cross0ver is to filter out some of the unwanted freq of the speakers
wat HU u r using ?

some HU has built in active crossover
by using crossover..u need 4ch amp for ur comp set smile.gif
imperialrealcs
post Sep 1 2006, 08:08 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 1 2006, 05:11 PM)
wat HU u r using ?

how do i noe which freq favorable or not favorable by my speaker?
craziechild
post Sep 1 2006, 10:07 PM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

with your ears... or you can always look at the spec sheet for the frequency responce... ie. 5000Hz-25000Hz... so tune within tht range would be safe...
driftmeister
post Sep 1 2006, 11:33 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

use ur ears

sometimes spec sheet can't be trusted
let say the sub is crossing at 63Hz currently..
u can play around wit 45Hz and 80Hz to see which 1 sound nicer

just that make sure it's not at clipping volume will do smile.gif
imperialrealcs
post Sep 2 2006, 02:07 AM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 1 2006, 11:33 PM)
use ur ears

sometimes spec sheet can't be trusted
let say the sub is crossing at 63Hz currently..
u can play around wit 45Hz and 80Hz to see which 1 sound nicer

just that make sure it's not at clipping volume will do smile.gif
can explain further what is clipping? if i test the crossover, what volume should i use? if i ter-set diffrent freq, will this spoilt my speaker?
driftmeister
post Sep 2 2006, 03:34 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Clipping_%28audio%29

normally clipping will occur after 3/4 of max volume (normally not always)
testing crossover normally i will put 1/2 of max volume...when set to desire crossover freq..then i will up to 3/4 to see the difference of sound characteristic... also..play with amp gain to see the difference..

if ter-set the sound freq...if for a while..there's no harm done to the speakers
if the wrong freq like set too low for the tweeters... it will spoil the tweeters

bear in mind we're talking about active setting right here...
if it's passives then no need to bother about getting/setting the crossover ..everything already set by the passives module smile.gif
TSCaLz
post Sep 4 2006, 09:17 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(driftmeister @ Sep 1 2006, 05:11 PM)
wat HU u r using ?

im using pioneer DEH6850.

Features
o Pure blue dot-matrix OEL (Organic EL) display
o iTunes® AAC playback
o WAV file playback
o iPod® adaptor ready
o BMX (Bitmetric qualizer)
o EEQ
+ 5-mode preset equalizer
+ 2-mode custom preset equalizer
+ 7-band digital graphic equalizer
+ Bass Boost
+ 2-way crossover: HPF/LPF
+ 3-mode selectable loudness
o Rotary Commander
o Direct Sub Drive
o 3 RCA preout: selectable (front + rear + subwoofer)
o Level indicator
o Multi-language display (English/Spanish/Portuguese)

so do i need crossover?

This post has been edited by CaLz: Sep 4 2006, 09:20 AM
se7en
post Sep 4 2006, 10:36 AM

resistance is futile
Admin
1,806 posts

if you're using a component set (mids + tweeters), you will definately need a crossover for best results.

A crossover basically filters unwanted frequencies, but to make you understand better, a crossover will split the sound output from your HU. The tweeter basically is there to output high frequency sound, however your HU's output is going to send all sound (low, mids and high) to it, and this will distort its output. Same goes with mids. So, what a crossover does is it filters out the mids from reaching the tweeters, and filters out the high's from reaching the mids. Set up properly, you won't notice where the seperate sound channels, but since each equipment is only getting the signals meant for it, there is less distortion and clearer sound quality.

ain't no ICE pro, but thats what i know smile.gif
TSCaLz
post Sep 4 2006, 10:51 AM

59 posts

my HU has a built in 2 way crossover: HPF/LPF

my understanding base on se7en post.
HU sends sound(high, mid, low) to comp set.
HU got 2 way crossover HPF/LPF.

i think HPF and LPF stands for "High Pass Frequency" and "Low Pass Frequency".

my thought is maybe HPF filters "high" signals and LPF filters "low" signals. but what about "mid" signals?

and will the built-in crossover filter the sound first den only send signals my comp set?

sorry if this is a stupid question.
thanks and cheers
driftmeister
post Sep 4 2006, 01:59 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

of cos ur HU already filter out then only send the sound signal to ur speakers

but do u have component set that comes with the passives crossover ???
TSCaLz
post Sep 4 2006, 02:11 PM

59 posts

aiks? what is passive crossover ah?

the component set i bought comes with:-
. speaker
. tweeter
. crossover(square shape and got few lubang to plug in wire one).

is the crossover = passive crossover?

driftmeister
post Sep 4 2006, 05:38 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

yes... that is a passive crossover which all the freq has been set by the factory/manufacturer
the HU crossover doesn't really will change the sound as it will be filter once more by the passives

do u have any amp?

if yes then my advise is play around with the gain and DSP

if no then just play with the DSP

until u get the satisfy sound
Levin92
post Sep 6 2006, 03:49 PM

61 posts

hi sifus,

i'm also using pioneer HU with build-in crossover...
my speaker setup is rear 2unit 6x9, front 2unit 4"mid and 2unit tweeter..
i found that the front speaker volume is very low compare with the rear speaker. even i set the FAD to front...
Do/can i need a crossover to adjust the sound volume??
driftmeister
post Sep 6 2006, 06:15 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

any amps for ur setup?

Levin92
post Sep 7 2006, 10:56 AM

61 posts

currently no amp for my setup...
thinking to put 1 amp...
driftmeister
post Sep 7 2006, 03:06 PM

Penggadai Rakyat®
4,133 posts

u need to have amp in order to install active crossover smile.gif
Levin92
post Sep 9 2006, 12:54 PM

61 posts

if install passive crossover..no need to have an amp???
DeReturner
post Sep 11 2006, 10:39 AM

99 posts

Passive crossover should come with component set. It goes after amp.

Edit: So no need amp.

Correct me if I'm wrong. smile.gif

This post has been edited by DeReturner: Sep 11 2006, 10:39 AM
scotty
post Sep 11 2006, 08:58 PM

THX Certified Conman
4,380 posts

QUOTE(CaLz @ Sep 4 2006, 10:51 AM)
my HU has a built in 2 way crossover: HPF/LPF

my understanding base on se7en post.
HU sends sound(high, mid, low) to comp set.
HU got 2 way crossover HPF/LPF.

i think HPF and LPF stands for "High Pass Frequency" and "Low Pass Frequency".

my thought is maybe HPF filters "high" signals and LPF filters "low" signals. but what about "mid" signals?

and will the built-in crossover filter the sound first den only send signals my comp set?

sorry if this is a stupid question.
thanks and cheers
-way crossover: HPF/LPF
3-mode selectable loudness
Rotary Commander
Direct Sub Drive
3 RCA preout: selectable (front + rear + subwoofer)

here is something u should do. or u already doing it so. just plug in front output to front speakers where rear outputs to rear. adjust the frequency point. as the crossover cut off point to your amp. means the speakers will handle only certain frequency range smile.gif

0.0195sec    0.81    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 01:34 AM