when is lumia 830,73x releasing?, my lumia 620 showing signs of aging

TSkraith
post Sep 14 2014, 08:30 PM, updated 12y ago

29 posts

I wanted to buy lumia 830. Because my 2 yrs old lumia showing signs of aging. My volume down not working and already the power/lock button not nice feeling to press. Pretty soon it will stop working also. Please release lumia 830 soon
Assassin's
post Sep 15 2014, 02:22 AM

467 posts

The Lumia 830 is expected to be available in September around the world and is estimated to be priced at around 330EUR before taxes and subsidies.
Conversation

This post has been edited by Assassin's: Sep 15 2014, 02:22 AM
VictorKeong
post Sep 15 2014, 10:42 AM

599 posts

Yeah cant wait.. i either go for 830, or the much cheaper 735 haha.. please launch soonnnn
TSkraith
post Sep 16 2014, 12:04 AM

29 posts

QUOTE(VictorKeong @ Sep 15 2014, 10:42 AM)
Yeah cant wait.. i either go for 830, or the much cheaper 735 haha.. please launch soonnnn
Hopefully before my lumia 620 dies
[Ancient]-XinG-
post Sep 18 2014, 08:10 PM

20k VIP club
5,752 posts

so fast meh 2 yrs only aging?

my 920 nearly 2 yr also very nice.
TSkraith
post Sep 18 2014, 08:47 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Ancient-XinG- @ Sep 18 2014, 08:10 PM)
so fast meh 2 yrs only aging?

my 920 nearly 2 yr also very nice.
Still under warranty time itself already two times the button kaput..
Now it kaput again.. Malas to repair ready. I think I got a lemon phone
noorimanyosh
post Sep 18 2014, 09:28 PM

saoirse ronan :3
2,148 posts

expected price for the 830 is around rm1299 no?

or much cheaper?
VictorKeong
post Sep 19 2014, 10:51 AM

599 posts

QUOTE(noorimanyosh @ Sep 18 2014, 10:28 PM)
expected price for the 830 is around rm1299 no?

or much cheaper?
according to internet... yeah RRP around there... for 730 - rm880, 735-rm959 not mistaken

This post has been edited by VictorKeong: Sep 19 2014, 10:54 AM
Kelv
post Sep 25 2014, 11:18 AM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

When release in Malaysia? If too late, other brand already come out better specs and cheaper price already.

(Edit) Latest update: http://www.lowyat.net/2014/09/nokia-lumia-...rm-999-onwards/

This post has been edited by Kelv: Sep 25 2014, 01:45 PM
evilpuppy
post Sep 25 2014, 02:48 PM

4,092 posts

The latest Lumia 830 and Lumia 735 are officially launched in Malaysia today. Announced during IFA 2014, the Lumia 830 is their affordable flagship that’s priced at RM1399. Meanwhile its Lumia 735 is their answer for the current selfie trend and it is priced at RM999. As an early bird promo, they are giving out Microsoft Office 365 Home Premium for the first 500 Lumia 830 buyers.

SOS
xSean
post Sep 25 2014, 05:15 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Sep 25 2014, 11:18 AM)
When release in Malaysia? If too late, other brand already come out better specs and cheaper price already.

(Edit) Latest update: http://www.lowyat.net/2014/09/nokia-lumia-...rm-999-onwards/
when launched, the specs are outdated already....if late 1 or 2 months also no matter, u buy lumia not only about spec, the user experience, windows phone, microsoft ecosystem...

if u want compare spec, any android phone rm500-800 can pawn lumia 830 or 730....
TSkraith
post Sep 25 2014, 09:53 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 25 2014, 05:15 PM)
when launched, the specs are outdated already....if late 1 or 2 months also no matter, u buy lumia not only about spec, the user experience, windows phone, microsoft ecosystem...

if u want compare spec, any android phone rm500-800 can pawn lumia 830 or 730....
Some ppl make the mistake of comparing android phone specs with windows phone specs.. Actually android aka lag droid is power and resources hungry. Some things can never be compared like here maps, carl zeiss lenses and pureview technology.
Kelv
post Sep 25 2014, 11:58 PM

