Streamyx Streamyx 4Mbps Club V6

neokyo
post May 26 2015, 06:35 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ May 22 2015, 09:28 PM)
There could be various reasons for that: Seeders join the swarm and leave the swarm all the time, peers may not have the parts you require, and for all I know your Streamyx account had been identified as a very heavy user and the powers that be had subjected your torrents to be throttled after a certain amount of data, in accordance with their fair-use regulations.

I'm not a networking expert; was merely sharing what I know/able to deduce. In your case as well as pakji's, both of you leave the computer on overnight to download. Both of you SEEM to be throttled to varying degrees. So...cause and probable effect are there. I've never left a computer on overnight to download stuff nor do I torrent a lot, I don't do online gaming...and on torrents with enough seeders, I get the max speed till all of the file is on my hdd.
i dunno how torrent work. i mean, how seeder join/leave the swarm as u mention. as i said, there's seeder, usually more than 5, depending the popularity of the torrent. but most of the time, only 1-2 will send their data to me, which one at high speed and the other one at 1-2 kbps.

i torrent when the thing that i want is only available on torrent, which is IIRC about 5 times from the date i start use streamyx (dec 2014). i leave it overnight because there's no one using the net at that time. u know torrent at daytime can cause other user go crazy at the net speed.. even though i am the only user on this line most of the time.. tongue.gif

well.. i think as u said, maybe my acc had been identified and flagged as very heavy user, thus make me suffer from slow torrent speed. cry.gif well.. there's way to convert torrent to direct download. icon_idea.gif

neokyo
post May 27 2015, 10:32 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ May 27 2015, 12:29 AM)
Got a question, was thinking to apply TM broadband.

Why still choose Streamyx over Unifi?
not everyone have option to choose unifi, especially old taman/kampung/flat. the cost needed to install unifi fiber is not worthy in TM view. nid to korek more. nowadays they plant the fiber when house is being developed. furthermore, IINM TM will upgrade the Streamyx capability at those area to support 8mbps. so, area that suddenly have 8mbps support will not get unifi.
neokyo
post May 27 2015, 10:55 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ May 27 2015, 10:45 AM)
Unifi needs the phone, HyppTV, and internet to be activated upon installation. Does Streamyx need that too?
I quite didn't understand what u mean by Unifi need internet to be activated upon installation.
neokyo
post May 27 2015, 11:32 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(LVL1NiNjA @ May 27 2015, 11:11 AM)
Phone, modem/router, and HyppTV needs to be activated simultanenously. Is it the same with Streamyx? sweat.gif
i believe it's the same. but there's no HyppTV on streamyx package. u can opt to it urself as addon IINM. but the quality is not as good as unifi la.. i believe unifi have separate connection for HyppTV while Streamyx will tumpang on ur internet line. so if u download or torrent, ur HyppTV will be affected and buffering..
neokyo
post May 29 2015, 08:22 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(mihawk @ May 29 2015, 04:26 PM)
hi guys, streamyx with the tablet rm88 still available?
i believe the answer is no..
neokyo
post Jun 4 2015, 07:37 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Jun 4 2015, 05:16 PM)
You can only use ONE specific and unique port number, not various ports in a range (10000 and 11000). Suggest to run the test to see if your port has been properly forwarded. Set your half-open connects to a decent level...100 or 200 should be enough.

Also the dl speeds u get are also dependent on the number of seeders and the speeds they set, as well as your sharing ratio.

Be patient and determined...Years ago I was boggled too when trying to set up my torrents. We live and learn smile.gif
are u using specific setting? or default-fresh-from-installation setting?
neokyo
post Jun 4 2015, 10:22 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Jun 4 2015, 09:50 PM)
Only used the settings required by portforward.com
i mean setting inside torrent.. and what client u use? i believe client have little to none contribution to download speed, but maybe i'm wrong..
neokyo
post Jun 14 2015, 01:16 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(FirstAidKit @ Jun 14 2015, 12:55 AM)
thanks. will try and see.

Btw I have a question here. I have 2 houses, one subscribing streamyx 4MBps package, another one subscribing 1MBps package.
My 4MBps package, torrent cannot run at all mostly 0.1kbps. Have to connect to VPN in order to get full torrent speed(sometimes doesn't get full speed about 400kbps++ , and I am using the free router from Telekom.
Whereas my another house 1MBps package, surprisingly torrent can run at full speed (100-110kbps) without connecting to any VPN. Using self TP-link router.
Does Telekom never filter 1mbps users for accessing to torrent, or the reason I am not using the free router from the Telekom. Hope someone will enlighten me smile.gif
Thanks smile.gif notworthy.gif
i think the router is the main culprit here. i also use free one, speed so doh.gif
who know.. maybe there's setting that cause torrent speed super slow..

edit: why dun u try swap both router and account to see the hypothesis is correct or not?

