QUOTE(alexander89 @ Aug 10 2015, 10:44 PM)
Not sure but it happens after China devalues the yuan. On another note, Ringgit hits RM4 today.. so we can expect pricier gold if buying in RM.Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold
Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold
Aug 11 2015, 06:02 PM
525 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia |
Aug 16 2015, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 16 2015, 03:59 PM) Hi guys so im going to start some gold buying and found www.buysilvermalaysia.com and it seem the price relatively resonable since they follow market price plus markup but compared to other place sites its seem okok. So any of u guys think a good place to buy? Or got even better place You can try silvermalaysia.com though they don't sell gold coins, only bars and it's cheaper. If you're concerned about if you could sell it off in other country, buy those minted by well known mints like PAMP (just google around) or buy gold coins such as Maple Leaf, Kangaroo Nugget, etc.. IT MAKES A LOT OF DIFFERENCES between buying well known and lesser/unknown gold bars/rounds. Shops would be more willing to buy well known gold bars compared to lesser/unknown ones. UOB bank currently offers the best rate (except for 1g) for coins and bars. However, you can only buy it at the HQ in KL and you have to open a saving account with them. The fact that it's sold by UOB bank, other shops would be more willing to buy (if you're selling to them) as it's definitely genuine(it comes with a cert/receipt from UOB).This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Aug 16 2015, 06:51 PM |
Aug 16 2015, 09:51 PM
Aug 17 2015, 11:08 AM
QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 17 2015, 02:31 AM) Well silvermalaysia.com is selling the 1gram pamp @ rm227 somemore I gave to wait while buysilvermalaysia 1g pamp is rm182 at the time of this writting...other weight are out of my budget. Yeah, their 1g bar are more expensive. I'd recommend you to buy gold bar in higher weight because it's cheaper in weight per RM. (but not Kilo bars if you can afford it) |
Aug 17 2015, 03:47 PM
QUOTE(zodd @ Aug 17 2015, 11:30 AM) Once I tried to sell my Pamp to Poh Kong, Tomei but they straight rejected without even want to look at it. Starting from that moment I search for gold which is cheaper and easier to sell back to without questions ask and can pawn if need to. and also have those LBMA just like PAMP. finally I found one. They probably have policy in place to not accept gold bullion products as there are too many fakes out there or they don't have the equipment or they don't want to waste time assaying your gold. Not that they don't recognise well known mints like PAMP. You can try your luck with other shops. Having said that, these gold jewellery shops rates/spreads are kind of ripoff even if they're willing to buy from you unless you can negotiate better rates with them.Those pamps I have? will pass to my next generation. My case maybe not applicable to some, since I do not plan to go or stay abroad. |
Aug 19 2015, 06:18 PM
QUOTE(A|bert @ Aug 19 2015, 12:37 PM) Dear all, any gold dealer in the malaysia market does offer the postage/delivery service to our doorstep? I had deal with 1stopgold. They do not provide delivery/postage service. Try SilverMalaysia.com, BuySilverMalaysia.com or Nubex.QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 19 2015, 05:32 PM) I am new to gold... You can only buy at the KL HQ at Jalan Raja Laut. Also, you have to open a savings account with them to buy it if you don't already have one. The bank will deduct money from your savings account. Just bring your cash and said you want to buy gold and they'll direct you to open a savings account. 100g bar should be fine I reckon. Smaller bar are easier to sell off usually but cost more in terms of weight/price. Be sure to keep the cert/receipt the bank give you. That cert/receipt certifies the gold is authentic(we're talking about UOB Bank here) in addition to the PAMP cert that comes with the gold bar. With that cert/receipt, it gives more confidence/assurance to other buyers, if you want to sell it off later. If you want to sell back to the bank, that cert/receipt is mandatory.but considering Buying 100g PAMP at UOB. Any tips for a newbie? =) Thanks in Advance! |
Aug 19 2015, 07:34 PM
QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 19 2015, 06:28 PM) Cool. Thanks! Well, why don't you (instead of buying pamp gold bar)?It sounds pretty straight forward. I'll visit them tomorrow. Btw, why dont you guys invest in their "Gold investment account"? As the spread is smaller.... QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 19 2015, 06:32 PM) I am extremely disappointed that uob choose to sell their gold in kl only. I would have bought a lot of pamp gold from them had they allowed me to buy here @ kuching That's too bad if you're not located in KL. UOB must have their own reasons. You may wanna consider buying online from BuySilverMalaysia, silvermalaysia or nubex. Actually you consider Kijang Emas gold coin. |
Aug 20 2015, 05:52 PM
QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 20 2015, 04:05 PM) I went to UOB today to create the account. Oh really?I bought Maple Leaf 2 months ago when gold is still 1170-ish. Was planning to get PAMP n kangaroo coin when it got hit to 1080-ish but missed the boat. Y must insist on PAMP?Gold coins are even better and more expensive usually elsewhere and the kangaroo nugget carry some numismatics value. They were out of stock of all PAMP bars. Only had Maple leaf 1oz coins and kangaroo coins in stock. I went for the Gold investment account. smaller spread. although they didnt re-assure me that the gold is backed by physical gold. Oh well.. lets hope there is a stable uptrend on the price =) There's nowhere stating that those paper gold account are claims to physical gold other it's than priced according to spot price. That's not reassuring. Used to have an account with cimb but I closed it. Was expecting a continuous downtrend when it got hit twice to 1080...but it's going up now. |
Aug 20 2015, 05:53 PM
Aug 21 2015, 11:56 AM
QUOTE(gratfe @ Aug 21 2015, 11:38 AM) I have bought gold online through CIMB investment account. How much high?Nobody knows for sure. Will it keep increasing?Depends on who you want to believe.Bought alot when it was RM 165/G. Then bought also when it went low to RM 130.G Now increased to Rm 150.8/G right now. Never seen it soo high in the last 2 years or so. How much high will it go? Will it keep on increasing ? I've been keeping track of the price of Kijang Emas 1Oz. gold coin and UOB's Maple Leaf 1 Oz. gold coin price daily for the past 1 1/2 year. Kijang Emas gold coin usually are around RM60-70 more expensive than UOB's Maple Leaf. But today, the Maple Leaf is more expensive that the Kijang Emas...interesting This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Aug 21 2015, 12:01 PM |
Aug 21 2015, 02:16 PM
QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 21 2015, 01:41 PM) Actually i used a simple logic, and go for the lowest spread. Not sure what economy crash you're referring to, but when that happens, share & property prices will tumble and isn't that a good time to buy them cheap instead of putting it in gold? If you're talking about currency crash, do you think by that time banks will still be open for you to withdraw/transfer money?I'm not sure with UOB Gold Investment account, but I reckon it's quite similar to other bank's t&c, where there's a clause stating that the somewhere along the lines of the bank has the final say on the conversion rates to RM, at least for CIMB's Gold Investment account. Yes, downside of physical gold is storing/keeping it... gotta be creative with that.Since i am a newbie, and just want to put some money in gold in case Malaysia economy crash, i choose PAMP coz low spread. I am not sure if the "gold investment account" is backed by physical gold, or just an imaginary thing following spot gold price. But as long as spot gold maintain, i am okay. I have no space to keep physical gold anyway. Gold seems to be going up during Hongkong/china/malaysia trading hours. I guess people rushing to buy due to currency problems. |
Aug 21 2015, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(win44 @ Aug 21 2015, 04:21 PM) Gold before any "crash", and perhaps property after the crash. When situation really bad, the banks might have already in their emergency mode before the masses get to know anything. You probably won't be able to back everything or worst case, anything at all. But that's just hypothetical. My opinion is that, physical gold like gold coins or bars from well known mint would be better because at least it's not with the bank or tied to a bank's system if something really bad like currency failure really happen. You can sell it back to the bank or other gold bullion dealers provided they're gold coins(not gold rounds, mind you) or bars from well known mints, but when the economy crashes, the entity that would most probably still have the $$ to buy your gold would be banks. But yeah, i am not speculating any recession or bubble bursts. My intention is that i have something that is not in Ringgit, if ever ringgit goes to shit. Im sure that if the situation goes really really bad, UOB will be just like any other bank. But i will pull out if i see a very bad trend coming. Perhaps then i will buy physical gold. and when you say creative, haha, made me think of finding big old books and cutting the center out, and put gold inside. Robbers wont steal that big encyclopedia.. will they? Stashing into books could work if you have a huge rack of books. There are so many other ways... |
Aug 22 2015, 08:57 AM
QUOTE(10996455 @ Aug 21 2015, 11:38 PM) Ya most gold seller will say that to u. Explain how will the gold burden one?Too heavy to carry?Worst case scenario, that would be hyperinflation of RM, (which doesn't seem possible at this point of time), or to be more realistic, severe devaluation of RM, gold's value will not devalue together or as much as RM. When the RM stabilizes after that or when there would be a new RM currency, you get to exchange ur gold for more RM.Worst case scenario, yr own gold will burden u down then help u .( u can try bring 0.5kg gold bar out of the country then u will know how Mich trouble u can get into XD ) Yr only life line would be connection that help u get out of this country. |
Aug 22 2015, 11:50 PM