Be kind to animals
3,988 posts

QUOTE(kraith @ Sep 25 2014, 09:53 PM)
Some ppl make the mistake of comparing android phone specs with windows phone specs.. Actually android aka lag droid is power and resources hungry. Some things can never be compared like here maps, carl zeiss lenses and pureview technology.
Agree. Considering 735, or is it worth additional RM400 for 830?
It term of specs really not much difference, but quality built, camera technology, etc..
wcypierre
post Sep 26 2014, 11:52 AM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

http://www.wpcentral.com/nokia-here-maps-w...app-development cry.gif
xSean
post Sep 26 2014, 11:55 AM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(wcypierre @ Sep 26 2014, 11:52 AM)
read the update one...HERE map won't go one la...
wcypierre
post Sep 26 2014, 12:26 PM

Newbie Programmer
4,619 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 26 2014, 11:55 AM)
read the update one...HERE map won't go one la...
sweat.gif when I read it there's no update yet
saladin7
post Sep 26 2014, 03:39 PM

212 posts

735 can preorder from storekini with RM999 price tag and and get freebies.

I'm not sure about storekini price. Is it good bargain? Or is it worth to wait normal store/seller release their price.
xSean
post Sep 26 2014, 03:45 PM

2,776 posts

QUOTE(saladin7 @ Sep 26 2014, 03:39 PM)
735 can preorder from storekini with RM999 price tag and and get freebies.

I'm not sure about storekini price. Is it good bargain? Or is it worth to wait normal store/seller release their price.
wait for outside retailer...cheaper around rm200.....

or wait until xmas promo...
saladin7
post Sep 26 2014, 04:42 PM

212 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 26 2014, 03:45 PM)
wait for outside retailer...cheaper around rm200.....

or wait until xmas promo...
That's what I'm thinking. Usually storekini sell with RRP. Outside retailer will be cheaper.
ikan salmon
post Sep 26 2014, 04:58 PM

199 posts

I like L730 and L735.. But they use Amoled screen.. Yuckkkk
xSean
post Sep 26 2014, 06:25 PM

2,776 posts

y no standard on sim slot size....some model is micro sim ...now this both model use nana sim
Andrew Lim
post Sep 27 2014, 06:01 AM

Just keep on keeping on
2,844 posts

Depends on the Android. My Nexus 5 has no lag. Also with Nova launcher I can disable and change the speed of Android animations.

Whereas for Windows Phone can't customize the animations and I often see "Resuming..."
shaniandras2787
post Oct 2 2014, 09:13 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(xSean @ Sep 26 2014, 06:25 PM)
y no standard on sim slot size....some model is micro sim ...now this both model use nana sim
730/735 is micro sim, no?

i'm also hoping to get a 830 for my wife but i'm really really worried about the time that the battery can only give =(

zack9999
post Oct 2 2014, 09:48 AM

290 posts

I have the Lumia 830, bought from Singapore last week. Battery can last about 12 hours (at least based on my usage which is quite heavy).

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 2 2014, 09:13 AM)
730/735 is micro sim, no?

i'm also hoping to get a 830 for my wife but i'm really really worried about the time that the battery can only give =(
This post has been edited by zack9999: Oct 2 2014, 09:48 AM
shaniandras2787
post Oct 2 2014, 11:15 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 2 2014, 09:48 AM)
I have the Lumia 830, bought from Singapore last week. Battery can last about 12 hours (at least based on my usage which is quite heavy).
how heavy is "heavy".

just based on a rough estimation. how many hour LTE surfing, whatsapp, and etc (ie. picture capturing, video playback etc).

12 hours isn't quite desirable, isn't it?
zack9999
post Oct 2 2014, 11:29 AM

290 posts

I do not disable anything except bluetooth. I have news apps with live tiles updating (CNN, MSN News, MSN Money, AlJazeera, Weather, etc). Whatsapp like on 24 hours. I don't have LTE but pretty much HSPA all time. Checking news through NextGen Reader quite often.
Occasionally watch video (through CNN, Aljazeera apps) and Flex. Used to own 820 but 820 cannot last more than 7 hours, usually after lunch I had to charge my 820. But with 830 it can last until I get home usually unplug at 5 am and reach home at 530 pm.
Still observing the battery.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 2 2014, 11:15 AM)
how heavy is "heavy".

just based on a rough estimation. how many hour LTE surfing, whatsapp, and etc (ie. picture capturing, video playback etc).

