Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

aeiou228
post May 5 2015, 11:03 AM

5,867 posts

http://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a230r....bucket=7#detail
scoutfai Bro, I found this China made DA polisher for RM310 Shipped.
Apart from its form factor and shape, is there any difference with your DA in terms of features ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 5 2015, 11:03 AM
aeiou228
post May 13 2015, 11:21 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(scoutfai @ May 6 2015, 08:02 AM)
Very cheap indeed.
The difference is huge:

1) Input Wattage: Mine 880W, the one shown is 600W.

2) Throw distance: Mine 21mm, the one shown I believe is 8mm (it is not state in the web). (so mine is large throw machine like the Rupes Bigfoot LHR21, whereas the one you show is traditional DA).

3) ergonomics: Mine is try to mimic the rotary design (it is a Rupes + Flex combine), so it is longer in length. Your is shorter. No verdict here because ergonomics is personal preference.

4) Backing plate attachment menthod: Mine uses allen key with a spline feature on the backing plate head, so I do not need to use a wrench. Yours need to use a wrench to hold on the bearing nut otherwise it will never get tighten, wrench is usually come together with the package.

5) Backing plate choice: As mentioned above, I will be restricted to use the backing plate with the spline feature, so I basically can only use the two backing plates shown in my post only. I will have to buy from Maxshine for a replacement. Although I am curious also whether Rupes backing plate will fit on my machine. Yours is like universal, any common traditional DA backing plate choice can be used. So you will have less problem when come to re-stock.

Basically it is two different category of DA machine. Mine is large throw, the one shown by you is traditional DA.
I have one traditional DA myself too. Both have a place in my work, none replace the other.

The only thing I am concern with your machine is:

1) You do not have a chance to test it yourself. So you will never know the quality until it is shipped which by that time might be too late. Taobao electrical items always got risk, TianMao will be more reliable. Try search for same product from TianMao instead. Both Taobao and TianMao, like Aliexpress, all belong to Alibaba, same China man boss. Provided you have friend in China who can test for you upon receive the item, then the risk is lower because there is a policy of return given by Taobao. You can still do the return even when you are in Malaysia but the courier cost might not justify the action.

2) Because you didn't test it yourself or hear no other user feedback on forum before, you never know whether the motor will bog down under pressure or not. Forum member here who purchased China made rotary before experience this problem on certain cheap model. If it does bog down under pressure then it is pretty much useless. But again you will never know until you test it yourself or hear from previous user.

3) It is really cheap, too cheap to be good to trust but I cannot assert it is a bad product. The reason I say it is hard to believe because there is another identical machine carried by Aikka Malaysia:
Aikka DA Polisher
but it is selling at RM600+. Almost twice the price. Well we never know whether it is due to Aikka trying to make a huge profit margin or it is indeed two different grade of quality. I will suggest you email Aikka, find out which branch has a ready stock, go there and try it out yourself.

That is all I can feedback to you at the moment from the info you provide. I wish you find your machine soon.
Thank you sir, very detailed and articulated explanation. notworthy.gif
Hoping to see the user experience review of your new DA.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 13 2015, 11:21 AM
aeiou228
post May 18 2015, 06:11 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 18 2015, 04:40 PM)
Out of my league and out of my budget.  shocking.gif

Waiting reply from dodo juice Malaysia. Seems like buff daddy got good reviews. If it's cheaper than ultramate, can consider. Else fall back to random orbital.

g88 has a point. if mainly for applying i might not even use often. weekly top up will do. Me just enthusiast, clean my car weekly only.
I'm in a same situation, contemplating to buy a machine due to sore fingers during waxing. But after I bumped into this RM10.90 Tesco applicator pad with palm handle, Waxing is so much easier and painless now. The palm handle has a Velcro backing plate that holds any pad, sponge and micro fibre tower firmly. Maintaining 3 cars at the moment and I think I will abort the idea of buying a DA polisher.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 18 2015, 06:16 PM
aeiou228
post May 19 2015, 12:19 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ May 18 2015, 06:38 PM)
is the applicator pad purchasable? and what size is this?

