The Official iPhone 6/6+ Discussion Thread | V1, Bigger than bigger
Connect2USales
Sep 17 2014, 11:57 PM
QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 17 2014, 11:31 PM) wow.. i never knew that there are different parts for AUS iphone and malaysia/sg iphone? i thought at least we can have the repair service with charges.  thats what i thought too... until they told me ... and today i found out something new.. guess how much u need to pay to get a iPhone 5 battery replaced from Apple SC?
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 12:10 AM
QUOTE(keropi88 @ Sep 17 2014, 11:59 PM) wiw, everyone started to get the first iPhone 6 ... im just gonna wait until they launch in Malaysia , but i got a few question to ask ... just curious 1. if u bought the iPhone 6 at oversea, or being shipped to here, is there any custom tax ? 2. the launching price shown in the keynote is USD 299 for iphone 6 plus, converted into RM is like RM 1000, for sure its untrue, too good to be true, so hows the price gonna be in Malaysia , and why will it be different ? tax ? 3. if u buy those oversea unit, arent they are tied to the local service providers ? 4. except from the warranty issue, oversea unit are totally same with Malaysia ? i mean those function / or features / region support eg. chinese keyboard etc. 1. sales tax of 10%. 2. should be the same as previous models, 16gb starting at RM2199. The price u saw in keynote is for US telcos with 2 years contract. Contract free for iPhone 6 is USD649 (if i remember correctly) 3. Yes and no... some telcos offer contract free. 4. no. Confirmed with local Apple Service Centre. Overseas set only Singapore set same with Malaysia since our stocks are also from Singapore branch. The rest will be different especially the charger. The rest should be same.
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 01:42 AM
QUOTE(simmarjit @ Sep 18 2014, 12:59 AM) iOS 8 is out!  downloading now...
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(yisien @ Sep 18 2014, 08:04 AM) i think.. rm250 for 1 battery + labour charges?  they quoted me RM1075 ! Malaysia Apple SC do not replace battery. They replace the whole unit instead..
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 12:41 PM
QUOTE(OKLY @ Sep 18 2014, 10:54 AM) Not only that, it will highly be a recon unit and my recon unit replacement had a little cosmetic defect. If I reject that then I have to wait for weeks to get another one which could probably be better or worse.  100% recon unit... Worse.. Warranty only 3 months... When I asked why us got replacement with only usd99, they said in Malaysia, they don't open fix...
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2014, 12:50 PM) Send to outside dealers to change. Lotsa dealers can do battery change for Iphone nowadays. Why bother when the phone is no more under warranty? I prefer original parts. I dot mind if outside dealer got it.. But too bad so far those I asked are using non ori.. N according to ASC, all outside dealers do not have access to ori parts. (One sided story. Really hope someone can tell me otherwise)
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 01:56 PM
QUOTE(ashrafrahman @ Sep 18 2014, 12:56 PM) wow! very cheap on mudah.com around 180 - 200 if buy online from spigen (with shipping cost) QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 18 2014, 01:26 PM) I would say definately not original for that price  . You can try seeing for yourself. For SGP products, they have hologram sticker and an item id to very online if it is the original or not. But to be fair, quality of so called "Oem" could be quite near the original. Heck, it could have came out from the same production line. yes.. SGP price is fixed unless they have promo... All authorised resellers have to adhere to it. If u see someone selling cheaper than that, either they are not authorised reseller or it's fake. Being said so, a person still can sell original sgp case if they are getting stocks from a friend or the AR. They are not bound under the price adherence... This is what I was told previously when i enquire about the reselling rights.
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 02:23 PM
QUOTE(ashrafrahman @ Sep 18 2014, 02:18 PM) thanks all that's the thing. wont mind spend xtra for good quality casing. might order mine later. no rush tho i'm using N8 n 3gs now. got 1 time, my son replaced his ultraman action figures with my phones. the pongs were flying all over the place, so called fighting scenes gonna get myself iphone 6+  haha.. ya.. our advise to consumers is.. buy ori.. if finds it too expensive, then go for cheaper brand. there are a lot of good quality brands for casing in the market which is affordable to all.
