138 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Bottom

Car Care and Detailing [V4], Caring for your car apprearance

eprince
post Dec 29 2015, 01:29 AM

260 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 28 2015, 06:10 PM)
If I recommended that you use top-of-the-line RM200 products to do the job, would you be more convinced? Hehe...

I've got a restoration project myself when I find the time in January. 5-year old black SUV, original paintjob with the complimentary cuci kereta swirls and a nasty scratch that drags across an entire door. I'll be armed with that cheap RM20 TW polishing compound, a cheap TW Color Cure Plus Black thingie, a second-hand adjustable speed rotary buffer that I got for RM100... and I'm trying to find that TW Platinum Ultra Gloss sealant and a 2000-grit sandpaper.

A complete outer respray paintjob would set me back RM2500, let's see if I can rejuvenate the paint this way and save myself RM2200.

If an idiot like me can do it, I'm sure you can too.
I am thinking almost same way with you, just i plan to start by hand cause bo machine... cry.gif

May I know TW polishing compound consider is least abrasive product? and did i need for another round fine polishing after this polishing compound?
And after that use spray wax or sealant will do?

thanks.
ZZR-Pilot
post Dec 29 2015, 02:13 AM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Dec 29 2015, 05:29 AM)
I am thinking almost same way with you, just i plan to start by hand cause bo machine... cry.gif

May I know TW polishing compound consider is least abrasive product? and did i need for another round fine polishing after this polishing compound?
And after that use spray wax or sealant will do?

thanks.
Compared to the TW Rubbing Compound, the TW Polishing Compound is already less aggressive. After a couple of passes & buffing off, I think it should be ready for TW Color Cure Plus. Two coats of that, then the polymer sealant goes on to seal the deal. Job done.

The hard work is in the polishing stage where you remove swirls, scratches & dullness by cutting down a thin layer of the paint's clearcoat... without adding fresh damage from hamfisted use of the buffing machine.

If the paintwork is badly weathered or in a really lousy condition, then u use something more abrasive to cut out the imperfections faster, like that rubbing compound or a cutting compound. Otherwise you won't need it.

The only use of spray wax at this point is to moisten the pad on the rotary buffer at the beginning to avoid running a dry pad on the paintwork. It's otherwise not needed.

This post has been edited by ZZR-Pilot: Dec 29 2015, 02:25 AM
ivanongics
post Dec 29 2015, 09:06 AM

QUOTE(busta_dude @ Dec 28 2015, 07:53 PM)
Planning to so call detailed my soon to be 3 months old car on CNY holiday. Plan to protect with Collinite 476s and add another layer of this Fusso Coat at the end of the holiday. I choose this 2 product is because of the durability as when come back to Klang Valley have no choice, need park in open space parking n only able to do No Rinse wash as live in low cost apartment without proper car wash bay. The high hydrophobic properties of this Fusso Coat hopefully will protect my car until the next 4 month(will do proper washing in long Raya holiday) and another 2 layer of this product.
Hi bro, mind to share where you able to buy 476 ?? Been searching high n low for this wax.
busta_dude
post Dec 29 2015, 09:50 AM

302 posts

Guys,

Do we have any whatsapp, wechat group? Easier to get instant advise regarding Detailing issues. I'm newbie, so much still need to learn from sifus.
chew3344
post Dec 29 2015, 11:01 AM

282 posts

QUOTE(ivanongics @ Dec 29 2015, 10:06 AM)
Hi bro, mind to share where you able to buy 476 ?? Been searching high n low for this wax.
in garage sales got seller biggrin.gif Waregem biggrin.gif
windskill
post Dec 29 2015, 11:31 AM

49 posts

Anyone knows where to get DeWalt DWP849x in Malaysia?
slk
post Dec 29 2015, 03:11 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(windskill @ Dec 29 2015, 11:31 AM)
quite heavy lah compared to Makita.

