311 Pages « < 281 282 283 284 285 > » Bottom

Gold Investment Corner V8, All About Gold

Unkerpanjang
post May 17 2025, 06:50 AM

1,232 posts

QUOTE(Unkerpanjang @ May 16 2025, 09:20 PM)
In all fairness, the late comers and FOMO comment is universally applicable to tulips, commodities, properties, precious metals, stocks, bonds, crypto, etc. (Best time to buy gold was 20++ years ago.)

From 1 jan 2025 till 16 may 2025, within 5.5 months our Malaysia ringgit has depreciated between 22-26% against gold.

Although today's xau/myr has dropped to $13.7K/oz; the 2025 year end  projection is $14.9K/oz suggesting more weakness in ringgit.

Maybe the mother in law has better longer term foresight? Only time will tell.
Dear Diary,

Why are the Sideliners entering the gold forum?

Maybe they're here because they sense the MYR is heading the wrong way and gold feels like a safe escape. But then, those negative Western media headlines make them second-guess investing in gold.

Here's the deal: just DCA (dollar-cost average) and allocate your assets wisely. Ignore the noise—don’t get butthurt or laugh when others buy gold. Deep down, you might want to jump in but feel hesitant.

Seriously, we should be the loudest critics to 'wannabes' that buy luxury cars, handbags & neverending upgrades to latest model of smartphones on hire purchase.

To those old aunties n uncles who wish to buy gold. Let them be with their own money, few $$$ higher so what? They might wish to leave a legacy to their children or grandchildren.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: May 17 2025, 07:37 AM
foyorco P
post May 17 2025, 01:24 PM

Probation

hi all gold investors, instead buying physical gold or having too much investment accounts to manage. I bumped into the idea of buying gold ETFs like SGOL. As most of my other investments are in US stocks in a brokerage account.

Any thoughts? Thought it might even be more beneficial compare to physical gold bar, in which i dont need to eat up the premium when buying small volume.
Kpjh
post May 17 2025, 02:16 PM

69 posts

QUOTE(foyorco @ May 17 2025, 01:24 PM)
hi all gold investors, instead buying physical gold or having too much investment accounts to manage. I bumped into the idea of buying gold ETFs like SGOL. As most of my other investments are in US stocks in a brokerage account.

Any thoughts? Thought it might even be more beneficial compare to physical gold bar, in which i dont need to eat up the premium when buying small volume.
Yes, makes sense. Know the fees.
hondaracer
post May 17 2025, 02:16 PM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(foyorco @ May 17 2025, 01:24 PM)

Please go check if you are subjected to us taxes for buying commodity ETF. Buying stocks, capital gain is not taxed, but your dividends are taxed at 30%.

I know that you are exempted if you buy K1 type ETF.

These info i read from reddit, so i avoid. There are also some other T&C. So i just buy physical kijang and bank paper gold.

boyboycute
post May 17 2025, 09:10 PM

550 posts

QUOTE(lopo90 @ May 16 2025, 05:45 PM)
ROFL. You just described my mom in law. She really FOMO and bought but thankfully just a bit

Already advice her through my wife, not to buy so fast because price is a bit expensive. But apparently her banker friend told her it's ok.

Now just hold long long lor. Hope it hits back to 3500 and above later on

Was quite obvious gold losing momentum liao. It made a double top formation
Your mother in law will eventually pass her gold to your wife, assuming you're a guy.

The last winner will be you. Just hold for another decade
AVFAN
post May 18 2025, 09:00 AM

24,454 posts

Wall Street Strategists React to Moody’s US Credit Rating Cut
https://finance.yahoo.com/news/wall-street-...-220113452.html

For the first time in history, the US does not hold a triple-A credit rating from at least one of the three big agencies. S&P in 2011 was the first to strip the country of its pristine rating, while Fitch took the move in 2023.
https://www.ft.com/content/e456ea34-c6ad-43...e9-d4ce781c07b4
Moody's downgrade happened after market closed on fri.
US bond yields rose.
stock futures declined 1% or so.
gold price recovered above 3200.

it remains to be seen if this downgrade will mean anything significant.
we'll see tmr.

