120 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Bottom

Fundsupermart.com v7, DIY unit trust investing

woonsc
post Oct 6 2014, 02:10 PM

Financial Padawan
2,032 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 6 2014, 02:04 PM)
Okay will read it.. thx..

Found it online tongue.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by woonsc: Oct 6 2014, 02:30 PM
techie.opinion
post Oct 6 2014, 02:53 PM

661 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Oct 4 2014, 04:51 PM)
US markets re-bounced

WTI crude below USD 90 again

Gold below USD 1200
HSi restored today as more 350 points increased as of now.
max_cavalera
post Oct 6 2014, 05:59 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

As what most fengshui expert and economist expert forevast early this year...2014 is really a highly volatile year and contains many unexpected surprises...
ntdote
post Oct 6 2014, 08:00 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 6 2014, 06:53 AM)
how long have U been investing in either?
3 to 5 years?
if yes, i'd cut loss and reinvest the $ into something else

If like...a few months..  laugh.gif
welcome newbie
a few months

yes still a newbie. mind to enlighten why?
nexona88
post Oct 6 2014, 08:26 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Oct 6 2014, 08:00 PM)
a few months

Normally for UT investment, need to keep min 2years...
wongmunkeong
post Oct 6 2014, 09:58 PM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Oct 6 2014, 08:00 PM)
a few months

Entry cost: -2%
Market down: -3% +/-
agak agak -5%+/-
You're somewhere there.

Newbie - coz only newbies expect mutual funds to go up like average CAGR.
Oldies understand there is no such thing as "average" - it can swing quite wild, which newbies may not have seen yet sweat.gif
However, in the long run, say 5 years to 10 years - CAGR should be about 7%pa to 8%pa for an "ok-lah" equity fund
guy3288
post Oct 6 2014, 10:44 PM

5,879 posts

Portfolio gains had reduced by more than RM10k due to recent drop.
Timing does matter when you buy. buy it now, you are already ahead of us some RM10k when market comes back again.

Much as i would not like to view UT like shares, they do behave the same when crash comes. on hind sight i should have sold them off when my portfolio gain was at RM12+k, and buy back now............
ntdote
post Oct 6 2014, 11:10 PM

324 posts

QUOTE(wongmunkeong @ Oct 6 2014, 09:58 PM)
Entry cost: -2%
Market down: -3% +/-
agak agak -5%+/-
You're somewhere there.

Newbie - coz only newbies expect mutual funds to go up like average CAGR.
Oldies understand there is no such thing as "average" - it can swing quite wild, which newbies may not have seen yet  sweat.gif
However, in the long run, say 5 years to 10 years - CAGR should be about 7%pa to 8%pa for an "ok-lah" equity fund
i understand market ups and downs

just feel funny that the stock has been in downtrend ever since i bought

just worried that everyone else is cutting wwhile i still blur blur staying put

so i should still hold for now i guess?
SUSMNet
post Oct 7 2014, 08:28 AM

11,954 posts

Since its DCA, how to check profit per pa % for each fund ?
wongmunkeong
post Oct 7 2014, 08:29 AM

Barista FIRE
5,608 posts

QUOTE(ntdote @ Oct 6 2014, 11:10 PM)
i understand market ups and downs

just feel funny that the stock has been in downtrend ever since i bought

just worried that everyone else is cutting wwhile i still blur blur staying put

so i should still hold for now i guess?
NTDote, i'm sorry i can't say for sure the future (thus hold or cut now).
All i can share is:
1. I've held on to Pru SmallCap, now ESI SmallCap, for umpteenth years "blurly", through
25%pa CAGR (pre 2008 kaboom)
till now 17%+pa CAGR

2. I've also monkeyed around with other mutual funds, buying/selling off for years.
Somehow, none of them matched (1.) in terms of CAGR

Thus, personally, i'd cut-loss if only 3 to 5 years consistently loss lor.
ragu91
post Oct 7 2014, 10:27 AM

336 posts

Hello everyone,

May someone please enlighten me on what is RSP and how it exactly works ? I read it on the site, but I didn't really understand about it. smile.gif
iamoracle
post Oct 7 2014, 10:46 AM

614 posts

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Oct 7 2014, 10:27 AM)
Hello everyone,

May someone please enlighten me on what is RSP and how it exactly works  ? I read it on the site, but I didn't really understand about it.  smile.gif
a.k.a DCA
polkiuj
post Oct 7 2014, 10:50 AM

337 posts

QUOTE(ragu91 @ Oct 7 2014, 10:27 AM)
Hello everyone,

May someone please enlighten me on what is RSP and how it exactly works  ? I read it on the site, but I didn't really understand about it.  smile.gif
RSP = Regular Savings Plan. Basically you set an amount to invest every month and it's automatic. It will invest for u every 15th of the month.