Makita can buy from Osren. DeWalt can check with KrisMas
windskill
post Dec 29 2015, 03:14 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(slk @ Dec 29 2015, 03:11 PM)
quite heavy lah compared to Makita.

Makita can buy from Osren. DeWalt can check with KrisMas
I thought DeWalt DWP849x has almost the same weight compared to Makita 9227c? 6.7lbs vs 6.6lbs.
slk
post Dec 29 2015, 03:16 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Dec 29 2015, 12:26 AM)
how much? i wondering to buy this or turtle wax car shampoo and wax

thanks for the info..haha i clean it every 2 week, but now 3rd week... no time
Sonax Malaysia is currently offering discount on selected products. Give them a visit at USJ

https://www.facebook.com/SonaxMalaysia/?fref=ts
slk
post Dec 29 2015, 03:22 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(oh-so-wow @ Dec 28 2015, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys,

I have a solid white 2012 car that has been abused by the dirty air in Kuala Lumpur. Whenever I sent the car to a cheapo RM20 chemical wash at any gas station car wash, I can feel the surface of the paint is getting harsher (like it is thinning or something). I have paid for an RM150 wax and polish session but the whiteness will only last for 3 weeks tops, eventhough the shop said it will last for 3 months at least.

Please recommend how to recover the original white lustre of the car paint.

normally they will spray degreaser to ensure white paint is white... if not customer will complain why isnt is clean.

Give it a good detail (polish/compound (if necessary)) then apply wax/sealant. Then weekly proper wash is required. If possible wax every week... can make do with Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Wax... spray... wipe.... walk away
slk
post Dec 29 2015, 03:23 PM

326 posts

QUOTE(oh-so-wow @ Dec 28 2015, 04:11 PM)
Hi guys,

I have a solid white 2012 car that has been abused by the dirty air in Kuala Lumpur. Whenever I sent the car to a cheapo RM20 chemical wash at any gas station car wash, I can feel the surface of the paint is getting harsher (like it is thinning or something). I have paid for an RM150 wax and polish session but the whiteness will only last for 3 weeks tops, eventhough the shop said it will last for 3 months at least.

Please recommend how to recover the original white lustre of the car paint.

normally they will spray degreaser to ensure white paint is white... if not customer will complain why isnt is clean.

Give it a good detail (polish/compound (if necessary)) then apply wax/sealant. Then weekly proper wash is required. If possible wax every week... can make do with Meguiar's Ultimate Quik Wax... spray... wipe.... walk away
eprince
post Dec 29 2015, 04:51 PM

260 posts

QUOTE(ZZR-Pilot @ Dec 29 2015, 02:13 AM)
Compared to the TW Rubbing Compound, the TW Polishing Compound is already less aggressive. After a couple of passes & buffing off, I think it should be ready for TW Color Cure Plus. Two coats of that, then the polymer sealant goes on to seal the deal. Job done.

The hard work is in the polishing stage where you remove swirls, scratches & dullness by cutting down a thin layer of the paint's clearcoat... without adding fresh damage from hamfisted use of the buffing machine.

If the paintwork is badly weathered or in a really lousy condition, then u use something more abrasive to cut out the imperfections faster, like that rubbing compound or a cutting compound. Otherwise you won't need it.

The only use of spray wax at this point is to moisten the pad on the rotary buffer at the beginning to avoid running a dry pad on the paintwork. It's otherwise not needed.
Could I apply TW polishing compound with Tesco brand applicator by hand? instead of machine?

TW color cure cure plus is some kind of finishing polishing or wax?
bryan2jzgte
post Dec 29 2015, 05:00 PM

34 posts

Hi guys.

I have a 2 weeks old Myvi Glittering Silver. Honestly, I have no knowledge on car care/detailing therefore I hope some sifus/otais here can help me out. I used to drive a '96 Wira Jade Green and the way I wash it? Sponge and car wash liquid from Giant rclxm9.gif and I use the same sponge for the whole car until it koyak into million pieces.

