The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V1, Bigger than bigger

TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 01:30 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 13 2014, 01:18 PM)
Please stop spreading misinformation. I already clarified in my previous post.

I'll say again for the last time—Any iPhones bought at full price (aka "device-only") directly from Apple (aka not from AT&T/Verizon/T-Mobile/Best Buy/etc. stores) will be unlocked. This is was the case with the 5 and 5S, and should hold true for this year too.

Apple may not advertise it as unlocked, but according to MANY people that bought them it IS unlocked. My previous post has examples where people just took out the preloaded AT&T/Verizon/T-Mobile SIMs out of the iPhone they bought and inserted a new one. (Some of these are even international SIMs, and not domestic US ones.)
What did I say in my post that is spreading misinformation?
TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 01:39 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 13 2014, 01:33 PM)
See below.
If Apple says "unlocked",there is a reason for stating so isnt it?

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2014, 01:40 PM

TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 01:57 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 13 2014, 01:45 PM)
There is a theory that Apple doesn't put the correct wording at launch to prevent scalpers. Doesn't really help though. If you're really that worried (which I think you shouldn't be), go buy a Verizon iPhone. Verizon is required by US law to sell all their LTE phones as factory unlocked, due to a requirement when they bought a bunch of spectrum for their network a few years ago.

Personally I don't want to discuss this issue anymore. I've provided more than enough evidence on my stand, and everything should work just like last year. If not, just call T-Mobile and request an unlock NBD.
As you said it is a "theory". So for buyers to be safe in buying an "unlocked" version of an Iphone, it is better for them to search for this word "unlocked" on the website or through the reseller they are buying the iphone just to be sure and safe that the set they are buying is indeed an unlocked set.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 13 2014, 01:58 PM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 10:37 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(hacken @ Sep 13 2014, 03:38 PM)
I had to agree for that. This initial exitement feeling is false feeling and don't let the evil inside you clouds you. Let the dust settle and then proceeds. No use to have problem phone despite all excitement.
At first I laughed at Ifags scrambling to buy the latest IPhone but later I joined in the bandwagon. tongue.gif The experience is called the IPhone Buying experience where it is only encountered if you queued yourself in the line at any Apple stores with all the other IFags and managed to get the model you want. Unable to get one also is part of the experience where you have to hang out here in getting the latest news to which Apple Store has the IPhone in stock. I do not agree to buying from scalpers at crazily expensive prices while getting an overseas unit which you would have problem in claiming later. Where is the fun in getting an IPhone like that. But that is me, different people may have different views on this. So far I have been lucky in getting my IPhone 4, 4S, 5 and 5S from Telcos, Apple Online Stores and Apple Resellers without much difficulties. I still remember an experience where a lot of people were looking at the Signboard in front of an Apple Reseller (couldn't remember its name) in Gardens stating no stock for all IPhone 5s and I got nearer and whipped out my 32GB 5S Gold and took a picture of the signboard. All I could say was the feeling was like a MasterCard moment, Priceless. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 10:40 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Sep 13 2014, 08:42 PM)
For those ordered more than 2 units for either 6 or 6+, the order will be cancelled. I just received email from apple
Mind posting the email here? I think that's fair. So that everyone would have the opportunity to buy one. thumbup.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 10:51 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kc6012 @ Sep 13 2014, 10:48 PM)

You mean they cancelled only one of your two IPhones ordered? U will still be getting One unit right? This is good in preventing scalpers from hoarding extra IPhones and reselling it at crazy markup price. rclxms.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 13 2014, 11:03 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(silencer5089 @ Sep 13 2014, 10:59 PM)
hehe agree bro. thats how i feel when i queue up in australia last year for my gold 5S, whats better they let me free upgrade it to 64GB and paying only for the price of 32  cause i'm first in line  thumbup.gif
Wow... that's really a good IPhone buying experience. thumbup.gif

I still remember here last year, at Celcom's IPhone 5s Launch in Sunway, the first in line walked away with a Free IPhone 5s while the rest who queued up got a discount or something.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 14 2014, 09:45 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Sep 14 2014, 09:03 AM)
Yup, so it is depending on whether that day u look leng chai or not during the day u go claim lor whistling.gif
But most of the time they will reject. Higher chances if u bought a set online via apple com
If batang sure reject lot, unless Chun chick with 'let half ball' then different case. tongue.gif
Jokes aside, there is no international warranty for the iphone no matter from which country you buy from. I also check with a senior management from a local authorized apple reseller and they confirm the same. To believe it or not its up to you.

