How to underclock laptop cpu?

TSphilipnovember
post Sep 2 2014, 04:01 AM, updated 12y ago

54 posts

is there any program/software out there that is able to underclock the cpu on the laptop? maybe for the multiplier the most. i dun think i need such high mhz to game causing high temps... thanks!
cpu i7 4710H
laptop MSI GE70 (2014)
maxburnz
post Sep 2 2014, 06:30 AM

698 posts

Gaming normally wont use more than 70% cpu load. Have you use any third party software to check whether the CPU or GPU is causing the high temp?
ktek
post Sep 2 2014, 09:42 AM

小喇叭
13,189 posts

power option in control panel can do that.
use cpuz as background monitor while you adjust the minimum processor state.
after you find out the percent for desired cpu clock, set it to maximum while put zero to minimum setting
TSphilipnovember
post Sep 2 2014, 05:53 PM

54 posts

QUOTE(maxburnz @ Sep 2 2014, 06:30 AM)
Gaming normally wont use more than 70% cpu load. Have you use any third party software to check whether the CPU or GPU is causing the high temp?
yea i noticed that too. thats why i dun wan it to maximize which causes alot of heat. nope all new =)

QUOTE(ktek @ Sep 2 2014, 09:42 AM)
power option in control panel can do that.
use cpuz as background monitor while you adjust the minimum processor state.
after you find out the percent for desired cpu clock, set it to maximum while put zero to minimum setting
okay i will try that thanks!
delsoo
post Jun 12 2015, 01:05 PM

3,187 posts

set battery mode to pover saving mode?
OvenBaked
post Jun 14 2015, 10:46 PM

Hurricane
726 posts

Yup saving power mode will do the job
OvenBaked
post Jun 14 2015, 10:46 PM

Hurricane
726 posts

Yup saving power mode will do the job
bigmac999
post Jul 26 2015, 12:39 AM

685 posts

intel XTU if you interested to underclock and undervolt
akhmedisonline
post Aug 7 2015, 09:28 AM

191 posts

hi men, just to remind u underclock and undervolt are different things.
flexus90
post Sep 17 2015, 04:17 PM

580 posts

Just as others have suggested, Power Options on Control Panel is good enough for what you wanted to achieve.

But if you want something fancier and advanced try ThrottleStop. You can use it to set your CPU multiplier.

Guide
http://forum.notebookreview.com/threads/th...p-guide.531329/

Download
https://www.techpowerup.com/downloads/2288/...ottlestop-6-00/
cstkl1
post Sep 17 2015, 04:32 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(philipnovember @ Sep 2 2014, 04:01 AM)
is there any program/software out there that is able to underclock the cpu on the laptop? maybe for the multiplier the most. i dun think i need such high mhz to game causing high temps... thanks!
cpu i7 4710H
laptop MSI GE70 (2014)
u can reduce to 4 threads
alexei
post Sep 21 2015, 05:03 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,879 posts

QUOTE(philipnovember @ Sep 2 2014, 04:01 AM)
cpu i7 4710H
laptop MSI GE70 (2014)
OS implementation is the ideal, it also does undervolt corresponding to the clocking.
Under Advanced Settings in Power Options, change the percentage:
[attachmentid=4974650]
klmojuze
post Nov 12 2015, 02:41 PM

157 posts

Hi, indeed, I found easiest was in Power Options set the Maximum CPU to 95%, 90%, or 85%, etc. Then use Intel Extreme Tuning to monitor the clock speed when running CPU stress tests (which will cause 100% CPU use).

This way, for example, a 2.9GHZ laptop CPU which normally Turbo Boosts to 3.5GHZ, 3.4GHZ, etc... will be "capped" at say, 2.6GHZ. Very nice, smooth, quieter, and especially if it is a fast i7 and you have an SSD... you won't notice the difference with CPU "underclocked" (capped) to lower than its rating.

Using Power Options as well I find is very safe, no need to mess with voltages, etc. and I believe there is no way it will put your warranty at risk, etc.

0.0205sec    0.56    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:04 PM