12 hours isn't quite desirable, isn't it?
This post has been edited by zack9999: Oct 2 2014, 11:35 AM
shaniandras2787
post Oct 2 2014, 12:24 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 2 2014, 11:29 AM)
I do not disable anything except bluetooth. I have news apps with live tiles updating (CNN, MSN News, MSN Money, AlJazeera, Weather, etc). Whatsapp like on 24 hours. I don't have LTE but pretty much HSPA all time. Checking news through NextGen Reader quite often.
Occasionally watch video (through CNN, Aljazeera apps) and Flex. Used to own 820 but 820 cannot last more than 7 hours, usually after lunch I had to charge my 820. But with 830 it can last until I get home usually unplug at 5 am and reach home at 530 pm.
Still observing the battery.
Ah! from your post, i think the battery is just so-so =(

In any event, keep us posted further. Battery woes are my biggest worry in getting a smartphone because i hate carrying a powerbank.
zack9999
post Oct 2 2014, 01:54 PM

290 posts

It is still a new phone less than a week. So I am still exploring. I also enable the step tracker (like how many steps you have taken for a day, so it might use more battery power).

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 2 2014, 12:24 PM)
Ah! from your post, i think the battery is just so-so =(

In any event, keep us posted further. Battery woes are my biggest worry in getting a smartphone because i hate carrying a powerbank.
shaniandras2787
post Oct 2 2014, 02:05 PM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 2 2014, 01:54 PM)
It is still a new phone less than a week. So I am still exploring. I also enable the step tracker (like how many steps you have taken for a day, so it might use more battery power).
understood. if's a good thing that you're turning on as much possible apps. that would give us a rough estimation on how battery consuming the device is on near maximum capacity and with that, we can dwindled down to the average use.
nickchk89
post Oct 2 2014, 09:15 PM

Vodka martini,shaken,not stirred
2,909 posts

lumia 735 rm845 drool.gif
shaniandras2787
post Oct 3 2014, 09:05 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Oct 2 2014, 09:15 PM)
i'm still waiting for the 830 =(
zack9999
post Oct 3 2014, 09:07 AM

290 posts

It will be on sale today in Malaysia!

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:05 AM)
shaniandras2787
post Oct 3 2014, 09:10 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:07 AM)
It will be on sale today in Malaysia!
=O really? where? received no news on this

zack9999
post Oct 3 2014, 09:24 AM

290 posts

It was launched last week and Nokia said will be available nationwide on Oct 3. Go and check Nokia stores.
Oh, yesterday my battery lasted about 15 hours.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:10 AM)
=O really? where? received no news on this
This post has been edited by zack9999: Oct 3 2014, 09:25 AM
nickchk89
post Oct 3 2014, 09:40 AM

2,909 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:05 AM)
For rm1.3k,i dont think its value for money anymore,unlike l735,which is consider good for amoled 720p,besides,both use same soc,720p
zack9999
post Oct 3 2014, 09:43 AM

290 posts

The 830 build quality is better than the 735. Give some time and the price will come down. Besides for RM1399 you get Office 365 subscription for 1 year, 1TB of OneDrive storage and 60 minutes Skype worldwide.
I bought mine from Singapore and the price if you converted to RM is about RM1277. But you get no Malaysian warranty.

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:40 AM)
For rm1.3k,i dont think its value for money anymore,unlike l735,which is consider good for amoled 720p,besides,both use same soc,720p
This post has been edited by zack9999: Oct 3 2014, 09:44 AM
shaniandras2787
post Oct 3 2014, 09:47 AM

drugged coordinator
2,309 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:40 AM)
QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:43 AM)
The 830 build quality is better than the 735. Give some time and the price will come down. Besides for RM1399 you get Office 365 subscription for 1 year and 1TB of OneDrive storage.
I bought mine from Singapore and the price if you converted to RM is about RM1277. But you get no Malaysian warranty.
Whether it is value for money i think depends entirely on the consumer.I generally think that the 830 has better design overall compared to the 735. Besides, that 10MP PureView in the 830 is going to come in very handy and will last for quite some time before people will call it "obsolete".

