82 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Bottom

LG ** Google Nexus 4 Official Thread V14 **, The Nexus' Heritage - rockin' on 5.1 ;)

redxiii
post Mar 27 2015, 10:45 AM

57 posts

Update 5.1.0. Wil Nexus 4 get it? the main feature I've been waiting is the killswitch in the new update, will nexus 4 get this feature?
cowithgun
post Mar 27 2015, 01:30 PM

A cow that can play notebook & phone
2,248 posts

QUOTE(redxiii @ Mar 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
Update 5.1.0. Wil Nexus 4 get it? the main feature I've been waiting is the killswitch in the new update, will nexus 4 get this feature?
Nexus 4 will get 5.1 but i don't think the killswitch will work.

The only advantage of using Device protection (killswitch) in 5.1 from the current Android Device Manager is that the killswitch will even prevent thief from using the phone even after factory reset.

Android Device Manager already has capability to remotely wipe the phone. But thief can still do factory reset and use the phone as if a new phone.

Due to the way Device protection work, i suspect only newer phone ship with Lollipop (5.0) and above will work, this including Nexus 6 and 9. Even Nexus 5 should not work. I could be wrong.

Another thing, to use this feature, you must not have boot-loader unlocked. Otherwise, it is no used. I can simply replace your boot-loader, even in Nexus 6.
NightFelix
post Mar 27 2015, 02:17 PM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 27 2015, 01:30 PM)
Nexus 4 will get 5.1 but i don't think the killswitch will work.

The only advantage of using Device protection (killswitch) in 5.1 from the current Android Device Manager is that the killswitch will even prevent thief from using the phone even after factory reset.

Android Device Manager already has capability to remotely wipe the phone. But thief can still do factory reset and use the phone as if a new phone.

Due to the way Device protection work, i suspect only newer phone ship with Lollipop (5.0) and above will work, this including Nexus 6 and 9. Even Nexus 5 should not work. I could be wrong.

Another thing, to use this feature, you must not have boot-loader unlocked. Otherwise, it is no used. I can simply replace your boot-loader, even in Nexus 6.
I'm curious one things, talking about kill-switch, with iDevices have Touch ID the fingerprint sensors, the iPhone or iPad render less attract thief it since, they cant disable the lock or with iCloud able to remote lock.

Back with our Android, tech savvy thief can wipe our device on bootloader/recovery even we have lock our device with password/pin/fingerprint sensors like the Mate7 or MX4 Pro. Correct right?

This post has been edited by NightFelix: Mar 27 2015, 02:18 PM
redxiii
post Mar 27 2015, 02:26 PM

57 posts

But still no harms in hoping it will works right. Although its a long shot
mudkipryan94
post Mar 27 2015, 05:27 PM

someone need a sarcasm meter?
12,000 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Mar 23 2015, 02:32 PM)
Dear guys, my nexus 4 has been used for 2 years plus.
Right now it serves as a good phone for flashing and other accessibilities
Though so, i wanted to change its battery because i realize the battery die fast.

Was wondering any of you who have experiences, where do you guys change or who do you guys find for the battery replacement?

And roughly the cost of changing it?
u can go to Pertama Complex thr to change.. but recommend u go to JasonChi smile.gif he charge damn cheap smile.gif
cowithgun
post Mar 27 2015, 07:04 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 27 2015, 02:17 PM)
I'm curious one things, talking about kill-switch, with iDevices have Touch ID the fingerprint sensors, the iPhone or iPad render less attract thief it since, they cant disable the lock or with iCloud able to remote lock.

Back with our Android, tech savvy thief can wipe our device on bootloader/recovery even we have lock our device with password/pin/fingerprint sensors like the Mate7 or MX4 Pro. Correct right?
Yes. Sure can reset it by factory reset. laugh.gif That's why Device Lock (Android 5.1) trying to protect us from.

Also, it's not difficult to "unlock" a phone protected by pin in both Android and iOS (if jailbroken). It can be done without even factory reset. laugh.gif Those fingerprint sensor will not help you.

mudkipryan94
post Mar 27 2015, 07:28 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 27 2015, 07:04 PM)
Yes. Sure can reset it by factory reset.  laugh.gif That's why Device Lock (Android 5.1) trying to protect us from.

Also, it's not difficult to "unlock" a phone protected by pin in both Android and iOS (if jailbroken). It can be done without even factory reset.  laugh.gif Those fingerprint sensor will not help you.
lolol.. such easy like cake tongue.gif anyway.. how's your *ehem* ah
NightFelix
post Mar 28 2015, 10:57 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 27 2015, 07:04 PM)
Yes. Sure can reset it by factory reset.  laugh.gif That's why Device Lock (Android 5.1) trying to protect us from.

Also, it's not difficult to "unlock" a phone protected by pin in both Android and iOS (if jailbroken). It can be done without even factory reset.  laugh.gif Those fingerprint sensor will not help you.
So at the moment the iDevice (non-jailbreak) are much security superior compare to our current Android 5.0. Fingercross hope Google release the Device Lock on Android 5.1.
cowithgun
post Mar 28 2015, 06:12 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 28 2015, 10:57 AM)
So at the moment the iDevice (non-jailbreak) are much security superior compare to our current Android 5.0. Fingercross hope Google release the Device Lock on Android 5.1.
Ya, in nutshell, non-jailbreak, security wise iOS > android. However, jail broken android with proper configuration > iOS because you can use firewall, custom root privilege, custom SELinux enchacements, custom recovery, custom kernel, custom permissions / package manager, etc.

