Need Advice...concern about friend, Always sad and unhappy

TSHollow21
post Sep 12 2014, 11:23 PM, updated 12y ago

661 posts

I have a friend who always seems to be unhappy. She's been telling me she doesn't enjoy life and always see things negatively. Although sometimes I see a smile in her face, most of the time I see someone who is deep thoughts and not there. I tried to cheer her up by taking her out for dinner, movies, and just calling/text her to check on her like how's work, friends etc. the usual. A few days ago, she said she was very down, called me out to hear her out but all she did was cry. This is the first time I see her do that. When I asked her what's wrong, she doesn't want to tell. All she said was she has nightmares. I ask what kind of nightmares, she doesn't want to tell. Then, today I go out with her for dinner. In the car when I sent her home, she cried again. I asked again what's wrong. I asked if it's work pressure, family, bf, money, almost everything I can think of to sort of narrow down the list as much as I can but all I got was she's just doesn't like living here.

This time it got me quite concerned. Maybe I overreacted but I am worried she might loose it and go suicidal. Or go into depression if she can't pull herself out cause it's been going on for a few months now.

What should I do? I already asked many times what's wrong, she doesn't want to tell...how to help???? She has admitted she has been feeling a sense of general unhappiness and I suggested maybe she need professional help, but she's not doing it...How do you pull someone out from sadness?
jimmybcmy
post Sep 12 2014, 11:26 PM

395 posts

She is depress. If you couldnt help her then try talk to her parents so they can convince her to seek help.

TSHollow21
post Sep 13 2014, 09:51 AM

661 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Sep 12 2014, 11:26 PM)
She is depress. If you couldnt help her then try talk to her parents so they can convince her to seek help.
Hmmmm...i am worried about this too.....seems like signs of minor depression...

QUOTE(pakdamek @ Sep 12 2014, 11:38 PM)
she's pregnant....
Why you said this? hmm.gif

Axel95
post Sep 13 2014, 12:52 PM

KEEP ROCKING!
1,284 posts

Try maybe arranging a weekend vacation where you can take long drives, try new food and/or culture, sightsee and just let loose. When you feel depressed, you just want to escape reality.
pakdamek
post Sep 13 2014, 02:24 PM

646 posts

QUOTE(Hollow21 @ Sep 13 2014, 09:51 AM)
Hmmmm...i am worried about this too.....seems like signs of minor depression...
Why you said this? hmm.gif
something that you can't share with anyone.....because the prob is too big....just get her to do abortion la....I can advise on that nod.gif
ah_suknat
post Sep 13 2014, 03:40 PM

whoooooooooooooop
5,170 posts

she dont trust you

thats why she dont let it out
TSHollow21
post Sep 13 2014, 04:07 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(pakdamek @ Sep 13 2014, 02:24 PM)
something that you can't share with anyone.....because the prob is too big....just get her to do abortion la....I can advise on that  nod.gif
Nothing to do with me bro.....i am not the bf, and I didn't sleep with her either...she's a just a close friend.....
TSHollow21
post Sep 13 2014, 04:10 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(Axel95 @ Sep 13 2014, 12:52 PM)
Try maybe arranging a weekend vacation where you can take long drives, try new food and/or culture, sightsee and just let loose. When you feel depressed, you just want to escape reality.
I tried this already, take her go cari makan new places but only limited effect coz she always go back to sad state....
mars2003
post Sep 13 2014, 11:52 PM

123 posts

She is in depression, she need profession help. See psychiatrist ASAP ,meanwhile u can try ur best keep her company all the time or all ur mutual fren try to hang out with her to keep her mind at ease .
munkeyflo
post Sep 14 2014, 06:23 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,794 posts

What is her bf doing? Does he not notice this? Or she is not letting him know?
Aster66
post Sep 15 2014, 12:52 AM

92 posts

seek for professional help, really need to. I've been through depression, it wasn't very serious compared to some others, but it was horrible enough.