This post has been edited by TOMEI-R: Sep 14 2014, 09:46 AM
TOMEI-R
post Sep 14 2014, 04:33 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(alexanderclz @ Sep 14 2014, 04:23 PM)
at the end of the day it's up to you. yes you may have managed to claim but there are others who didn't manage to. but on black and white, they have the rights not to honor the warranty. so entirely to the users whether to take the risk or not.
+1

Yeah.. Why pay more for an overseas set which have no warranty locally just to have the iphone about a month earlier than the official local unit? Why want to pay more for something and encourage hoarding and scalping by certain parties?
TOMEI-R
post Sep 14 2014, 08:11 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(whereis the love @ Sep 14 2014, 07:22 PM)
thats ur opinion...for those rich,they dont mind to get it by pay premium price tag for it..
on the other way saying,u/we are sour grapes for not getting it...
I always get my iphones on the first day they are available here. I just don't like 'foreign' units which is a hassle when we need to claim warranty. Moreover MY units always fetches a higher resale value if you decide to sell it.
Maybe the 'sour grapes' would be the scalpers who again like I said hoards the stocks of the iphones in making profits at the expense of genuine would be buyers. brows.gif

TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 11:17 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(winkiedilwy @ Sep 15 2014, 03:59 AM)
Then you shouldn't call me stubborn. I'm just stating the fact, and the fact is iPhones DO NOT have international warranty. You managed to get it claimed, that's your experience and problem. It's not guaranteed that everyone will be so lucky.

That's what the black and white says.

Just wait for malaysian sets la, don't start feeding scalpers. See recently so many threads and new accounts being opened.
Relax bro. laugh.gif All of us old timers knows that the fact that Iphones doesn't come with international warranty. I think most owners would know that but if they still insists on buying some overseas unit and would they need to RMA, they can always try their luck.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 11:22 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 15 2014, 11:19 AM)
i believe it's only fair apple dont allow that so that local resellers/telco would not be in the disadvantage.
That is the point. Same policy applies for all hand phone manufacturers out there. If not everybody would be importing their own handphones here. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 11:30 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Hawaiiii @ Sep 15 2014, 11:25 AM)
Can fit lar, the i6+ size is just similar to the casio scientific calculator, see attachment smile.gif
Yup. Agreed can fit. Like my OPO though, it does fit in my jeans nicely but when I sit in the car, its gets not so comfortable. You would need either the top or bottom of the phone jutting out of your pocket. If not the phone feels cramped in your pocket. With the 6+, which is longer in length, I think it would be even harder to sit down with the phone in your jeans pocket.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 01:15 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 15 2014, 12:37 PM)

thumbup.gif Wakakakakakkakaka.... laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 07:03 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

I see the marketplace here at LYN is already flooded with IPhone scalpers selling their yet to be received Iphone 6 and 6+. Even end users are buying and scalping their iphones for profits. Seems like everybody wants to scalp and get a piece of the "apple" pie. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 15 2014, 10:45 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(janson_kaniaz @ Sep 15 2014, 09:33 PM)
CUPERTINO, California—September 15, 2014—Apple® today announced a record number of first day pre-orders of iPhone® 6 and iPhone 6 Plus, the biggest advancements in iPhone history, with over four million in the first 24 hours.

iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus will be available in the US, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Japan, Puerto Rico, Singapore and the UK beginning this Friday, September 19 and in more than 20 additional countries beginning on Friday, September 26 including Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, Ireland, Isle of Man, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Qatar, Russia, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, Turkey and United Arab Emirates.

Source
Apple should thank all hoarders @ scalpers in achieving those sales figures. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(KaiHD @ Sep 15 2014, 10:00 PM)
again, we're a third tier country. SMH
Its all about the money. We don't command such high volume purchases compared to the first tier countries.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 17 2014, 01:32 AM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(kietto @ Sep 16 2014, 09:53 PM)
price could be the main reason
how about the other @@''

im using samsung note1 and it cannot function normally
like overheated , lag , some apps unable to open
so i decided to get iphone

but dunno go for 5s or wait for 6 @@''
quite struggle now
Go get yourself some relief by getting the 5S first kid. The Note 1 is meant for display in the museum, not for human usage anymore. laugh.gif
TOMEI-R
post Sep 17 2014, 10:26 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(C63 AMG @ Sep 17 2014, 01:44 PM)
So ironic that iPhones are available in Singapore but not in Malaysia.
Heck it's not even in the second batch @ 26 Sept.
Are we living in a such a third world country that Apple thinks our market is insignificant?  mad.gif
Its all about the money. Singaporeans have better buying power and are more willing to buy and Iphone compared to Malaysians. Its about the numbers Apple will be able to sell here compared to Singapore. So if we have low demand, they are definitely not going to launch here but rather at at any country which they can sell more.
TOMEI-R
post Sep 18 2014, 12:50 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 18 2014, 10:54 AM)
Not only that, it will highly be a recon unit and my recon unit replacement had a little cosmetic defect. If I reject that then I have to wait for weeks to get another one which could probably be better or worse. sweat.gif
Send to outside dealers to change. Lotsa dealers can do battery change for Iphone nowadays. Why bother when the phone is no more under warranty?
TOMEI-R
post Sep 18 2014, 12:55 PM

Extraordinaire
24,219 posts

QUOTE(Connect2USales @ Sep 18 2014, 12:54 PM)
I prefer original parts. I dot mind if outside dealer got it.. But too bad so far those I asked are using non ori.. N according to ASC, all outside dealers do not have access to ori parts. (One sided story. Really hope someone can tell me otherwise)
They told me those are all ori parts. But I dont know how to differentiate. But I see their technicians open up the iphone for repairs like opening peanuts only. laugh.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0229sec    0.66    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:46 PM