There is some open source project that can lock down your android and run app in sandbox feeding app with fake info, those are not possible with iOS.

wink.gif
cowithgun
post Mar 28 2015, 06:18 PM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 27 2015, 07:28 PM)
lolol.. such easy like cake tongue.gif anyway.. how's your *ehem* ah
long time no see... not so easy, need to do some research to come out with the iOS passcode bypass biggrin.gif basically, just 2 command:

1. Hook into SpringBoard (the Home screen process in iOS)
CODE
#cycript -p SpringBoard

2. Tell it that "there is no spoon passcode"
CODE
cy# SBDeviceLockController.messages['isPasscodeLocked'] = function() { return NO; }

iOS will automatically unlock itself!

my Galaxy W still somewhere in the toolbox. good for testing stuff. now main phone still using Nexus 4.
tongaz86
post Mar 28 2015, 10:35 PM

1,750 posts

QUOTE(cowithgun @ Mar 28 2015, 06:18 PM)
long time no see... not so easy, need to do some research to come out with the iOS passcode bypass biggrin.gif basically, just 2 command:

1. Hook into SpringBoard (the Home screen process in iOS)
CODE
#cycript -p SpringBoard

2. Tell it that "there is no spoon passcode"
CODE
cy# SBDeviceLockController.messages['isPasscodeLocked'] = function() { return NO; }

iOS will automatically unlock itself!

my Galaxy W still somewhere in the toolbox. good for testing stuff. now main phone still using Nexus 4.
Hoho...so pro...my friend found an ip5 but now become brick because got lock by icloud.Can unlock that?
NightFelix
post Mar 30 2015, 12:57 AM

Samsung Exynos
17,467 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:35 PM)
Hoho...so pro...my friend found an ip5 but now become brick because got lock by icloud.Can unlock that?
as said. it still require jail broken iPhone in order to break the passcode.
aaron_15ryderz
post Mar 30 2015, 08:17 AM

276 posts

Hi guys, cracked my screen last nite. Any recomended shop to repair around kuching?
cowithgun
post Mar 30 2015, 08:45 AM

2,248 posts

QUOTE(tongaz86 @ Mar 28 2015, 10:35 PM)
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 30 2015, 12:57 AM)
as said. it still require jail broken iPhone in order to break the passcode.
Pass code need jail broken iOS, unlock bricked icloud is a different beast. But it can be done without jail broken, someone created a fake Icloud server that claimed to be able to unlock those... You may need to find a reliable doulci server.... I have never test this and no source code to back up this, so, use at own risk.

And err... Don't trust any app. You just need the IP address of the server. No need to install anything... Anyway, we are out of topic. :-)
air_pull91
post Mar 30 2015, 11:30 AM

275 posts

Hi..
I'm.new here..
Where do I find the ringke slim/fusion case for.my nexus 4?
Zanei Gundan
post Mar 30 2015, 09:15 PM

143 posts

does anybody ever had unresponsive on-screen button problem on their nexus 4 (5.0.1 stock unlocked rooted)

it just happened to me suddenly, like tonight(tot it was sweat but it wasn't after i cleaned my screen)

tried reading 1st page, googling, restarting phone...none work or even find any solution, totally dumbfounded

now stuck at twitter apps, cannot go back laugh.gif

a little help please icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

thank you in advance gurus and sifus!
mudkipryan94
post Mar 30 2015, 09:27 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(air_pull91 @ Mar 30 2015, 11:30 AM)
Hi..
I'm.new here..
Where do I find the ringke slim/fusion case for.my nexus 4?
eBay it else find skloda smile.gif

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Mar 30 2015, 09:15 PM)
does anybody ever had unresponsive on-screen button problem on their nexus 4 (5.0.1 stock unlocked rooted)

it just happened to me suddenly, like tonight(tot it was sweat but it wasn't after i cleaned my screen)

tried reading 1st page, googling, restarting phone...none work or even find any solution, totally dumbfounded

now stuck at twitter apps, cannot go back laugh.gif

a little help please icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

thank you in advance gurus and sifus!
not sure if pwr btn pasal or just bad luck apps incoming..

try to ask someone who can replace the pwr btn or screen pasal...

and mine twitter works mcm OK je... whistling.gif
Zanei Gundan
post Mar 30 2015, 09:34 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 30 2015, 09:27 PM)
eBay it else find skloda smile.gif
not sure if pwr btn pasal or just bad luck apps incoming..

try to ask someone who can replace the pwr btn or screen pasal...

and mine twitter works mcm OK je... whistling.gif
power button okay jer

nothing faulty

problem lies with cannot go back, home, or task manager

weird thing is other parts okay like, can open apps or whatsoever

but those <| O [] is dead oredi...

after 2 years of using n4 first time encounter such problem hmm.gif hmm.gif
mudkipryan94
post Mar 30 2015, 09:44 PM

12,000 posts

QUOTE(Zanei Gundan @ Mar 30 2015, 09:34 PM)
power button okay jer

nothing faulty

problem lies with cannot go back, home, or task manager

weird thing is other parts okay like, can open apps or whatsoever

but those <| O [] is dead oredi...

after 2 years of using n4 first time encounter such problem hmm.gif hmm.gif
navigation key gg?? hmm.gif that's digitizing panel dy.. try to surf XDA.. N4 general post and see
Zanei Gundan
post Mar 30 2015, 09:48 PM

143 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Mar 30 2015, 09:44 PM)
navigation key gg?? hmm.gif that's digitizing panel dy.. try to surf XDA.. N4 general post and see
crap!

that is sure to cost few hundred bucks to fix (worst case hantar LG centre)...

okay then...on my way to xda

thank you so much! notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

82 Pages « < 53 54 55 56 57 > » Top

0.0182sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 01:40 AM