I wanna treat my Myvi different haha. So far I only washed it once with some Magic 101 liquid and some cheap micro-fibre cloths from Mr. DIY topped with some Getf1 tyre wax. Initially my plan was to go for a deal from 11Street that offers Ion coating, 9H glass coating etc.. for RM500 at 88 Auto Spa. But after reading a few forums about all these cheap deals for car detailing, I think I better not take up those deals to avoid getting scratches on my car or kena 'con' by them, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

Btw here are some question(sssss)
1. Must we dispose the micro-fibre cloths every time after wash? I remember reading somewhere saying that dirt/sand/small stone will get stuck in the cloth and it WILL cause scratched and swirl marks on your car.
2. Does the wash liquid really matter? Whats the difference between Giant branded liquid and those branded ones? If yes, please recommend me something GOOD ENOUGH but not too pricey.
3. Im planning to apply water repellent on all my windows, F & R windscreen. Do I have to remove the water marks before I do so? If yes, how should I do it and what products to use for the water repellent, water mark remover, cloth & etc.
4. Wax. To me its like a whole new world to me. Its like when I just started to discover *ahem ahem* rclxms.gif Turtle wax? Soft99? Megs?

Sila maafkan saya abang2 sekalian. Hope some of you have the mood to read a long message hehe.

Cheers LYN.

Best Regards,
Bryan
ZZR-Pilot
post Dec 29 2015, 05:38 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(eprince @ Dec 29 2015, 08:51 PM)
Could I apply TW polishing compound with Tesco brand applicator by hand? instead of machine?

TW color cure cure plus is some kind of finishing polishing or wax?
Sure you can. It just takes a bit of muscle, that's all.

It's a good workout for you young folks, me I'm an ageing uncle I'd rather use a machine. The other advantage of doing it by hand is, there is less risk of of going overboard and damaging the paintwork. The advantage of using a rotary buffer is... I'VE GOT DA POWER (cue song)..!!

TW Color Cure Plus is a discontinued product from early 2000 I think, you'll find old stock lying around here and there at Ace Hardware and that rip-off place called Eneos. I know I used to use it on my GSXR400 that I rode at the Batu 3 circuit... that was back when people knew there was an international racetrack in the middle of Shah Alam. It's basically synthetic wax with coloring in it, plus a rather useless Chip Stick that you used to fill in the deep scratches if you're too lazy to do a proper job of wet sanding and polishing them out. I just want the colored synthetic wax to make the black paintwork pop out before I seal it.

These days it has been replaced by Turtle Wax's Black Box kit, which is bloody farking expensive at RM120+. Me, I'm trying to keep the cost of my restoration project at around RM300 so glorified crap like that are off my list.
fever003
post Dec 29 2015, 05:54 PM

87 posts

QUOTE(bryan2jzgte @ Dec 29 2015, 05:00 PM)
Hi guys.

I have a 2 weeks old Myvi Glittering Silver. Honestly, I have no knowledge on car care/detailing therefore I hope some sifus/otais here can help me out. I used to drive a '96 Wira Jade Green and the way I wash it? Sponge and car wash liquid from Giant  rclxm9.gif and I use the same sponge for the whole car until it koyak into million pieces.

I wanna treat my Myvi different haha. So far I only washed it once with some Magic 101 liquid and some cheap micro-fibre cloths from Mr. DIY topped with some Getf1 tyre wax. Initially my plan was to go for a deal from 11Street that offers Ion coating, 9H glass coating etc.. for RM500 at 88 Auto Spa. But after reading a few forums about all these cheap deals for car detailing, I think I better not take up those deals to avoid getting scratches on my car or kena 'con' by them, but please correct me if I'm wrong.

