heard we were interested in Textron's Scorpion..
Military Thread V13
Nov 10 2014, 05:41 PM
2,825 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Harlan County |
heard we were interested in Textron's Scorpion..
Nov 10 2014, 05:56 PM
39 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Nov 10 2014, 09:15 PM
1,210 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(zimhibikie @ Nov 10 2014, 05:41 PM) It still struggling to get its first customer.The problem is that yes it cost under 20million but is not say very cheap by any means. For malaysia, 20mill is also a huge amout close to 80million ringgit per plane. Yak 130 cost almost the same and it better equid as well and can double as trainer And that 20mil it just a shell. It need radar upgrade if it want to do patrol mission, maybe a add-on fly by wire system to reduce pilot n co-pilot load. Having fly by wire really help when doing bombing run as what i was told. Can just focus on the target and the plane will do most of the flying during tat time. For me, yak 130 look like a better bargain since it also a twin seater twin engine, come with fly by wire, it say to be open-architecture as well. And it projected to cost as low as 15mill, cheaper plus already have customer buying it. The perk Scorpion have over Yak is that is western product. Spare parts and service is not an issue unlike russian one. |
Nov 10 2014, 10:28 PM
137 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(junchuan @ Nov 10 2014, 07:52 PM) Just hope wont use to replace f5.. Imagine we get 36 hornet to replace migs and 2nd batch mkm to replace f5 36 a bit too much, should be 24 to replace mig, other 12 to develop new squadron on sabah. f5 just retire ... forgot Su-30mkm, we not going to buy other Russia jet anymore. |
Nov 10 2014, 10:46 PM
172 posts Joined: Sep 2009 From: penang wit love |
QUOTE(MilitaryMadness @ Nov 10 2014, 12:11 PM) Few years later? Dude, you're severely underestimating Chinese 'reverse-engineering' powers! they still left behind (actually, quite far behind) in engine development..even China admitted that their J-11 still inferior to Su-27 in terms of engine system that they have to fitted some of their J-11s with Su-27 engine until now..ruskies still hold the key formula to jet engine technologyGiven China already has decent fighter planes, I don't see the need to buy another fighter plane from a foreign source just for the plane. Heck, I won't be surprised they bought the Sukhois just to dissect them for their tech. even the Z-10 are not solely built by China entity..they got a lot of help from ruskies This post has been edited by keown83: Nov 10 2014, 10:49 PM |
Nov 11 2014, 12:25 AM
QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 10 2014, 09:15 PM) It still struggling to get its first customer. just launch 2 year +, it take time to get customer .... The problem is that yes it cost under 20million but is not say very cheap by any means. For malaysia, 20mill is also a huge amout close to 80million ringgit per plane. Yak 130 cost almost the same and it better equid as well and can double as trainer And that 20mil it just a shell. It need radar upgrade if it want to do patrol mission, maybe a add-on fly by wire system to reduce pilot n co-pilot load. Having fly by wire really help when doing bombing run as what i was told. Can just focus on the target and the plane will do most of the flying during tat time. For me, yak 130 look like a better bargain since it also a twin seater twin engine, come with fly by wire, it say to be open-architecture as well. And it projected to cost as low as 15mill, cheaper plus already have customer buying it. The perk Scorpion have over Yak is that is western product. Spare parts and service is not an issue unlike russian one. for now days a training jet simply cost more than 20 milion and reach 30 million too.... 20 million like small money for now, military helicopter also more expensive than usd 20 miilion. for Scorpion, it not only as traning jet, but more main role is Intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance (ISR) , can to SAR, Maritime patrol, it take same MPA job, some F-35 feature, which can't do by tradition traning jet. RMAF show interested on Scorpion can be expected, it can solve out issue now, not budget for MPA/old traning jet, so Scorpion can as training jet with more type weapon support and system, can do some MPA job (mini MPA),SAR, ISR, it can replace our 20 year old B200T as MPA, it more capability compare to our B200T MPA, can replace Hawk as strike jet , close air support. means 1 jet solve our basic needed. i not means it can replace full MPA job, but at lease mini MPA better than nothink, we not getting MPA for other 5 year. Scorpion maybe suite country like as. This post has been edited by waja2000: Nov 11 2014, 12:42 AM |
