[V25] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club
Nov 17 2014, 04:26 PM
45 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: JB |
any idea where can i get a new stock filco mj2 fullsize casing? kinda screwed up mine trying to paint it to other color
Nov 17 2014, 11:39 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 17 2014, 05:12 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i got rather impatient and just kinda spammed the spray paint on that particular side and it got ruined.... too lazy now to sand it down and spray again and also got no time.. |
Nov 19 2014, 08:26 AM
QUOTE(justnits @ Nov 18 2014, 09:50 AM) i can only see so much from the picture, and i can't tell the overall condition of the spray paint, but it seems to me that using high grit sandpaper will smoothen out the affected part (is it because you spam spray that part so much that it bubbles up and then burst after it dries off?) It's hard to take a good picture to show the actual condition because it is white...Filco case is kinda easy to spray actually...i done it right the first time then suddenly a newspaper i put under the case just sticks on one of the sides...then from there the problem just snowballs to what it became now now you know that spraying needs patience i only have spray experience of one keyboard, other spray sifu might give you better tips and pointers...but nevertheless, all the best! white case is awesome! just finish what you started QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 19 2014, 12:42 AM) Simply use 600 grit sand paper to sand it. Followed by 800, and then 1000 for final sanding. Wet sanding is very important and it help a lot. Instead of using and hurting your thumb, just wrap a block with sand paper and sand it. The most important part is painting. Not to close because it can be melted. Not to far because it will be faded and matte. Not too thick because it will crack and take long time to dry. Not to thin because will easily get scratched. I kinda know what to do to rectify it actually....just too lazy to do it and really got no time....I've already sanded i think more than 5 times? each time i sand one part and spray, another part gets destroyed Maybe if you want to experiment with cracking finishing design, paint with two layer of color. The cracking finish is very sexy on headphone amp but I wonder if it will look nice on keyboard. I knew that cracking finish casing is awesome but hard to take care off. This post has been edited by ptrfaith91: Nov 19 2014, 08:31 AM |
Nov 20 2014, 10:07 AM
QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Nov 19 2014, 09:01 AM) Why do you want to spray the case in the first place? Both..Because you want a white case? or mainly because you interested in DIY? Do you find any filco replacement casing you like in taobao yet? Only found modded case...can't seem to find the stock ones... QUOTE(diaBoliQu3 @ Nov 19 2014, 11:28 AM) If you know how to do and you should have do it right. Your impatient is wrong. Yea...I sudah insaf...now its either wait till I damn free and got mood only do it back properly or just use it as it is until I found a replacement one... |
| Change to: | 0.0383sec
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:32 AM |