1. Must we dispose the micro-fibre cloths every time after wash? I remember reading somewhere saying that dirt/sand/small stone will get stuck in the cloth and it WILL cause scratched and swirl marks on your car.
2. Does the wash liquid really matter? Whats the difference between Giant branded liquid and those branded ones? If yes, please recommend me something GOOD ENOUGH but not too pricey.
3. Im planning to apply water repellent on all my windows, F & R windscreen. Do I have to remove the water marks before I do so? If yes, how should I do it and what products to use for the water repellent, water mark remover, cloth & etc.
4. Wax. To me its like a whole new world to me. Its like when I just started to discover *ahem ahem*  rclxms.gif Turtle wax? Soft99? Megs?

Sila maafkan saya abang2 sekalian. Hope some of you have the mood to read a long message hehe. hehe maafkan
Cheers LYN.

Best Regards,
Bryan
I dont dispose, BUT after every washing-machine wash, i will look closely at the cloths and remove any small objects that might be trapped from washing.

Some has wax element in it, i use meguiars NXT, everytime after wash, it looks glossier

Yes, water repellant is all about preparation. Remove any contaminant as much as possible, if not your repellant will not be effective or will not last long. Without machine, i use meguiars ultimate compound to 'polish' the glass. This will remove any water marks, stubborn layer of contaminants. Then i will wash the glass again, and dry them completely. Then comes the rain repellent. I use the trusted RainX and it lasts about 2-3 months for me. Have been using it for years. Also benefit of using rain repellent is your glass is less prone to become dirty from rain+dirt . Most importantly, it is fun to drive in the rain without wipers but safety first of course

4. Wax. To me its like a whole new world to me. Its like when I just started to discover *ahem ahem*  rclxms.gif Turtle wax? Soft99? Megs?
I personally prefer paste wax than liquid wax. I use Meguiars Gold Class Paste Wax. Again, make sure your paint is free from contaminants(wash, clay, compound) then only apply the wax. Apply thin layer of wax, don't be generous with the wax.

Sila maafkan saya abang2 sekalian. Hope some of you have the mood to read a long message hehe. hehe maafkan
Cheers LYN.
me also, not a professional detailer but i try my best to take care of my vehicles

This post has been edited by fever003: Dec 29 2015, 05:59 PM
ZZR-Pilot
post Dec 29 2015, 06:05 PM

1,057 posts

QUOTE(bryan2jzgte @ Dec 29 2015, 09:00 PM)
Hi guys.

I have a 2 weeks old Myvi Glittering Silver. Honestly, I have no knowledge on car care/detailing therefore I hope some sifus/otais here can help me out. I used to drive a '96 Wira Jade Green and the way I wash it? Sponge and car wash liquid from Giant  rclxm9.gif and I use the same sponge for the whole car until it koyak into million pieces.
Congrats on the purchase of your new car. I hv never owned a brand new car in my life... oh wait, I once bought a brand new Kancil 850 in the 90s... it had a solid red paint which gradually peeled off the roof after 3 years to reveal bare metal underneath LOL...

Anyway... I'm no otai, but the word I keep hearing from out there is... if you are into waxing your car then those cheap no-brand car wash liquids tend to strip the wax off pretty quick. Something to do with their chemical make-up and pH. Maybe somebody else can elaborate.

Microfiber cloths, first you soak them in detergent and squeeze out by hand to remove the bulk of the crap they had collected. Then dump them in the washing machine and wash them separately i.e. do not mix with other clothes. Use liquid detergent as powder types hv a tendency to sneak into the fibers and act as abrasives when you reuse the towels on your car. That's all.

Over time, the fibers will get f*cked up... and when they do, it's time to relegate them to the kain buruk duties.
chew3344
post Dec 29 2015, 06:31 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(bryan2jzgte @ Dec 29 2015, 06:00 PM)
Hi guys.

Sila maafkan saya abang2 sekalian. Hope some of you have the mood to read a long message hehe.

Cheers LYN.

