Fundsupermart.com v7, DIY unit trust investing

jutamind
post Sep 12 2014, 11:05 AM

2,429 posts

just did quick comparison of latest stock holdings for Kenanga Growth and Eastspring Investment Equity Income....30% of stock holdings are overlapped for both funds...

still not too bad, i think, as these 2 MY funds will more or less cover the top 100-150 stocks in the Bursa.
jutamind
post Sep 13 2014, 12:07 PM

2,429 posts

from what i see, Equity Income fund invests more towards the bluest of the blue chips, while KGF is more diverse...

to put it as an analogy, i would say Equity Income probably invest in top 50 funds, while KGF top 100-150 funds in Bursa. each fund holds around 50-60 stocks.

QUOTE(David83 @ Sep 12 2014, 06:57 PM)
Even though both may have similar stock pick holdings but KGF NAV swings more violently than ESI EIF.

[attachmentid=4131603]

ROI within the time of interest:

KGF: 4.38%
ESIEIF: 0.97%
jutamind
post Oct 3 2014, 04:13 PM

2,429 posts

I use to own this fund for quite a few years but it was lagging during my holding period. this fund only performs above the other during this last 1-2 years. on paper, it seems like a good fund....but long term performance, i'm not too impressed.

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 3 2014, 12:40 PM)
AmOasis Global Islamic is a feeder fund to Oasis Crescent Global Equity Fund which is heavy in US (55%)
jutamind
post Oct 7 2014, 11:23 PM

2,429 posts

Chill out guys...it's Oct...typically the worst time for stocks historically in a year. If you have bullets, use the ammo. If no bullets, just sit tight and ride the tide
jutamind
post Oct 8 2014, 09:13 PM

2,429 posts

Bursa doesnt even drop 5% yet from the top?
jutamind
post Oct 10 2014, 09:30 AM

2,429 posts

begun only mah....can KLCI drop below 1700?

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 10 2014, 09:19 AM)
It has...begun brows.gif

Calling wongmunkeong seafood, sudah start deploying reserve ammo? biggrin.gif
jutamind
post Oct 18 2014, 07:13 PM

2,429 posts

I switched from kidsave trust to hwang select balanced hoing for better returns. After investing for half year, seems like 2 kali 5 saje....

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 18 2014, 03:40 PM)
My advise is, stay away from Eastspring Small Cap or any other high risk small-mid cap equity funds; reason being, the rollercoaster ride MIGHT scare you away from UT investments.

1st of all, are u already working? Do you have spare cash every month to top up your investments? Or are you just looking to invest the spare cash that you currently have on hand?

If your answer is the latter, I'd advise you to just park in FD. Or, you may start with RHB-OSK Cash Management Fund 2. It's return is on par with FD, and it's flexible - you may withdraw anytime. And best of all, it is a unit trust, albeit a money market fund, so that you can get a taste of what is unit trust.

If you insist on investing, look at the more stable, seasoned funds like:
- Kenanga Growth
- Affin Hwang Select Opportunty
- Eastspring Investments Equity Income
- CIMB-Principal Equity Growth & Income

But to me, if you have limited funds, better to pick a good balanced fund like:
- Affin Hwang Select Balanced
- AmConservative
This post has been edited by jutamind: Oct 18 2014, 07:13 PM
jutamind
post Oct 19 2014, 02:13 PM

2,429 posts

few questions have been lingering in my mind:

1. i understand the concept of diversification. however, looking at 5 - 10 yrs performance history, most of the Asia/GEM/Global funds under performed as compared to MY equity funds generally. this got me thinking....should i concentrate my bullets for MY equity funds and diversify within MY funds such as blue chip vs smallcap funds?

2. i already have ponzi fund....should i add another smallcap fund?
jutamind
post Oct 19 2014, 02:59 PM

2,429 posts

i think @yklooi also invested in MY funds only, if i remember correctly. so, @yklooi, why do you invest in MY funds only?

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Oct 19 2014, 02:55 PM)
1. Local fund managers are mostly jaguh kampung.
2. Local stock market is "inefficient", i.e. it's relatively easy to spot value divergence/beat the market, hence local ETFs are not popular

In US/Europe/Japan markets, by the time u think u spotted a "value stock", the market have already spotted it earlier than u and beat u to it, i.e. most if not all stocks are already fairly or even overpriced.
jutamind
post Oct 19 2014, 03:23 PM

2,429 posts

@pink spider, when you do your asset allocation, for eg 70% equity, 30% fixed income, for the 70% equity portion, do you consider only UT equity funds or both stocks holding and UT equity funds?

if your 70% equity allocation consist of stock and UT equity funds, then how do you allocate for ur UT asset allocations?

This post has been edited by jutamind: Oct 19 2014, 03:25 PM
jutamind
post Oct 25 2014, 07:49 PM

2,429 posts

I don't understand the need to offer insurance linked to a UT fund, just like pub mutual funds. To draw investors to invest?

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 25 2014, 05:28 PM)
Affin Hwang to offer insurance coverage for unit trust holders

The insurance coverage is limited to its two flagship funds: the Affin Hwang Select Opportunity Fund and Affin Hwang AIIMAN Growth Fund. Malaysian residents between the age of 18 and 64 with a minimum investment of RM10,000 in either fund is eligible for the offer.

URL: http://www.theedgemarkets.com/my/article/a...t-trust-holders
jutamind
post Nov 5 2014, 08:34 PM

2,429 posts

Aberdeen funds normally outperform others funds in bear market, while it might under perform in bull market.

no one invested in Eastspring Global Leaders fund meh? so far only see, GTF, Aberdeen and GEYF

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 5 2014, 02:52 PM)
Btw back to Aberdeen Islamic State World Equity...

If u have been reading its monthly fact sheets...

This fund doesn't change its stock holdings much, the fund manager adopts a more buy-and-hold strategy with its holdings, which it has high conviction in.

Give it time, perhaps recently Shariah-compliant stocks are underperforming. 1-yr return for the fund are still decent, u don't judge a fund by its monthly returns. icon_rolleyes.gif

Look at this chart...
jutamind
post Nov 8 2014, 04:12 PM

2,429 posts

gua ade amdynamic, AMB Income Trust and AMB Dana Arif....too many huh? wink.gif

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 8 2014, 03:30 PM)
Bukan 100 rule meh? Sejak bila sudah jadi 120? blink.gif

Dunno wor...perhaps they invested in some high risk bonds and/or did some bond trading? hmm.gif

Market is irrational.

U see US, they have been hinting at ceasing of QE for some time. But market have been purchasing Treasurys, pulling yields lower and lower...bcos they dread market meltdown perhaps?

Money has to flow somewhere. Let's say u made some wonderful profits trading local KLSE stocks, then sold all your positions. To preserve your capital, where to go? BAT yielding only 4%, office REITs u scare office oversupply, IGBREIT only yielding net 5% etc etc etc, how? U buy bonds lor.

Just my 1 sen worth of worthless opinion biggrin.gif
jutamind
post Nov 8 2014, 04:35 PM

2,429 posts

AMB Income Trust ROI 0.32% only since mid Sept
AMB Dana Arif ROI 0.65% only since end Jul.

QUOTE(Pink Spider @ Nov 8 2014, 04:29 PM)
Apa machiam the returns?
jutamind
post Dec 16 2014, 03:11 PM

2,429 posts

I think is considered klci undergoing minor corrections of -10%. Now is a good time for u to understand better of ur risk profile...if you're panicking now, I guess you need to relook into your risk profile

0.0260sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:01 AM