Unkerpanjang
post May 18 2025, 09:00 AM

1,232 posts

Dear Diary,

While the gold forum is a space for discussing material wealth, sharing knowledge and showcasing collections, its important to approach these conversations with empathy and tact. Family heirlooms, passed down through generations, hold deep sentimental value that transcend their size or monetary worth. Its hard to imagine a grandchild mocking a gift from their Ah Mah or Ah Kong, dismissing a piece of gold as 'small' or 'cheap'. These treasures carry stories of love and legacy - qualities far more precious than their monetary value.

Despite the wealth i've accumulated through years of hard work, the only ornament i wear every single day, without fail over three decades, is a modest gold-plated ring handed down from my Atuk. He often spoke of his hardships, toiling difficult times with the dream of owning something as precious as gold, a symbol of stability and hope. This ring, though simple, embodies his resilience and spirit.

When my son was a young boy, id captivate him with stories about tbe ring's magical power, weaving tales of how it carried our ancestors' blessings, offering protection through dark days, tough work challenges and life's uncertainty. I told him it was a reminder of our family's enduring strength. One day, this cherished ring will be passed to him, and i hope he'll share its stories with future generations, keeping our legacy alive.

It's never about Price, its always about Value.

This post has been edited by Unkerpanjang: May 18 2025, 09:45 AM
hondaracer
post May 19 2025, 06:40 AM

1,614 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 18 2025, 09:00 AM)
Moody's downgrade happened after market closed on fri.
US bond yields rose.
stock futures declined 1% or so.
gold price recovered above 3200.

it remains to be seen if this downgrade will mean anything significant.
we'll see tmr.
Will GOLD reach for USD 3500? 🔮🔮🔮
AVFAN
post May 19 2025, 07:46 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(hondaracer @ May 19 2025, 06:40 AM)
Will GOLD reach for USD 3500? 🔮🔮🔮
will first need to reclaim 3300 as a pivot.
the rise has been too sharp; correction is normal to rinse out the froth, form a more solid support.
with $ and $ bond prices on the decline, on-going tariff wars, US debt ever increasing, it's hard not to think $3700, $4000. tongue.gif

mcquire is so good in explaining his theory.
one can dismiss it as conspiracy theory or get ready for what he thinks is coming.
he thinks shanghai/brics physical gold markets is about to take over price setting from the highly leveraged comex paper gold trades.
and let's see if bassel3 kicking in in USA on july 1 will make a difference. some people think not.

short version
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DH5Jd2EJFzI
long version
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h9OD_GTNz9w&t=2042s

This post has been edited by AVFAN: May 19 2025, 07:55 AM
babygrand123
post May 19 2025, 04:34 PM

672 posts

parking for to learn gold trading
AVFAN
post May 22 2025, 09:08 AM

24,454 posts

Date $/oz RM/g RM/$

22.05.25 3327 455.10 4.253 (USA bond yields spiked, 10 yr 4.61%, 39 yr 5.11%; DXY 99.61; no progress on US tariffs on world)
03.05.25 3241 444.12 4.261 (USA 1Q GDP -0.3%, speculation china is considering trade talks; big incr in NF payroll; DXY 100)
10.04.25 3088 444.80 4.480 (trump tariffs 90 days pause; china tariff 145%; US 10 yr yield dropped to 4.27% from 4.50% after pause)
03.04.25 3151 454.30 4.480 (trump hefty reciprocal tariffs announced; equities sink, gold price record $3169/oz, RM455/g)
11.03.25 2887 411.20 4.430 (retreat of US-EU equity markets; fed adopts "wait & see" for rate cuts; trump tariffs on china commence)
11.02.25 2919 419.60 4.458 (new trump tariffs on steel, aluminum; gold new high $2921/oz, RM419.8/g)
04.02.25 2817 403.70 4.456 (gold price hit new record high $2830/oz, RM407/g; tariffs on mexico, canada paused 1mth)
21.01.25 2722 392.00 4.477 (Trump2.0 inauguration, markets bracing for tariffs, bond yields falling, $ weakens)
10.01.25 2670 386.00 4.495 ("trump" inflation fears; china central bank continues buying bullion; incr in gold ETFs buying)
19.12.24 2603 376.90 4.503 (fed rate cut 25bps, signals slow down in 2025 cuts; DXY 108.1; carnage in disappointed equity markets)
08.11.24 2700 380.80 4.385 (fed rate cut 25bps)
07.11.24 2662 378.62 4.422 (trump win aftermath)