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 10:05 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 18 2014, 07:53 PM) i changed my battery to oem... just RM 80, because i feel my old battery is kaput already... same quality like new battery.... better and faster than 1075 option.... scared of kaboom... u know la.. if u really in bad luck.. anything can happen... at least if ori i know who to look for.. if oem.. u can only look for your insurance company, provided u lose a pair of limbs QUOTE(kietto @ Sep 18 2014, 09:11 PM) sifu, do you suggest to get 16gb ip6? somewhere i read the ios update requires 5GB @@'' i concern about the future update and cause me have only few GB to spend iOS 8 OTA update requirement is 6.9GB, but if you use iTunes only 900+ MB
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(xproc @ Sep 18 2014, 10:11 PM) I check wih itools thw battery seems legit and I moved on from that normally battery is more or less the same.. just that i don't like the idea when something happens, i have no one to turn to.. a big corp like apple won't run but it might be different for a small one.. imagine, something really happens.. u go back to the shop u bought and he told u not his fault, cos he only sell. If u want u have to claim from the factory.. but who knows where to find... again, this is the worst scenario which have little chance to happens.. but .. accidents still can happens when u least expects it..
Connect2USales
Sep 18 2014, 10:53 PM
QUOTE(dvlzplayground @ Sep 18 2014, 10:33 PM) i was disappointed they still had a 16gb option. i was hoping it would be from 32, 64, 128  . if gaming is a priority then definitely 64gb. with metal, devs have more reasons to jack up the size of their games haha. photos and videos can always be transferred to a computer / upload online so that shudn't be much of an issue. correct me if im wrong (ip4 user here... no ios8 for me  ), the huge ios8 update size are files that rewrites the current OS and then some. so it's not that you'll lose 5gb of space right? u only lose about 9xx mb.
Connect2USales
Sep 19 2014, 12:28 AM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 19 2014, 12:21 AM) Crazy how Apple still selling 16GB, it's 2014 now  nothing to be surprise of.. .xiaomi mi 3also 16gb (no card slot), even mi 4 also 16gb, nexus range 16gb, moto x google ed 16gb.. n many more.. at least we are given a choice of bigger capacity
Connect2USales
Sep 19 2014, 11:49 PM
Hmm... Still undecided... Will again wait and see until more data is out... If ip6 really better than 6 plus, then Wil go for 6..
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 01:47 AM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 20 2014, 01:29 AM) nothing fancy about iPhone unboxing.. all the same as previous gen.. n since using iOS 8 now.. nothing much changes.. now waiting for yosemite only to complete my continuity... hehe.. QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 20 2014, 01:30 AM) Either gold or grey, silver looks boring. Just my opinion  slap a case, it will be just black or white panel in front. unless u don't use casing or bumper only. then it will makes a difference. QUOTE(neverknowgirl @ Sep 20 2014, 01:34 AM) Still have no idea when it will arrive here? probably 3 oct or 10 oct
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 02:00 AM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Sep 20 2014, 01:50 AM) Point of the video is to see the gold colour up close, of course not the box lol. I've sold 30 pcs iPhone before, looks until boring already I only use transparent TPU or clear back case, so it really does matter to me  ic.. time to try naked? hehe.. QUOTE(SolId SnaKe @ Sep 20 2014, 01:56 AM) so confident?? i am thinking maybe same with India release date which is 17oct if im not mistaken (previously posted) not confident.. thats y use the word "probably" ..  anyway, not in the rush cos waiting for the final release of imos solid ex corning... need to wait for the SGS certification perhaps... saw the sp laio..  full coverage of the screen...
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 10:17 AM
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Sep 20 2014, 02:16 AM) I have Yosemite on both of my rMBP13 and 2 iPhone 6 Pluses, so my life is complete? How u get Yosemite this early?
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(Kelvin8998 @ Sep 20 2014, 10:18 AM) You can actually get Yosemite already, but it's not the full public release version. Still a beta version I was thinking about public release... Not going to install beta cow got too much important stuff in my mbp.
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 11:32 AM
QUOTE(Shaney @ Sep 20 2014, 11:29 AM) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JS8f-hVsDzA...mIxTx3b6OxTSALwit think it would be all right by using it naked yo. even the dude whom dropped his iPhone at perth outside of apple retail store claimed his phone is doing fine with scratches on it only. I'm planning to use it naked just like my iPad mini retina. Just add a back sp and imos solid ex corning... Good to go laio..no bulk, no extra weight..
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 20 2014, 12:28 PM) Yeah... like the old saying when the buying stops, the "hoarding" stops. If people keep paying more, it will motivate the hoarders/scalpers to keep trying to hoard more Iphone so as to resell and make profit. This would in turn cause a fake shortage everywhere. If one hoarder/scalper were to hold 10 units, then 10 genuine buyers will be deprived of their Iphones causing people to say that that are not enough iphones to go around while the reality is the stocks are being hoarded by someone. I would say that more than half of the people who queued up at Apple stores, more than 50% are hoarders/scalpers. Same with XiaoMi initially when they launch in Malaysia ...
Connect2USales
Sep 20 2014, 02:02 PM
Last time I'm willing to pay more cos need to wait longer.. But now.. Just matter of 1 month.. So willing to wait.