Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

douglas_tong
post Feb 28 2016, 05:37 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Feb 28 2016, 05:01 PM)
Sorry guys for interrupting. Today I just bought my car some product. I had the normal car shampoo and a P&G wonder clay (medium) version. Now my problem is I don't know what kind of material I need to wash my car. The microfiber at the auto section is quite expensive. Do normal microfiber work for washing the car. Do tesco had any of this material that is cheaper compare to those that are meant for auto use.
Use car wash shampoo, pg brand should do.
Tesco sells wash mitt, if I'm not wrong its going around 11.90?

douglas_tong
post Feb 28 2016, 05:39 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

Bought degreaser and had it diluted at 1:10 rate.

Thought it is safe for aloi and clear coat since it is claimed as so , but turns out my rim had its clear coat stripped. Anyone encounter this before? It's frustrating.

=.=
dwRK
post Feb 28 2016, 06:01 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 28 2016, 05:39 PM)
Bought degreaser and had it diluted at 1:10 rate.

Thought it is safe for aloi and clear coat since it is claimed as so , but turns out my rim had its clear coat stripped. Anyone encounter this before? It's frustrating.

=.=
are you sure?...i don't expect it would...even paint remover gotta use full strength...post a picture pls...

perhaps it removed all the polish, wax, oil, etc...and you are seeing the marring of the clear coat...let it dry, polish it and it will be good as new...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 28 2016, 06:03 PM
douglas_tong
post Feb 28 2016, 06:14 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 28 2016, 06:01 PM)
are you sure?...i don't expect it would...even paint remover gotta use full strength...post a picture pls...

perhaps it removed all the polish, wax, oil, etc...and you are seeing the marring of the clear coat...let it dry, polish it and it will be good as new...
I don't coat my rims with anything so perhaps I could be wrong. I wash it weekly with car shampoo and had no problem.

Stopped at the first wheel, takut Liao
These are cleaned with normal car shampoo

The difference in plain sight is very noticeable from afa . Camera might not do just. Can you spot the haziness of the first 2 pictures?

This post has been edited by douglas_tong: Feb 28 2016, 06:15 PM
dwRK
post Feb 28 2016, 09:37 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 28 2016, 06:14 PM)
I don't coat my rims with anything so perhaps I could be wrong.  I wash it weekly with car shampoo and had no problem.

yup...did you try a cleaner wax on it? try a small spot first for a confidence boost...believe it should clear up after buffing...

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 28 2016, 09:40 PM
linkin182
post Feb 29 2016, 11:22 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 27 2016, 06:13 PM)
3 weeks ago...meta-clean polish
2 weeks ago...water-block polish, this has fusso stuff
1 week ago...QD
Every week wash twice
Today...QD & rain-hop wax

MF from today's QD...one quadrant not used for comparison...daily drive park indoors...[attachmentid=6071618]

Why 1 year wax not really important in reality
Wah sifu, where you find the time!
haha nice one.
dwRK
post Feb 29 2016, 01:50 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(linkin182 @ Feb 29 2016, 11:22 AM)
Wah sifu, where you find the time!
haha nice one.
Suffering from a new form of OCD...Over Cleaning & Detailing ...no cure for the foreseeable future.... laugh.gif

I'm no sifu...that you need to find bro krismas, slk, g88, fishy, et al

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 29 2016, 01:56 PM
douglas_tong
post Feb 29 2016, 02:01 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 28 2016, 09:37 PM)
yup...did you try a cleaner wax on it? try a small spot first for a confidence boost...believe it should clear up after buffing...
hmm i do not have any cleaner wax. Usually I would just take the extra steps in polishing with a jewel polish (meguiars ultimate polish), wipe down with IPA and apply sealant.

Or would any LSP do? I shall soon have an AIO product in my arsenal : carpro essence.
or do you have any recommendations?
dwRK
post Feb 29 2016, 04:54 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 29 2016, 02:01 PM)
hmm i do not have any cleaner wax. Usually I would just take the extra steps in polishing with a jewel polish (meguiars ultimate polish), wipe down with IPA and apply sealant.

Or would any LSP do? I shall soon have an AIO product in my arsenal : carpro essence.
or do you have any recommendations?
well...use your meguiars...as long as it has chemical and mechanical cleaners should do...

do not use lsp

This post has been edited by dwRK: Feb 29 2016, 04:54 PM
douglas_tong
post Feb 29 2016, 04:56 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Feb 29 2016, 04:54 PM)
well...use your meguiars...as long as it has chemical and mechanical cleaners should do...

do not use lsp
ok shall give it a try perhaps tonight if i finish work early.
though i'm quite skeptical about the polishing part since u.polish is rather weak.