Best Regards,
Bryan
1) You don't have to discard them every time , just keep them clean from sand/ dirt . Basically what i did normally is seperate MF cloth for seperate job ( Wax / Polish / Glass (Windscreen 1, Side mirrors 1) / Wash/) Let's say when your washing cloth starts to degrade you may downgrade it to use as rug. MF if possible get plushy one nod.gif Washing technique is also important to MINIMISE chances of inflicting swirls

2)Yes it does matter, don't ever go for nameless brand Waxco etc etc, at the very least go for Turtle Wax for OTC product or OSREN( they does make affordable yet quality products), for better brands there is Sonax ( can be found at tesco ), Meg ( Ace hardware, Jusco) , ONR, and alot more drool.gif

3)Glass prep prior to water repellent coating is very important. Wash- Clay - Polish/Compound ( I use Glaco Compound Roll) and then apply water repellent of your choice , as usual don't go for nameless brand, better go for Rain X, Glaco Roll on , etc. However these coating MIGHT causes wiper juddering as i had some unpleasant experience with rain x but it could be due to my imporper application too blush.gif

4)Wax, this is a vast topic here biggrin.gif There is carnauba wax, systhetic wax( sealant). Me myself love Fk1000p,coli 476s and fusso coat brows.gif

TSKrisMas
post Dec 30 2015, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(windskill @ Dec 29 2015, 11:31 AM)
I've seen plenty of them around in hardware shops that sells DeWalt...price could defer and should cost you on the high side of RM600 but shouldn't reach RM700.

Congrats on the new car.

I just want to add a few words only in addition to all the good advice above.....

1. Work Clean - anything that touches the car paint must be as clean as you can get it cleaned. Eg. when washing the car, wring off the cloth to force out those dirt that you've just 'wiped' off the car so that it won't go back onto the surface of the paint to minimise wash-induced swirls (scratch).

2. If you want to apply anything onto the car, be it onto the paintwork (wax/sealant), glass (water repellants), plastic (dressings), leather (protectant) etc., the rule of thumb is SURFACE PREPARATION. Get the surface as clean or as defect free as you possibly can, then only you apply anything onto it. This would ensure the effectiveness and performance of the products applied.

3. For detailing products, in general, the 'good-things-don't-come-cheap' quotes applies..... tongue.gif . Do look for, at the very least, products from a well established brands like Soft99, Turtle Wax, etc. If you can afford, try to consider the other 'better' brands like Meguiars, Sonax, Mothers, 3M, etc. My suggestion for a decenet enough brands to start off are those from Osren.

Cheerio

AEP5001
post Dec 30 2015, 11:13 AM

what sort of car emblem glue / double sided sticker is recommended? where can i buy it?
windskill
post Dec 30 2015, 11:31 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(KrisMas @ Dec 30 2015, 09:38 AM)
I've seen plenty of them around in hardware shops that sells DeWalt...price could defer and should cost you on the high side of RM600 but shouldn't reach RM700.

Congrats on the new car.

I just want to add a few words only in addition to all the good advice above.....

1. Work Clean - anything that touches the car paint must be as clean as you can get it cleaned. Eg. when washing the car, wring off the cloth to force out those dirt that you've just 'wiped' off the car so that it won't go back onto the surface of the paint to minimise wash-induced swirls (scratch).

2. If you want to apply anything onto the car, be it onto the paintwork (wax/sealant), glass (water repellants), plastic (dressings), leather (protectant) etc., the rule of thumb is SURFACE PREPARATION. Get the surface as clean or as defect free as you possibly can, then only you apply anything onto it. This would ensure the effectiveness and performance of the products applied.

3. For detailing products, in general, the 'good-things-don't-come-cheap' quotes applies..... tongue.gif . Do look for, at the very least, products from a well established brands like Soft99, Turtle Wax, etc. If you can afford, try to consider the other 'better' brands like Meguiars, Sonax, Mothers, 3M, etc. My suggestion for a decenet enough brands to start off are those from Osren.

Cheerio
Okay thanks. I will try to seek around in hardware shops that sell DeWalt power tools.

138 Pages « < 117 118 119 120 121 > » Top

0.0335sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:06 PM