This post has been edited by Aster66: Sep 15 2014, 12:53 AM
-Aktan-
post Sep 15 2014, 02:57 AM

2.6b dah masuk bro
873 posts

how old is she?
ALOOZA
post Sep 15 2014, 09:31 AM

72 posts

she think too much
she need to solve one problem
so that she can feel good
SUSblinkxox
post Sep 15 2014, 09:36 PM

143 posts

my advice: run for d hills

after awhile u shud be quite frustrated, no? just tell her la "look, i dont know how i can help, i dont know what i can do...because i dont know what really is wrong...only if u'd tell me, at least i can understand..."

settle lol
cksiah
post Sep 16 2014, 10:34 AM

65 posts

it is not depression. at least from her behaviour, depressed person wouldn't want to go out of the house.

she has issues that is obvious, the issue could just very well be her character.

TS, just curious, do you have feelings for her? as she is continuously engaging you, going out with you even though she has a bf.

i'd suggest you leave her issues to her bf as things might get ugly if the bf finds out tht u r constantly spending time with her.
TSHollow21
post Sep 16 2014, 01:56 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(mars2003 @ Sep 13 2014, 11:52 PM)
She is in depression, she need profession help. See psychiatrist ASAP ,meanwhile u can try ur best keep her company all the time or all ur mutual fren try to hang out with her to keep her mind at ease .
Ya, I already suggested. And I'll try to keep in touch with her....

QUOTE(munkeyflo @ Sep 14 2014, 06:23 AM)
What is her bf doing? Does he not notice this? Or she is not letting him know?
She is not attached, not that I know of....sorry if I misscomm somewhere...

QUOTE(Aster66 @ Sep 15 2014, 12:52 AM)
seek for professional help, really need to. I've been through depression, it wasn't very serious compared to some others, but it was horrible enough.
She's showing depressive signs right? I worry too....

QUOTE(cksiah @ Sep 16 2014, 10:34 AM)
it is not depression. at least from her behaviour, depressed person wouldn't want to go out of the house.

she has issues that is obvious, the issue could just very well be her character.

TS, just curious, do you have feelings for her? as she is continuously engaging you, going out with you even though she has a bf.

i'd suggest you leave her issues to her bf as things might get ugly if the bf finds out tht u r constantly spending time with her.
No lah...I have no feelings for her...know her long time d...just friends. Don't think she has bf...sorry maybe I miscomm......
cksiah
post Sep 16 2014, 02:19 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(Hollow21 @ Sep 16 2014, 01:56 PM)
Ya, I already suggested.  And I'll try to keep in touch with her....
She is not attached, not that I know of....sorry if  I misscomm somewhere...
She's showing depressive signs right? I worry too....
No lah...I have no feelings for her...know her long time d...just friends.  Don't think she has bf...sorry maybe I miscomm......
then just be careful that she will latch on to you as a life line.

basically if u were to continue to hang out with her, dont be dragged into her helplessness and negativeness... just divert conversations to a more positive topic... it will be hard but if u dont, then u might be miserable in the end.
TSHollow21
post Sep 16 2014, 03:38 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(cksiah @ Sep 16 2014, 02:19 PM)
then just be careful that she will latch on to you as a life line.

basically if u were to continue to hang out with her, dont be dragged into her helplessness and negativeness... just divert conversations to a more positive topic... it will be hard but if u dont, then u might be miserable in the end.
Ok, ok....so far haven't been affected by her.....but I'll keep that in mind...tq...
kamfoo
post Sep 17 2014, 02:24 AM

845 posts

QUOTE(Aster66 @ Sep 15 2014, 12:52 AM)
where do get treatment....my friend also have depression
Zeuss1220
post Sep 18 2014, 02:22 AM

469 posts

I think maybe she just needs time before she can talk to someone about it. But keep giving her emotional support and hopefully she will open up soon.
johnkor
post Sep 18 2014, 09:58 AM

Level 2 Mainboard Repair Specialist
4,237 posts

If i was there i would able to help her out in many ways

0.0173sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 09:21 AM