10.90. Good deal la! How's this on light polishing?
QUOTE(Gabarn @ May 18 2015, 07:28 PM)
Looks good, mind sharing which Tesco bro ?
I bought it at Tesco Puchong. I think all Outlets has it because it is a house brand product.
I was only interested with the palm holder with velcro backing plate. It can hold my Turtle Wax Ice premium paste wax applicator ( small round sponge ) very well. Car waxing was in a breeze with this wonderful palm holder. With the holder you are using the strength of your palm instead of the strength of your fingers. So no more fatigue fingers.

Any pad can be used with this holder, not a must to buy from Tesco. I buffed the wax with my used micro fiber tower wrap around the buffing pad ( don't want to dirty the new pad yet) and the velcro can grip the tower firmly while buffing back and forth.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 19 2015, 12:20 AM
aeiou228
post May 20 2015, 07:24 PM

5,867 posts

My 12pcs wax applicator pads just arrived. Can use it with Tesco Palm holder.
aeiou228
post May 20 2015, 10:51 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(roxx @ May 20 2015, 08:41 PM)
U must be hardcore detailer..

Where do u bought that 12pcs wax applicator?
Lazada sales, RM1 per piece. Cheap cheap. Free delivery with my other purchases. I think less than RM1 per piece because of xtra RM30 discount code on the total amount.
At least i wouldn't repetitively use a same pad which has accumulated fine sand dust on the pad's surface.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: May 20 2015, 10:58 PM
aeiou228
post May 20 2015, 11:54 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(g88 @ May 20 2015, 11:39 PM)
The pad look rough and thin....website selling alike pad @ less than USD2 for 12 pieces smile.gif
Small little purchase, just buy local la. Free delivery some more.
aeiou228
post May 21 2015, 03:56 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(wiind @ May 21 2015, 09:33 AM)
Hi guys, wanna get your opinion. I live in an apartment where my parking is under a tree, so getting tree sap on my (white) car is like a daily thing to me.As I can't park somewhere else or chop off the tree, prevention is pretty much impossible.

What I do like to find out is, if there is any way that could make cleaning them off easier or faster. I wash my car weekly and I get really exhausted having to use a lot of elbow grease to 'push' away those tree sap. I was thinking about coating but I'm not sure if it would be really helpful.

Please share your thought, any tips or tricks would be much appreciated.
The cheapest and immediate solution for you is to apply 2 layers of premium synthetic paste wax. Apply second layer 24hrs after the first layer. There after just maintain it once a month with spray wax. With the wax coating, at least can offer some degree of bearier to the tree sap and washing away the sap would be easier.
Another option is to vinyl wrap your car hood, top and boot. I have excess of slightly more then 1m x 1.5m width of transparent vinyl car wrap, can let go to you if you r interested.
aeiou228
post May 31 2015, 03:53 PM

5,867 posts

Thanks for sharing, scoutfai.
aeiou228
post Jun 8 2015, 02:35 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(yim1981 @ Jun 7 2015, 03:39 PM)
Hi, all master sifu. My car white in color, what good wax and last longer? I used merguair White wax before, not last long and now going finish. Plan to buy new one. Any suggest?

Merguair Ultimate, Tech 2.0 good?
For long lasting water beading, my experience with Turtle Wax ICE paste wax was pretty good. Already more than a month since first applying it, water repellency is still as good.
You can watch more Meguiar's vs Turtle Wax comparison test videos by Waxmode in YouTube.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Jun 8 2015, 02:36 PM
aeiou228
post Jun 16 2015, 09:42 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(zzzzzzzzzzzy @ Jun 16 2015, 06:36 PM)
Do you clay the surface before applying ICE paste wax? Thinking of getting this too, but not sure about the steps.
Yes I did and you should too.
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2015, 02:08 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(zzzzzzzzzzzy @ Jun 18 2015, 11:02 AM)
What product are you using? Please share, thanks!  smile.gif
PG Perma Glass Quick Shine Detailer Set. (Clay bar+ Lubricant)
http://www.lazada.com.my/pg-perma-glass-qu...et-1429608.html
Homepro selling RM42.

