Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance
Bendan[520]
Jan 13 2016, 04:43 PM
Sifus, im new to car detailing or more like just want my car sparkling clean..
Given that I own a silver paint car.. quite old, have water marks and little bit of swirls..
I just want to make it clean and shiny and looks less dull/old.. doesnt matter or not water spots can be completely removed, just wanna make it less obvious and clean looking + shine !
So which product should I use? Wash & wax, clay? normal shampoo? Any recommendations?
Oh btw, Im poor. so any cheap products that can do the job?
thanks sifus.
Bendan[520]
Jan 13 2016, 06:56 PM
QUOTE(KrisMas @ Jan 13 2016, 05:18 PM) 1 bar of Soft99 clay bar (RM20), 1 bottle of car wash shampoo (RM10), Soft99 Meta Clean (RM39), a couple of applicator pad (RM10) and a also couple of microfibre cloth (RM15) (quoting prices from Lazada)....can't think of anything cheaper that I would dare to recommend....  Hmm... Maybe a budget around RM200? What can I get from it? Just want my car to be clean and glossy
Bendan[520]
Jan 17 2016, 12:03 AM
Sifus,
I just started washing my car seriously today with two bucket system..
I bought PG's polymer wash & wax and PG polymer sealant and microfibre cloth for RM35..
Use both products and found my car cleaner and shines... but somehow waterspots can't be removed.. feel like its not enough =/
Should I also buy the PG shine detailer and a clay? before I go into waxing?
Bendan[520]
Jan 19 2016, 05:08 PM
Guys,
If I apply sealant after washing my car..
Can I apply carnuba wax? (Turtle wax) When does the detailer should be applied?
Post wash? pre sealant?
Bendan[520]
Jan 20 2016, 10:50 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 19 2016, 05:22 PM) Yes for sealant and wax. What detailer are you refer to ? quick detailer.. the spray one.. wash > clay + detailer > Sealant > wax?
Bendan[520]
Jan 21 2016, 09:58 AM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 09:51 AM) what product do u have now ? I previously washed my car without claying and detailer.. straight skip to sealant , but somehow I find it not glossy/clean enough.. Should I just wash > clay + detailer straight? Or if I clay, im just claying the sealant layer? if so, how to remove the sealant layer?
Bendan[520]
Jan 21 2016, 10:04 AM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:03 AM) what product are u using or have now ? can list them out ? PG Perma glass wash & wax PG Quick shine detailer kit PG no.2 clay PG polymer sealant Turtle wax super hard shell wax Sorry, not that im a PG fan boy, Im just poor
Bendan[520]
Jan 21 2016, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 10:40 AM) your list is SUFFICIENT. Since you named yourself poor so DON'T buy anything else until you FINISH existing stuff. What colour is your car, age, surface condition ? Any pic to show as well ? 1. PG Perma glass wash & wax 2. PG Quick shine detailer kit + PG no.2 clay 3. PG polymer sealant (or with wax) or both... its a 2008 silver metallic nissan sentra.. With some black scratches and some yellow paint scratches as it grind through a yellow wall before loads of stubborn watermarks. can't upload the pic right now as im working. will upload it when im home..
Bendan[520]
Jan 21 2016, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 21 2016, 01:38 PM) your current product is sufficient, i think the improvement on your paintwork is depend on your skill and technique... Im new to this, it was my first sealant the other day. I know the two bucket methods thou.. Can you elaborate how to improve my skills or which is the right way to polish or wax..
Bendan[520]
Jan 24 2016, 01:32 PM
Guys.. How do you wash your micro fiber cloth after using to buff sealant/wax off? I tried using soap but it was still oily.
Bendan[520]
Jan 26 2016, 09:26 AM
QUOTE(g88 @ Jan 26 2016, 09:14 AM) Turtle polishing compound is a paint-killer + swirl generator. So what are the alternatives to have maybe a light swirl remover without costing a bomb by purchasing megs swirlx