124 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates in Malaysia V7, Please Read Post# 1 & 2

bbgoat
post Nov 4 2014, 03:36 PM

6,614 posts

Received call from MBB funding exec. Lenglui said new promo is 2 mths 3.6% min 25k. This is diff from another forummer reported above. 6 mths 3.85% min 10k. The 4% 12 mth upfront interest FD promo still ongoing.

Anyway BNM meeting this week, lets see how it goes ! rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 4 2014, 03:38 PM
TSGen-X
post Nov 4 2014, 04:45 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 4 2014, 03:36 PM)
Received call from MBB funding exec. Lenglui said new promo is 2 mths 3.6% min 25k. This is diff from another forummer reported above. 6 mths 3.85% min 10k. The 4% 12 mth upfront interest FD promo still ongoing.

Anyway BNM meeting this week, lets see how it goes !  rclxms.gif
Unless one needs a 2 months FD Promo then the MBB 3.6% may be good else better go with UON 3 months 3.8%

All banks waiting for BNM announcement, I expect next week only new FD promos will be introduced, e.g. AmBank 3.85% ends on 6th November.
bbgoat
post Nov 4 2014, 05:03 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Nov 4 2014, 04:45 PM)
Unless one needs a 2 months FD Promo then the MBB 3.6% may be good else better go with UON 3 months 3.8%

All banks waiting for BNM announcement, I expect next week only new FD promos will be introduced, e.g. AmBank 3.85% ends on 6th November.
Key thing is to wait for the BNM this week announcement. If no increase in OPR, then the 2 mths 3.6% is better than 1 mth rate to wait for any future increase. But UOB rate of 3 mth 3.8% is sweet too.

Last week placed for MBB 3 mth 3.7%.

Ya, all eyes (banks & us) are waiting for the BNM meeting ! biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 4 2014, 05:04 PM
okuribito
post Nov 4 2014, 05:50 PM

1,021 posts

mtg this thursday same day ambank 5mth promo ends. Next 2 mtgs in jan & mar 2015, cny 19feb. Will they raise in jan b4 cny? imho won't be popular to do that. So either this week or in march. But gst starts 1 april. If march it'll also be unpopular i think.

haihhhh got maturity on thursday leh hmm.gif
kenloh7
post Nov 5 2014, 03:32 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 3 2014, 02:08 PM)
Penang ocbc premier customer 6 month 4% FD. Promotion only in Nov month in conjunction with the new premier center opening. Min 10k
hi, would like to ask if i need to be a premier customer to be entitled for this FD? How much to open an account there?

And to the rest here, Ive got several questions to ask:
1. Which bank offers the best FD for placement of RM10K, for a period of 1 to 2 years?
2. I have accounts on maybank and ambank. How much it costs if I open a new FD account at a new bank?
3. In the MBB FD I seen, it says 3.94% effective rate over 15months and after that it is renewed for 9 months at prevailing rate of 3.25%. Can I withdraw my FD at the end of 15 month without forfeiting my earlier interest rate? As I dont want the 3.25%.

Sorry, I just started working and never had an FD before, and going through this pages seems confusing, so I hope I can get a general answer here.
bearbear
post Nov 5 2014, 04:18 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Nov 5 2014, 03:32 PM)
hi, would like to ask if i need to be a premier customer to be entitled for this FD? How much to open an account there?
And to the rest here, Ive got several questions to ask:
1. Which bank offers the best FD for placement of RM10K, for a period of 1 to 2 years?
2. I have accounts on maybank and ambank. How much it costs if I open a new FD account at a new bank?
3. In the MBB FD I seen, it says 3.94% effective rate over 15months and after that it is renewed for 9 months at prevailing rate of 3.25%. Can I withdraw my FD at the end of 15 month without forfeiting my earlier interest rate? As I dont want the 3.25%.