The benefit is that you take away human emotion while investing and u get an average of all the month's price. Also it forces U to invest.
kimyee73
post Oct 7 2014, 01:55 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 4 2014, 06:37 AM)
Hope the above links helps.... notworthy.gif
shakehead.gif BTW...just remember to "Keep Your Risks In Check"
http://www.fundsupermart.com.my/main/resea...?articleNo=2266
rclxms.gif yklooi always there to help newbie rclxms.gif
SUSyklooi
post Oct 7 2014, 01:59 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 7 2014, 01:55 PM)
rclxms.gif  yklooi always there to help newbie  rclxms.gif
blink.gif
just wanted to "ACT" clever lor....before going senile blush.gif
kimyee73
post Oct 7 2014, 02:05 PM

1,007 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Oct 6 2014, 08:26 PM)
Normally for UT investment, need to keep min 2years...
Some say min 3 years.
j.passing.by
post Oct 7 2014, 03:08 PM

1,639 posts

QUOTE(kimyee73 @ Oct 7 2014, 02:05 PM)
Some say min 3 years.
Either at least 10 years, or don't set any minimum.

At least 10 years for those who are saving/investing as they earn; DCA method with small regular amounts.
Small regular amounts... 3-5 years... still small amount... high growth on small amount is still not a lot of money.

Anything less, better not to set any minimum time period but monitor the fund closely, and take money out when it reached target volume of saving/investment.

Method told by friend in Genting...
me: I got the whole evening & night to play...
friend: If you win in the 1st 10 minutes, why waste some more time?

Just my 2 cents... tongue.gif

SUSyklooi
post Oct 7 2014, 03:45 PM

8,188 posts

One of the Three Misunderstandings Equity Investors Commonly Have About Funds
In this article, we are going to explain one of the three misunderstandings about funds commonly found among investors.
Author : Fundsupermart.com

Funds must be held for long?

Funds are mid- to long-term investment instruments relative to short-term speculation. The only difference is duration. Short-term investors profit from accurately determining the volatility of short-term market conditions and capturing the opportunity to buy and sell. In the contrary, long-term investors can afford to wait longer and not be influenced by short-term volatility. However, it does not mean investors can enter the market randomly. Some people, in fact, mistake long-term investment as long-term holding and believe they only need to buy and hold funds with outstanding track history selected from markets or sectors they favour.

Like stocks, funds require regular analysis of performance and various factors. It does not mean one has to hold a fund forever; investors can switch it with another fund whenever they deem necessary. In the event of conditions affecting a fund’s performance such as inadequate resilience, poor performance in down markets, underperforming returns in up markets and changes in management, etc., investors can consider switching the fund. Investors should also note other crucial factors contributing to mid- and long-term returns like stability, volatility and extensiveness.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=8737

nexona88
post Oct 7 2014, 05:11 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,465 posts

QUOTE(yklooi @ Oct 7 2014, 03:45 PM)
One of the Three Misunderstandings Equity Investors Commonly Have About Funds
In this article, we are going to explain one of the three misunderstandings about funds commonly found among investors.
Author : Fundsupermart.com

Funds must be held for long?

Funds are mid- to long-term investment instruments relative to short-term speculation. The only difference is duration. Short-term investors profit from accurately determining the volatility of short-term market conditions and capturing the opportunity to buy and sell. In the contrary, long-term investors can afford to wait longer and not be influenced by short-term volatility. However, it does not mean investors can enter the market randomly. Some people, in fact, mistake long-term investment as long-term holding and believe they only need to buy and hold funds with outstanding track history selected from markets or sectors they favour.

Like stocks, funds require regular analysis of performance and various factors. It does not mean one has to hold a fund forever; investors can switch it with another fund whenever they deem necessary. In the event of conditions affecting a fund’s performance such as inadequate resilience, poor performance in down markets, underperforming returns in up markets and changes in management, etc., investors can consider switching the fund. Investors should also note other crucial factors contributing to mid- and long-term returns like stability, volatility and extensiveness.

http://www.fundsupermart.com.hk/hk/main/re...?articleNo=8737
gud article to read rclxms.gif
xuzen
post Oct 7 2014, 06:18 PM

4,436 posts

I wanna "kow peh kow bu" liao... my portfolio down 1.35%.

Darn "beh song"... never seen it in negative light before.

Xuzen

120 Pages « < 33 34 35 36 37 > » Top

0.0354sec    0.62    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:11 AM