QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Oct 7 2014, 10:26 AM)
Hi, you can try AWN Detailing, or Autobacs. Both are in Desa Tebrau area.If you want a mobile detailer, PM me
Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance
Oct 8 2014, 10:09 AM
0 posts Joined: Dec 2008 |
Oct 8 2014, 10:16 AM
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 7 2014, 01:49 PM) I went over to Maximus and met up with Kevin who was very kind in offering me a free advise. He told me that the polish and waxing job was done VERY POORLY and that it totally destroyed the "clear coat" which is why the hazing and hologram effect appears. He suggested to me that a proper 4 layer polishing is required to be done as they first need to remove the first few affected layers and then after that, applied the wax. It would cost me a significant amount. He did told me to go back to the original detailers and see what they can offer. Hi, if the clear coat is totally destroyed (as claimed), there's nothing else can be done except a respray.In any event, I just went back to the detailers and they agreed to fix it for me. They also agreed that there were holograms and hazing and it is most probably due to the part where they did not clean up the wax properly or something in between was not done "cleanly". However, instead of suggesting "4 layer polishing" as the treatment, they told me that they will redo the entire "2 layer polishing" and it does not require any "4 layer polishing" because at the very beginning, the polishing was 2 layer therefore the hologram and hazing effect did not penetrate any deeper than that. Can anyone verify that for me? A two step polish, or three at the most is enough to repair the damage shown by your pictures. This post has been edited by vx55: Oct 8 2014, 10:21 AM |
Oct 9 2014, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Oct 8 2014, 09:31 PM) Apparently today when i went for the 3rd detailers' opinion, he told me that a "compounding" polishing is not required. He demonstrated it to me by using the rotary 2 times only. Once to remove the holograms and then the second time, removes the swirl lines left by the first polish and for the first time, I've seen my car back when it was ='( I really like the RM600.00 guy though cause he seems to have a lot of insights with Honda paints where else Kevin from Maximus is just your common "not too bad" detailers. If I were to make a decision, I rather employ the services of this third detailer because he is able to solve problem with minimal steps. I agree with our friends here, your paint is on the thin side and I recommend at least 80 microns for better long term durability and 'just in case' situations where you need to polish the paint again. |
Oct 11 2014, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(thom_chai @ Oct 9 2014, 11:28 AM) Cool cool, let's say if I wanted to get only ONE bigfoot, would LHR15 be a good choice? Since i got plenty of 5.5" flat and ccs now. Personally I agree with Krismas, if you are going to have a single Bigfoot machine, the LHR15 is more versatile as you can polish smaller and curvy areas like bumpers easily.Btw, some of my CCS pad also became 'curved' outward at the middle already. My flat pad still holding up pretty good. I have the LHR21, and I rather get the LHR15 instead. |
Oct 11 2014, 10:06 AM
QUOTE(scoutfai @ Oct 10 2014, 09:24 PM) New "vitamin" for my ride. First if all, that's an insane amount of Opt car wax haha! ![]() For both of these waxes, a little goes a long way. As for 476, apply sparingly and you should see a thin opaque film on the paintwork instead of a haze. I advise applying a panel, then buff it off to get the application spot on. Once you get it right, you can apply the wax to the whole car and buff it off. If it buffs off easily, then your application and paintwork preparation is spot on |
Oct 11 2014, 10:12 AM
QUOTE(Eng_Tat @ Oct 11 2014, 12:56 AM) Hi, I know two places.One is a shop next to Nissan showroom in Smart Auto, Larkin. They should have Meguiar's products. Another is in Kempas, http://www.uyeemarketing.com . They sell Lake Country pads. |
Nov 15 2014, 10:53 AM
Nov 16 2014, 01:30 PM
Nov 16 2014, 01:47 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Nov 15 2014, 10:26 PM) Ok, just received another clarification.... It is in RM, not $. The Autoglym Wax is in paste form, the cleanser for it is in liquid form.BTW, what is the longest wax durability that you have experienced? Mine spray wax 3 weeks, paste wax never check. I think Autoglym HD Wax is in liquid form, this one I lagi dunno... but checking with the promoter. Collinite 476/885 lasts pretty long for me, a layer of it should be able to last at least 2-3 months in the Klang Valley. Btw, HD Wax can be quite durable too (slightly less than Collinite) but has a wetter and sharper look to it. Both waxes will bead water well |
Nov 16 2014, 01:50 PM
QUOTE(chew3344 @ Nov 15 2014, 10:48 PM) Hi sifus so i have been trying soft99 meta clean for some time and i realise the car wax have really really bad durability The product you have is actually a good paint cleaner, but will definitely need to top it up with proper wax.I am not sure if sealants can bond properly over Meta Clean though, so have to experiment. Also, please clay the paintwork |
Nov 16 2014, 01:54 PM
Nov 17 2014, 12:30 PM
QUOTE(MyWifeCar @ Nov 16 2014, 02:51 PM) Mr. W, you are here. Haha yup, been stalking mostly Thanks for the input, the promoter couldn't tell me of the durability. But to be honest, for that price, wouldn't a semi-permanent coating a clear better option? The durability definitely outlast, isn't it? Yes, durability of the wax won't match semi-permanent but waxes tend to be more forgiving during application. Before I forget, good quality coatings are more resistant to strong chemicals like acidic and alkaline cleaners. I use them sometimes to get rid of stubborn contaminants stucked to the coating. |
Nov 17 2014, 12:32 PM
Jan 21 2015, 10:08 AM
Jan 21 2015, 10:19 AM
QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jan 21 2015, 09:36 AM) 9H (or whatever number) is an abused marketing term in the world of coatings regarding hardness.There's a huge difference hardness between pencil test 9H and Mohs Scale 9H, but most marketing people don't know the difference hence they confuse (and probably con) potential customers. If you prefer to coat yourself, I recommend using 22PLE or Dodojuice Infinity Sealant as mentioned by Krismas. Both products are easy to use and deliver very good results. By the way, just make sure your paint surface preparation is good before putting on a coating to maximize durability and looks |
Jan 21 2015, 10:40 PM
QUOTE(amdhunter @ Jan 21 2015, 11:22 AM) Sorry for my late reply and it seems to be a problem replying to a thread using a smartphone :/Krismas has covered most of the details regarding 22PLE and Dodojuice. I'll PM you regarding details of 22PLE. |
Jan 21 2015, 10:43 PM
Jan 23 2015, 10:15 AM