Sorry, I just started working and never had an FD before, and going through this pages seems confusing, so I hope I can get a general answer here.
1. UOB 4.05% / PBB also similar with their step up promo thought bit more flexibility
2. No cost to open FD acc
3. Yes withdraw after 15 months, that is your tenure and 3.94% is added to the principal. If you leave it to run they will renew at 3.25%.
gsc
post Nov 5 2014, 11:37 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Nov 5 2014, 03:32 PM)

Ocbc promo 6 months 4% for premier customer only. If not mstaken need Rm300k to be premier customer. I believe there is a specal FD rate for new premier customer.
wil-i-am
post Nov 6 2014, 07:24 AM

10,001 posts

OPR likely to remain at 3.25pc
http://www.nst.com.my/node/49910
kenloh7
post Nov 6 2014, 09:38 AM

414 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 5 2014, 04:18 PM)
1. UOB 4.05% / PBB also similar with their step up promo thought bit more flexibility
2. No cost to open FD acc
3. Yes withdraw after 15 months, that is your tenure and 3.94% is added to the principal. If you leave it to run they will renew at 3.25%.
Hmm compared to 3.94% of MBB, the UOB is only additional RM14 over the period of 15 months. I think ill go to MBB over UOB, since the nearest UOB is 14km away while maybank is only 2km. Thanks for your info.

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 5 2014, 11:37 PM)
Ocbc promo 6 months 4% for premier customer only. If not mstaken need Rm300k to be premier customer. I believe there is a specal FD rate for new premier customer.
thanks!
bearbear
post Nov 6 2014, 11:52 AM

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Nov 6 2014, 09:38 AM)
Hmm compared to 3.94% of MBB, the UOB is only additional RM14 over the period of 15 months. I think ill go to MBB over UOB, since the nearest UOB is 14km away while maybank is only 2km. Thanks for your info.

Try ask Maybank 4% with interest upfront still valid or not brows.gif
kenloh7
post Nov 6 2014, 12:04 PM

414 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ Nov 6 2014, 11:52 AM)
Try ask Maybank 4% with interest upfront still valid or not brows.gif
Read that it's only applicable to customers of its rival bank. And im from maybank so i dont think ill qualify.
rjb123
post Nov 6 2014, 12:36 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(kenloh7 @ Nov 6 2014, 12:04 PM)
Read that it's only applicable to customers of its rival bank. And im from maybank so i dont think ill qualify.
FYI, I uplifted existing i-FD with MBB and moved it to the 4% 12 month upfront promotion.
harmonics3
post Nov 6 2014, 01:18 PM

637 posts

QUOTE(rjb123 @ Nov 6 2014, 12:36 PM)
FYI, I uplifted existing i-FD with MBB and moved it to the 4% 12 month upfront promotion.
Did you transfer out the money to other bank before placing the 4% 12-mth upfront promotion?
i remember min. placement 25k and must be fresh funds.
rjb123
post Nov 6 2014, 02:55 PM

1,820 posts

QUOTE(harmonics3 @ Nov 6 2014, 01:18 PM)
Did you transfer out the money to other bank before placing the 4% 12-mth upfront promotion?
i remember min. placement 25k and must be fresh funds.
Nope, I believe cashier processed it as uplift FD to cash and then deposit if I remember correctly.

Anyway, didn't leave the branch or withdraw any physical cash - was all done on the spot.

Was more than 25K
august8
post Nov 6 2014, 06:24 PM

178 posts

Craaaaaaaaap...no rise in OPR.
SUSDavid83
post Nov 6 2014, 06:28 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(august8 @ Nov 6 2014, 06:24 PM)
Expected. My guess Q1 2015.
giko
post Nov 6 2014, 06:44 PM

376 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Nov 6 2014, 06:28 PM)
Expected. My guess Q1 2015.
Q1 2015 is cutting it close as:-

1. GST kicks in 1 Apr
2. Petrol rationalization scheme starts 1 Jun

Then again with this finance minister, who knows... cool2.gif

bbgoat
post Nov 6 2014, 08:26 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(wil-i-am @ Nov 6 2014, 07:24 AM)
OPR likely to remain at 3.25pc
http://www.nst.com.my/node/49910
thumbup.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(august8 @ Nov 6 2014, 06:24 PM)
Well, well, have to wait until late Jan 2015 and see how it goes then. biggrin.gif
SUSDavid83
post Nov 6 2014, 08:28 PM

52,874 posts

Najib: Large portion of household debt in Malaysia due to housing loans

URL: http://www.thestar.com.my/News/Nation/2014...Household-debt/
bbgoat
post Nov 6 2014, 08:30 PM

6,614 posts

Received SMS from RHB manager. New FD promo until Dec 5. 6 mths 4%. 9 mths 4.15%. Min 50k. Note separate FD promo of 6 mths and 9 mths, not step up like previously. Rather good rate. rclxms.gif Both promo very good except min 50k required. smile.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Nov 6 2014, 08:35 PM

124 Pages « < 69 70 71 72 73 > » Top

0.0276sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:06 PM