This post has been edited by neokyo: Jun 14 2015, 01:17 PM
neokyo
post Jun 15 2015, 10:36 AM

248 posts

welkam. dun hesitate to post ur problem regarding Streamyx here. other expert will answer if they got solution.
neokyo
post Jun 21 2015, 10:34 AM

248 posts

recently i change hardware and reformat my pc. guess what? my torrent speed skyrocket to 400++.. brows.gif but last 3 day back to 10-30 kbps. i really dun understand what happen.. doh.gif
neokyo
post Jun 23 2015, 12:16 PM

248 posts

well.. it seem the cause of speed drop past days was my port setting. use forwarded port=slow. i change to random, get full speed back. which make me really doh.gif. it's suppose to be forwarded=fast. and honestly, i just enjoy while the speed last.. brows.gif
neokyo
post Jun 24 2015, 11:23 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(acid427 @ Jun 24 2015, 02:30 AM)
I rather go for seedbox, its cheap now. Direct download. Can save electricity aswell (for private tracker requires u to seed lol).

whistling.gif
mind sharing info bout this seedbox? pricing? which u use? electricity is main concern lo. now gst summore.. not to mention higher usage nid pay more for those so-called 'kumpulan wang tenaga boleh diperbaharui'... sad.gif
neokyo
post Jun 28 2015, 01:52 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(r1nk @ Jun 27 2015, 03:03 AM)
may i know how to change port setting from forward to random??
tick 'random port' box inside torrent client
neokyo
post Jun 29 2015, 08:57 AM

248 posts

QUOTE(OneFarEast @ Jun 28 2015, 10:14 PM)
my youtube connection seems to be capped at 2.5MBps..anyone here have the same prob?
may i know how u determine youtube capped at 2.5 MBps?
neokyo
post Aug 15 2015, 04:58 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(ZzZzz... @ Aug 14 2015, 05:33 PM)
is it tm offer rm88 for 4mbps package? anyone know??? feel to upgrade my 1mbps
well.. the promotion ended already. you're late by about 8 month 15 days.. even if you're on time, the promotion is only for new application..
neokyo
post Sep 23 2015, 02:42 PM

248 posts

QUOTE(metaboxuser @ Sep 22 2015, 11:27 AM)
Hello all,

I live in Seri Iskandar, Perak (Near UTP University) and I am using a TM 4Mbps connection since last 5 months. During all these 5 months, internet speed in daytime is fine, but then speed goes slower in evening and stuck in between 1.5-2.5Mbps (I test through speedtest) everyday till midnight. I have complained many times(at TM 100). Technicians have visited at my house and have replaced my modem 3 three times, changed wire connection from local distribution point but problem did not solve yet. Technicians know nothing about real problem and keep changing things, which have caused to get slower speed now in daytime also. I dont know how to solve this as technicians are unable to solve this. Now technicians visit everytime and say we will try. I am very disappointed as I pay RM150 every month without using full bandwidth. I am a PhD student and spend my daytime at my university. When I return to home in evening, I get this worst speed, even can't stream youtube vidoes as speed continuously fluctuates.

I am posting this here to know if anyone else also had the same problem and wanted to get a suggestion to solve it. I repeat again that TM technician know nothing expect to replace equipment. My current modem is Riger120W and I have wifi problem in it. (WiFi LED automatically turns off after every 5-10 minutes for sometimes). Restarting of router automatically is also very common for this modem also.

Please help.

(I have put this in main page also)
do u mean modem that came with streamyx? that silver colored one? btw that one is Riger DB120-WL.
IIRC, that modem will broadcast unprotected hidden network which make any user that know the SSID can use it to connect and gain free access..

well, this is just an assumption.. hmm.gif

considering u mention that the speed getting worse at evening, which is when other ppl came back from work, i highly suspect that there's other ppl tap into that hidden SSID and use ur connection, thus making your internet slow. and i certainly sure that said thief is heavy downloader, which is possible torrenting via your line.

like blacktubi said, try to get other modem..
neokyo
post Aug 8 2016, 08:47 PM

248 posts

if i recall correctly what my friend once say, they offer those sweet upgrade to existing customer with good payment history..

but i may be wrong..
neokyo
post Sep 29 2017, 09:56 AM

248 posts

guys.. is there any problem with streamyx now? just got dc-ed Wednesday, and i encountering buffering on YouTube so i login to my router to realize my speed kinda capped at 2mbps. so 1 pick up my phone and dial 100, during the dial process (didn't speak with person yet, at those press 1 to bla2..) my modem auto dc-ed and get the original speed. so i stop the call, use it and~~ it dc back and recap me at lower speed. repeat the process and i gain my original speed.
neokyo
post Oct 1 2017, 09:28 AM

248 posts

so, regarding my problem, i just realize my attenuation is really2 bad.. it's at 150++..
how should i report to 100? say to them my attenuation problem? or say my line unstable, dc and low speed and got white noise?

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0326sec    0.53    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 04:19 AM