocks? |
Sep 23 2025, 03:00 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 23 2025, 02:31 PM) i haven't touched mutual funds in a long time. understood. thanx for your elaborationthe commission for agent used to be super high, dunno now. ETFs are safe, dun worry. only thing is the liquidity may not be great. e-gold with banks are easy, convenient, instant cash transfer at buy or sell. however, they aren't PIDM protected. the thinking usually is e-gold, etfs are for short term trading, speculation. for long term holding, go for 999.9 gold bars. below is a recent short video of a foreigner selling a couple silver coins at Silver Bullion in kelana jaya. some of us have done biz with this bullion trader, among the best places in town. it is mentioned there that most gold stackers are >50 years old, 100g gold bars are the bestsellers! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jZpZpdlSlIs I do have a follow-up question. For example in Maybank if you buy gold, you can keep it as paper, or you can pay some amount to get them as physical gold. Do you still refer them as e-gold? I am just confused with the terms used. Secondly, for buying from bullion right, they usually sell in certain denominator right? 10,50 or 100g? I even see in shopee, habib sells gold coins. (but i think those are 916) But if you are buying 100g one short, that means you tied to the rate on that time. |
Sep 23 2025, 03:38 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Sep 23 2025, 03:12 PM) i think most commercial banks do e-gold without the possibility of delivery. Got Maybank you can get the physical gold, but you need to pay like RM250 for the conversion (e-gold to physical)but perhaps a minority do like UOB? maybank, no idea, do check! e-gold is e-gold until u take delivery, that is. gold jewelry shops sell all kinds - their own minted coins, bars + well popular ones like swiss pamp, canadian maple. aussie kangaroo. most popular ones are in 5g, 10g, 20g, 1oz, 50g, 100g. yes, u pay the price according to the rate on that day. jewelry shops price significantly higher, spread is 12-18%. if seriously buying to keep for some time, better buy at bullion traders, spread 2-4%. the bigger the denomination, the smaller the spread. silver spreads are much higher, coins at >30%, 10z/1kg bars at about 10%. https://www.silverbullion.com.my/ https://mybulliontrade.com/ Yes, jewellery shop prices are crazy. Not idle for investment. I can look into bullion in future, maybe its better way for investment. (maybe need to compare the e-gold spread with inclusion of conversion price as well) |
Nov 1 2025, 01:03 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Oct 31 2025, 07:01 PM) heads up for you. can i know how you actually "book" it? you do it online?Silver Bullion has some new silver bars stock. https://www.silverbullion.com.my/Shop/Buy/S...rentBranch=MYKL i just booked a bit. i am a fan of both gold & silver. i hope to see GSR or gold:silver ratio to go from 82:1 to 50:1 or silver/gold from 1.2% to 2%. so... target... gold $5000/oz, silver $100/oz. samsung has a new silver EV battery... to be mass launched soon. single charge <10min, good for 1000km. needs 1kg silver... if silver price doubles, EV price with that battery has to incr by RM10,000! https://www.jpost.com/business-and-innovati.../article-852029 then you physically walk in and pay cash and get them? i am still slightly not that comfortable to pay online and delivery (if they have delivery). |
Nov 21 2025, 02:57 PM
Guys wanna ask.
Buying paper gold from bank. e.g. Maybank. Why the rate is not reflected in realtime? As in the global market i see its dropping, but maybank rate is still high. Do they only update rate daily or more frequently? Also why this tread suddenly so diam? |
Nov 21 2025, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 21 2025, 04:09 PM) should be updated a few times a day. you are right.i don't do maybank but their spread is bigger and wider than CIMB or UOB: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...and_silver.page https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/help-su...nt-account.html https://www.uob.com.my/online-rates/gold-prices.page quiet becos gold price been dropping slowly from $4380/oz to now 4035. may stay rather flat for some weeks or months! if it stays above $4000, good news... let it consolidate more. UOB seem to have the lowest spread. They also selling 99.999 gold? (Maybank is 99.99%) hondaracer liked this post
Nov 21 2025, 04:35 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 21 2025, 04:29 PM) i do only CIMB - pure paper, not convertible to physical. you are right. for Maybank you can convert to physical. if i remember you got to pay like RM250 for that.dunno about maybank or UOB. you will need to talk to the banks to clarify. it's also possible there are some other fees and conditions involved if u want to convert to physical gold. frankly, if u want physical, better buy from bullion traders. paper gold, UOB shud be the best in terms of spread. however for UOB, i am not sure. also i dont know UOB will be 999 or 916 type. |
Nov 23 2025, 01:36 PM
QUOTE(hondaracer @ Nov 23 2025, 09:17 AM) i have maybank... physical is only kijang coins, go main branch to buy...i keep both paper & physical gold in maybank. Maybank only have paper silver, must do counter transactions with passbook. You mean paper gold? You converted the physical gold?or you bought physical gold separately? I guess you're referring to the second? i was referring to converting paper to physical. |
Nov 24 2025, 07:17 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 21 2025, 04:09 PM) should be updated a few times a day. Maybe you guys already know, and i am late to know...loli don't do maybank but their spread is bigger and wider than CIMB or UOB: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...and_silver.page https://www.cimb.com.my/en/personal/help-su...nt-account.html https://www.uob.com.my/online-rates/gold-prices.page quiet becos gold price been dropping slowly from $4380/oz to now 4035. may stay rather flat for some weeks or months! if it stays above $4000, good news... let it consolidate more. UOB only allows you to buy a minimum of 5grams at a time. Also initial purchase has to be 5grams, nothing less. Plus, opening a UOB gold account requires you to walk into UOB and open. No online option. Just sharing. |
Nov 24 2025, 07:41 PM
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Nov 24 2025, 07:32 PM) good info. yes...better spread comes with inconveniences. plus the interface doesnt even tell you, you average rate you bought and etc. very basic interface. You know you cant expect too much from UOB for this matter.meaning UOB better spread come with some inconveniences. CIMB min is 1 gram. can open online gold acc within the CIMB clicks/octo portal/app. but no physical convert. it was 24 bars initially. 7 hours later, 4 bars left! imo, if u do gold, gotta do silver too, the little hotblooded bro! Seem CIMB can be explored. Silver? ermm...physical? |
| Change to: | 0.0228sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:37 PM |