Nov 11 2014, 02:58 AM
1,210 posts Joined: Aug 2011 |
QUOTE(waja2000 @ Nov 11 2014, 12:25 AM) just launch 2 year +, it take time to get customer .... something YAK-130/or its western variant M-346 is also designed and capable of doingfor now days a training jet simply cost more than 20 milion and reach 30 million too.... 20 million like small money for now, military helicopter also more expensive than usd 20 miilion. for Scorpion, it not only as traning jet, but more main role is Intelligence, surveillance and reconnaissance (ISR) , can to SAR, Maritime patrol, it take same MPA job, some F-35 feature, which can't do by tradition traning jet. RMAF show interested on Scorpion can be expected, it can solve out issue now, not budget for MPA/old traning jet, so Scorpion can as training jet with more type weapon support and system, can do some MPA job (mini MPA),SAR, ISR, it can replace our 20 year old B200T as MPA, it more capability compare to our B200T MPA, can replace Hawk as strike jet , close air support. means 1 jet solve our basic needed. i not means it can replace full MPA job, but at lease mini MPA better than nothink, we not getting MPA for other 5 year. Scorpion maybe suite country like as. though m-346 is already used by our neighbor, which i think also a play a role of us looking into scorpian instead I guess the two seater and twin engine is still some our air force always want I hope the fly by wire is an added option, plus radar upgrade for wider coverage as well as more powerful engine with after burner option BTw from top look nicely design but from front look like some fat side due to the air inlet protruding out our hawk i dont think will go out so soon.. still one good and cheap aircraft to operate This post has been edited by thpace: Nov 11 2014, 03:03 AM |
Nov 11 2014, 07:37 AM
1,302 posts Joined: Oct 2010 From: Over your shoulder |
QUOTE(lulz @ Nov 10 2014, 01:50 PM) 7.62 seems underpowered for a rws, better put .50 cal or 20mm. Is there a sniping platform using rws(longer barrel,etc.)? They should make one since it can be stabilize better than human operated gun and can be really useful in insurgency since the opponent probably hide among civilian and reduce collateral damage. I think the 40mm grenade launcher is supposed to be the main weapon with the 7.62mm MG as the backup/coaxial weapon. Although I confess I don't actually know under what combat condition will this system be optimal for. Perhaps for COIN/riot control?Here's a closer look at at the system: QUOTE ![]() Left side view of the RWS system, not the dual feed for both 40mm grenade launcher and 7.62mm MG ![]() Front view of the RWS system ![]() Rear view of the RWS system. Some speculate the square section is a flip-up directed acoustic non-lethal weapon, similar to a LRAD |
Nov 11 2014, 07:54 AM
For those who want a bit more punch in their RWS system, there is also a 30mm autocannon with 7.62mm coaxial MG version:
![]() ![]() |
Nov 11 2014, 08:18 AM
1,157 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 11 2014, 02:58 AM) something YAK-130/or its western variant M-346 is also designed and capable of doing Hawk is awesome.though m-346 is already used by our neighbor, which i think also a play a role of us looking into scorpian instead I guess the two seater and twin engine is still some our air force always want I hope the fly by wire is an added option, plus radar upgrade for wider coverage as well as more powerful engine with after burner option BTw from top look nicely design but from front look like some fat side due to the air inlet protruding out our hawk i dont think will go out so soon.. still one good and cheap aircraft to operate I would love it been upgrade to have more deadly ground attack. perhaps addin more gooding sensors to it as well. |
Nov 11 2014, 08:19 AM
1,157 posts Joined: Jul 2008 From: Petaling Jaya |
Double post
slowpoke internet today This post has been edited by yinchet: Nov 11 2014, 08:22 AM |
Nov 11 2014, 08:57 AM
570 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: /k/ isle |
looking at how China able to even introduce their weapons and sell it to international buyers. We may laugh at China for their weapons, some called it copy, but in fact reverse engineering is so much harder. In a 10 year of Zhuhai show, they have manage to cover so many grounds and produce a full range of weapons.