After moody's US debt downgrade, the US bond market came under stress with weak demand, rising yields.
has the fed resumed QE?!
https://www.scotsmanguide.com/news/stealth-...24100%20million.
The same is seen in Japanese bond yields which has gone from typically near zero to >1.55%.

ECB warning on gold derivatives, counterparty risks:
https://www.ecb.europa.eu/press/financial-s...16fcd3f.en.html

Mixxomon
post May 26 2025, 03:33 PM

126 posts

Anyone know where is the best place in Klang Valley to purchase physical gold with minimal mark up? I'm not looking to trade, mainly just to keep.

I'm looking at Kijang Emas but apparently they're hard to buy (from Maybank)

This post has been edited by Mixxomon: May 26 2025, 03:34 PM
Paul13579
post May 26 2025, 05:00 PM

24 posts

QUOTE(Mixxomon @ May 26 2025, 03:33 PM)
Anyone know where is the best place in Klang Valley to purchase physical gold with minimal mark up? I'm not looking to trade, mainly just to keep.

Try Public Gold or Tomei. Easier access than Kijang Emas and still reliable.

nanan75
post May 26 2025, 08:12 PM

431 posts

Silver Bullion PJ
Nubex Shah Alam
romuluz777
post May 26 2025, 09:54 PM

2,215 posts

Mybulliontrade
MS Gold
hedfi
post May 27 2025, 02:45 PM

649 posts

QUOTE(Paul13579 @ May 26 2025, 05:00 PM)
Tomei cut throat
I find Silverbullion slightly cheaper than Mybullion

This post has been edited by hedfi: May 27 2025, 02:46 PM
nanan75
post May 27 2025, 03:33 PM

431 posts

QUOTE(hedfi @ May 27 2025, 02:45 PM)
Tomei cut throat
I find Silverbullion slightly cheaper than Mybullion
I vouch for silver bullion as they open on Sat, easy to pickup. And if you take LRT to Glenmarie, its within walking distance.
nexona88
post May 27 2025, 03:38 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(Paul13579 @ May 26 2025, 05:00 PM)
Tomei??

Lolz ..

Wah Chan, Tomei, Poh Kong, Habib etc

All is premium pricing one.... Waste time buying from them...
AVFAN
post Jun 2 2025, 10:35 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(nanan75 @ May 27 2025, 03:33 PM)
I vouch for silver bullion as they open on Sat, easy to pickup. And if you take LRT to Glenmarie, its within walking distance.
agree silver bullion is among the best, if not the best for price & spread.

they tell me biz has been brisk since feb.

if u monitor their website, u can see their stock is low.

whenever a new batch of popular gold bars or coins arrive, they are sold out within a few days!

the other thing to note is different coins, bars, cast or mint are priced differently with diff spreads too.

best buys are the pamp suisse fortuna bars 1oz, 50g 100g - lowest spreads.

https://www.silverbullion.com.my/Shop/Buy/Gold_Bars

after going sideways for 4 weeks or so, it looks like gold price consolidation is over/almost over, riding up again.

SILVER is about to break out of $35 resistance! go, go, go! rclxms.gif
killertcb007
post Jun 5 2025, 05:13 PM

69 posts

SILVER Break Out !!! $35 per Ounce

311 Pages « < 281 282 283 284 285 > » Top

0.0223sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 12:56 AM