I really don't need that 5MP front camera =(

Oh!, 735 is made from entirely polycarbonate while the 830 has a mix of metal, yes?

I really dig that independent camera shutter button though. I really hated the fact that the volume button on the iPhone doubles up as that.

This post has been edited by shaniandras2787: Oct 3 2014, 09:49 AM
IccyAsd
post Oct 3 2014, 09:55 AM

846 posts

I want a 920 replacement !! >_<
zack9999
post Oct 3 2014, 10:00 AM

290 posts

Yes, the 830 has metal edges compared to the polycarbonate of the 735. I had 820 before this and over time the edge developed cracks because of falling etc. But you can change the back with a new one.
I have not seen 735 but I love its specs too like its lighter than 830, the 5MP wide ffc, and slightly smaller size.

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:47 AM)
Whether it is value for money i think depends entirely on the consumer.I generally think that the 830 has better design overall compared to the 735. Besides, that 10MP PureView in the 830 is going to come in very handy and will last for quite some time before people will call it "obsolete".

Oh!, 735 is made from entirely polycarbonate while the 830 has a mix of metal, yes?

I really dig that independent camera shutter button though. I really hated the fact that the volume button on the iPhone doubles up as that.
nickchk89
post Oct 3 2014, 10:53 AM

2,909 posts

QUOTE(zack9999 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:43 AM)
The 830 build quality is better than the 735. Give some time and the price will come down. Besides for RM1399 you get Office 365 subscription for 1 year, 1TB of OneDrive storage and 60 minutes Skype worldwide.
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 3 2014, 09:47 AM)

Of course 830 have better build,camera,im not sure bout battery though
In term value for money,u get more for 735,the different is a massive rm450,for rm1300,snapdragon 400,720p on 5inch even on wp8 is slightly overpriced(you can get snapdragon 800/801 beasts,1+1,lg g2 with ois with that price)

I do agree 5mp selfie on 735 is a waste though doh.gif if they give up on that and put decent 8.0mp,that would be great
nickchk89
post Oct 3 2014, 10:59 AM

2,909 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Oct 3 2014, 10:53 AM)
Of course 830 have better build,camera,im not sure bout battery though
In term value for money,u get more for 735,the different is a massive rm450,for rm1300,snapdragon 400,720p on 5inch even on wp8 is slightly overpriced(you can get snapdragon 800/801 beasts,1+1,lg g2 with ois with that price)

I do agree 5mp selfie on 735 is a waste though  doh.gif if they give up on that and put decent 8.0mp,that would be great
Price check on lelong,l830 sell for rm1.4-1.5k,that's not far from the great L930 and L1520 rclxub.gif
nickchk89
post Oct 3 2014, 11:06 AM

2,909 posts

Double post

This post has been edited by nickchk89: Oct 3 2014, 11:07 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Oct 3 2014, 11:10 AM

3,839 posts

QUOTE(nickchk89 @ Oct 3 2014, 10:59 AM)
Price check on lelong,l830 sell for rm1.4-1.5k,that's not far from the great L930 and L1520  rclxub.gif
You can find it at rm1199 at garage sale
amdx
post Oct 5 2014, 02:02 PM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

would like to find out about 830 battery life as well. anyone attached with 830 care to shed some lights?
amdx
post Oct 6 2014, 01:47 AM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

Bought one at digital mall Nokia kiosk. As someone highlighted, below 1.2k

Still exploring... Quite bit of getting used to it... Ever since I parted my lumia 925 lastime. Also notice 830 abit taller than 930 but slimmer on thickness. Very we'll built lumia.

Also notice glance is available in 830, something similar to moto x active display.

This post has been edited by amdx: Oct 6 2014, 01:48 AM
JonSpark
post Oct 9 2014, 06:40 AM

ai shiteru
4,895 posts

my 620 is starting to die too, at first it was data connectivity problem, then came wifi connectivity issue, then speaker cracking problem

now i only use it as my alarm clock sweat.gif
amdx
post Oct 12 2014, 04:08 PM

Technology Evangelist
987 posts

selling off my lumia 830, head here for details if you are looking for one. smile.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3376327&hl=

0.0308sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:55 PM