Even North Korea and Taiwan and South Korea is so much more capable of producing their own weapons. Compare to these countries, Malaysia looks like some pariah country. 10 year period China did so many things, we produce nothing to even able to sell. We have the funds, and capability to build an industry, but then it looks like even Indonesia can even do so much better This post has been edited by Avex: Nov 11 2014, 09:16 AM |
Nov 11 2014, 09:19 AM
177 posts Joined: Jul 2013 |
QUOTE(Avex @ Nov 11 2014, 08:57 AM) looking at how China able to even introduce their weapons and sell it to international buyers. We may laugh at China for their weapons, some called it copy, but in fact reverse engineering is so much harder. Technically, those 2 Korean country still in war, and the other 2 preparing for a potential war since separation. We lack a political will (and money). Which is sooo unpopular among normal people in so called 'peaceful-unthreaten' country like us.Even North Korea and Taiwan and South Korea is so much more capable of producing their own weapons. Compare to these countries, Malaysia looks like some pariah country. We have the funds, and capability to build an industry, but then it looks like even Indonesia can even do so much better Singapore successfully build-up security awareness among their citizen using NS (Thanks to unfriendly neighbors). Indonesia successfully build-up security awareness among their citizen using Nationalism (Thanks to newspapers). |
Nov 11 2014, 09:24 AM
51 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: KL |
QUOTE(nukeblitz @ Nov 10 2014, 05:28 PM) some remote vehicle (air/ground/sea), will switch to autonomous if damaged. it remember path before and select best path, retreat, homing in at base. so shoot it and follow them back to base.these are the canggih ones like murica drones murica drones ftw |
Nov 11 2014, 09:26 AM
60 posts Joined: Sep 2009 |
i want to see one more FAC ;_;
Nov 11 2014, 09:28 AM
QUOTE(thpace @ Nov 11 2014, 02:58 AM) something YAK-130/or its western variant M-346 is also designed and capable of doing not really, M-346 can do CAS, traning jet, but lack of EOD, ground sensor, so can't do ISR, SAR day and night etc ... though m-346 is already used by our neighbor, which i think also a play a role of us looking into scorpian instead I guess the two seater and twin engine is still some our air force always want I hope the fly by wire is an added option, plus radar upgrade for wider coverage as well as more powerful engine with after burner option BTw from top look nicely design but from front look like some fat side due to the air inlet protruding out our hawk i dont think will go out so soon.. still one good and cheap aircraft to operate anyway Hawk already in our airforce it still continue serve other few more year, not more than 5 year have to retired. Scorpion more role can add in, it have 20k hours life compare to M-346 at 10k life. i not means other jet like M-346 or Yak130 event L-15 not good, all very good. i means Scorpion can do more role and mission which attractive to Air-force. also the price and service life. if our country have MPA, AEW&C, Scorpion jet maybe no much attractive to as. |
Nov 11 2014, 09:30 AM
570 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: /k/ isle |
QUOTE(pcboss00 @ Nov 11 2014, 09:19 AM) Technically, those 2 Korean country still in war, and the other 2 preparing for a potential war since separation. We lack a political will (and money). Which is sooo unpopular among normal people in so called 'peaceful-unthreaten' country like us. 10 years and Malaysia still can't even show a Javelin type equipment equivalent. Potato level we are atSingapore successfully build-up security awareness among their citizen using NS (Thanks to unfriendly neighbors). Indonesia successfully build-up security awareness among their citizen using Nationalism (Thanks to newspapers). |
Nov 11 2014, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(Avex @ Nov 11 2014, 09:30 AM) 10 years and Malaysia still can't even show a Javelin type equipment equivalent. Potato level we are at Besides the US, who can actually design an NLOS system like Javelin?Russia AFAIK also doesn't have one, Israel has the SPIKE, India has the Nagr and now the PRC has the HJ-12. So unless Malaysia is in that top 5 weapon manufacturer states, I think your opinion is ridiculous. |
Nov 11 2014, 09:57 AM
4 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
![]() (An artist rendering of Pindad Medium Tank - Credit to Windu Paramarta) QUOTE IndoDefence 2014: Indonesia, Turkey agree to develop new medium tank Jon Grevatt, Bangkok - IHS Jane's Defence Industry 09 November 2014 The governments of Indonesia and Turkey have signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) to jointly develop and produce a medium tank for the Indonesian Army (TNI-AD). Signed at the IndoDefence 2014 exhibition in Jakarta on 7 November, the MoU follows a preliminary accord inked by the two countries in early 2014 and features a commitment to develop two prototypes by 2017. Work on the project is scheduled to start before the end of 2014, according to the Indonesian Ministry of Defence (MoD). The programme is led by Indonesia's state-owned PT Pindad and FNSS Defence Systems: a joint venture between Turkey's Nurol Holdings and BAE Systems. http://www.janes.com/article/45540/indodef...new-medium-tank |
Nov 11 2014, 10:00 AM
36 posts Joined: Sep 2013 |
| Bump Topic Topic ClosedOptions New Topic |
| Change to: | 0.1208sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:40 PM |