QUOTE(10996455 @ Aug 22 2015, 10:54 AM) From history book new currency stabilize only for a short period then crap again, really hard to tell when is the good time to change back local currency. You don't get my what I said about currency stability. It's about the stability of the exchange rate.(when the rate stop fluctuating greatly) And what you mentioned about China after ww2 (though I've never heard of that event), that's because of the ruling regime was establishing new monetary system after chaos of war and during period of rebuilding the country. Franklin Roosevelt once signed an executive order to confiscate gold and outlawed public possession of gold too in 1933. But events like this, though not impossible, are not very likely now and besides, we don't have anything like executive order in msia. Take China for example after ww2 new currency pop out gov force normal citizen trade in precious metal for new currency a few month later new currency went south. Let's assume that the gov do confiscate gold from the public n force them to change to new currency. This would also apply to others who don't own gold and the old currency will need to be exchange for the new one. Do you think those who exchange their old currency will be able to exchange more compared to those who use gold to exchange it? Don't even mention when the gov doesn't confiscate gold from the public! Even if the new currency do go south after that, the fact remains that those who use gold to exchange has more $$. The old currency can't possibly worth more than gold. QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 22 2015, 11:39 AM) All my gold bar are all pamp's except one kijang emas. Since most of my gold is pamp worst come to worst go to usa to pawn it sure fair deal over there not like here What's the weight of ur pamp bars n kijang emas?This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Aug 23 2015, 12:00 AM |
Aug 24 2015, 11:38 PM
Aug 25 2015, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(MohdPuskas @ Aug 25 2015, 07:01 AM) If you're based in KL, I recommend you go UOB. If not go Maybank but they only have Kijang Emas gold coin which is more expensive than UOB (comparing a 1 Oz. gold coin by around RM60-70 usually). Good about Maybank is that their branches that buy/sell gold are a lot more everywhere compared to UOB where you can only buy/sell at their HQ in KL. Having said that, you don't always have to sell back to the bank.QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 25 2015, 02:23 PM) What weight that's out of stock btw?This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Aug 25 2015, 02:41 PM |
Aug 25 2015, 04:00 PM
QUOTE(yolldddd @ Aug 25 2015, 03:18 PM) I made a call 5g 1g pamp all out of stock. Not to sure about now I made the call quite a while ago. As for the kijang emas most 1oz are also out of stock I see. But what about 1 Oz. coin/bar? 1 Oz. Kijang Emas out of stock?That's fast. |
Aug 26 2015, 05:23 PM
QUOTE(prophetjul @ Aug 26 2015, 03:15 PM) These ratings aren't standard ratings. What's the point? Those ratings are just sellers' own rating for the condition of product. Newbies would've misunderstood for something else. Unless the product is seriously chipped, dented, scratched, etc.. those ratings are meaningless to most ppl who just want to park their $ in gold. Only collectors will mind those ratings.Standard ratings of coins are BU, VF, MS, etc |
Aug 27 2015, 11:49 AM
QUOTE(XtraLeoGecko @ Aug 26 2015, 06:46 PM) The tiny 1g gold bar (~1cm) has a market value of RM189.44 per piece. If gold double its price from now due to whatever reason, it would cost RM380. Not bashing you or discouraging others from buying 1g gold, but if the situation deteriorated to the extent of "not many people could afford to buy 5g/10g/100g" (such as hyperinflation, which is not likely now), I don't think those who has enough money at that time would even buy 1g from you. They would have use the $ for their own survival. If it really happens, 1g would only be handy in buying daily goods, not parking the bulk of your $$. But then, people could also be using silver instead at that time as the value can be smaller. For those doomsday preppers, keeping gold in variety of weight is a better strategy.How many people has the money to buy 5g /10g /100g at that time? If u r holding 5g / 10g / 100g, would u able to liquidate easily during tat time? Some may argue 1g has high premium. But the fact is u would b able to get back the premium when u sold it later.... Tat's the reason I buy or trade gold bars which r not more than 5g. Mostly 25pcs ×1g in a complete sheet. Cheers. This post has been edited by sinbad2k: Aug 27 2015, 11:54 AM |
Aug 27 2015, 03:52 PM
QUOTE(burningprophet @ Aug 26 2015, 08:55 PM) I wonder how certain products with the similar weight & purity varies greatly in price despite minted by same manufacturers. if not because of rarity, it's probably because of the design costs and the way the mints price their products. I reckon PM buyers only cares about the weight,purity and how well accepted/recognised that product is.Putting numismaticity aside. Pampdragon vs fortuna/rosa for eg. Particularly silver i notice ten oz scottsdale 700+ vs fortuna 900+ ??? |
| Change to: | 0.0324sec
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 12:27 PM |