Turtle Wax Premium Care ICE Paste Polish Wax TI-465R (227g)

Planning to buy SONAX Xtreme Brilliant Shine Detailer 750ml for maintenance and lasting shine.

aeiou228
post Jun 18 2015, 03:13 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Jun 18 2015, 02:18 PM)
wah the PG detailer set so cheap!

I usually use the 3m, use and throw. LOL....

How's turtle wax ice wax in your opinion?
Couldn't able to get my collinite 476, even singapore's mad detailer no stock...google google,
torn in between turtle was ice sealant and wolf gang sealant 3.0
Ya, very good deal rather than buying those low price fake"3M" claybar.

I find Turtle Wax Ice series paste wax quite durable. Water beading and repellency is very good.
I think there is a Raya promotion going on at Eneos Autobacs Car Centre for selected Turtle wax products.
aeiou228
post Jun 18 2015, 05:58 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Jun 18 2015, 05:34 PM)
Ok as the answer u give me can you list the product brand and name for me and Ya may I know the sequent after wash the car which product should I apply first ? Thanks
1) Shampoo
2) Clay
3) Polish (if necessary)
4) Wax or sealer
5) second layer wax or sealer
6) Spray wax or detailer for regular maintenance there after.
aeiou228
post Jun 19 2015, 12:27 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(stevenng97 @ Jun 18 2015, 06:53 PM)
Hi bro can u list for me the brand name cause I see meguiars a lot don't know which one :-( can skip the polish part
Already mentioned at post 1570 above.

QUOTE(alwinnng @ Jun 18 2015, 11:37 PM)
Which means?

2014 car..

Polishing will prevent this?
My friend told me there are fake soft99 wax in the market. Smell like kerosene. Where did you buy the soft99?
aeiou228
post Jun 19 2015, 12:33 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(zzzzzzzzzzzy @ Jun 19 2015, 12:27 AM)
Bro thanks for the input! Will go do some shopping this weekend!  laugh.gif
The top 2 items buy from lazada cheaper. Using the app to buy can get RM30 off or look for lazada 10% to 15% discount code.
aeiou228
post Jun 24 2015, 10:56 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(shaniandras2787 @ Jun 24 2015, 09:34 AM)
I noticed that my car recently developed a rough surface on the bottom half of each door panels. Its texture like fine sand, tried to apply a bit more pressure on them but they don't seem to come off.

What are those? They are not present on the other parts of my car, just exclusively on the bottom half of the door panels.
Those are accumulation of contaminants from the splash of ground water. Can be removed by clay bar.
aeiou228
post Jul 21 2015, 11:13 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(sparcov @ Jul 21 2015, 04:41 PM)
Anyone know the best way to protect and restore plastic bumper trim, i occidentally scratch my hrv back bumper. Using polisher to do it, now got patches white mark
Use heat gun to blow the affected area.
aeiou228
post Jul 22 2015, 02:01 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(sparcov @ Jul 22 2015, 10:48 AM)
Will the patches become more visible if blow hot air?
Scratches will be less prominent.
I don't know what type of patches you are talking about. Picture speaks a thousand words.
aeiou228
post Sep 6 2015, 11:10 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Sep 5 2015, 06:06 PM)
hmm.. any good recommendation on such products?  hopefully not too expensive one...
i'm looking at Meg's Headlight Protectant which cost RM 47..  anyone used that before? review?
I saw a video some where, after polished, spray a layer of clear coat to protect the plastic. Clear coat in a ready to use aerosol spray can.

0.0669sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:56 PM