Edlois
post Feb 29 2016, 05:05 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(douglas_tong @ Feb 28 2016, 05:37 PM)
Use car wash shampoo, pg brand should do.
Tesco sells wash mitt, if I'm not wrong its going around 11.90?
ya i just went to tesco and found a auto 3 pack microfiber only rm10.90. and the wash mist was at 11.90 (MF version)
. But is there a different with a wash mist and a MF cloth? because i was not comfortable using the wash mist, it felt un easy and i prefer the way i use MF to wash the car. i can wash, fold and refold again and also twist the cloths.

what is the best way to wash a car. BTW i found it hard to find the detailer spray, i used the shampoo foam to lubricated when i clay bar the car. Thanks for the advice ya...
douglas_tong
post Feb 29 2016, 05:56 PM

MaddDougg
1,719 posts

QUOTE(Edlois @ Feb 29 2016, 05:05 PM)
ya i just went to tesco and found a auto 3 pack microfiber only rm10.90. and the wash mist was at 11.90 (MF version)
. But is there a different with a wash mist and a MF cloth? because i was not comfortable using the wash mist, it felt un easy and i prefer the way i use MF to wash the car. i can wash, fold and refold again and also twist the cloths.

what is the best way to wash a car. BTW i found it hard to find the detailer spray, i used the shampoo foam to lubricated when i clay bar the car. Thanks for the advice ya...
Better to use mitt...

It is designed to pick up and dislodge dirts. Microfiber towers would not loose those dirts as easy as mitt and in return would cost unwanted swirls if not careful. I would stick with mitts
Cw3677
post Feb 29 2016, 08:45 PM

19 posts

Can anyone share the effectiveness of Proguard Ceramic Unicoat?
hustlerism
post Mar 2 2016, 05:28 PM

Devil In Disguise
1,641 posts

any products for cleaning car window trim (rubber) due to mold?
bo093
post Mar 2 2016, 08:07 PM

1,185 posts

Anyone here use PG clay before?
Is there much difference with the no.1, no.2 and no.3 clay?
ReVolVolution
post Mar 2 2016, 09:54 PM

311 posts

Ok... Been lurking around car care and detailing forum for a while. Am not new to detailing but I've never commented here. Most of my comments were on autoworld which I think now is inactive.

Anyway, long story short, got a new car recently - pearl white. Yes, it is pretty hard to maintain as I've owned a pearl white before with the same brand.

Previously did pps which am not too amaze. Just that the 'investment' were of acceptable level for me that time (I think it was rm700+) but when I asked for a quote now, it's rm1200+!

Anyway, didn't want to spend that sort of money, thus invested in the new Meguiars coating m18802. Had some free time last weekend and did a complete coating on the new car.

Tried to keep the car from rain but only manage to do it for 2 days sad.gif

Anyhow, I only wiped dry the car (with fresh shower of water) after the rain and after 5 days, I must say I'm pretty impress with the Meguiars coating! Still looked like it's fresh coating and dust hardly stick to it. Of course am comparing with previous 'coating' like M16, DG 105, even cleaner wax like Mother's etc.

Well, might be too early to say but am quite satisfied so far...

Will update from time to time.
dwRK
post Mar 2 2016, 11:58 PM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(ReVolVolution @ Mar 2 2016, 09:54 PM)
Ok... Been lurking around car care and detailing forum for a while. Am not new to detailing but I've never commented here. Most of my comments were on autoworld which I think now is inactive.

Anyway, long story short, got a new car recently - pearl white. Yes, it is pretty hard to maintain as I've owned a pearl white before with the same brand.

Previously did pps which am not too amaze. Just that the 'investment' were of acceptable level for me that time (I think it was rm700+) but when I asked for a quote now, it's rm1200+!

Anyway, didn't want to spend that sort of money, thus invested in the new Meguiars coating m18802. Had some free time last weekend and did a complete coating on the new car.

Tried to keep the car from rain but only manage to do it for 2 days sad.gif

Anyhow, I only wiped dry the car (with fresh shower of water) after the rain and after 5 days, I must say I'm pretty impress with the Meguiars coating! Still looked like it's fresh coating and dust hardly stick to it. Of course am comparing with previous 'coating' like M16, DG 105, even cleaner wax like Mother's etc.

Well, might be too early to say but am quite satisfied so far...

Will update from time to time.
Hi. I'm getting a white too...Ya they need more tlc...

Haven't decided what to do yet...coat or wax...BTW where did you get the m188 and how much is it? Thanks.
linkin182
post Mar 3 2016, 07:03 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Mar 2 2016, 11:58 PM)
Hi. I'm getting a white too...Ya they need more tlc...

Haven't decided what to do yet...coat or wax...BTW where did you get the m188 and how much is it? Thanks.
smile.gif You can contact fellow forumer here:-
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3014222/all

or you can get it off ebay:-
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Meguiars-Deep-Crys...2-/331060748726
TSKrisMas
post Mar 3 2016, 08:39 AM

Thanks for the share. Keep us updated on the durability & performance. I wasn't that impressed with M188 (well...comparing with the other coatings that I've tried) but I might had erred on the applications....

Oh...just my personal opinion...if the price you got is anything like the one on ebay linked by linkin182, I think you can get better coatings.... sweat.gif sweat.gif

ReVolVolution
post Mar 3 2016, 09:19 AM

311 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Mar 3 2016, 08:39 AM)

Thanks for the share. Keep us updated on the durability & performance. I wasn't that impressed with M188 (well...comparing with the other coatings that I've tried) but I might had erred on the applications....

Oh...just my personal opinion...if the price you got is anything like the one on ebay linked by linkin182, I think you can get better coatings.... sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Hi bro,

Yeah, got it from a forumer here. Got better coating within that particular price range? Must have missed it. Anyway, been using meguire's for quite a while. Thus, was looking into their coating. Appreciate if you could share some recommendable coatings.

138 Pages « < 134 135 136 137 138 >Top

0.0329sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:18 PM