19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Bottom

[V25] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

quovadis123
post Oct 8 2014, 07:45 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Red Maniac @ Oct 8 2014, 11:55 AM)
Just sharing this interesting article on mechanical keyboard for newbies like myself.  biggrin.gif

Click this: All about mechanical keyboards and why you need one
Thanks. It's a good article. rclxms.gif
Good for newbie like me too.
quovadis123
post Oct 9 2014, 08:59 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(belfong @ Oct 9 2014, 08:46 AM)
I'm impressed by a Malaysian GH member by the name Krytone. He made some bad ass original caps and had a sale yesterday. Cool! Is he a LYP member who post here?
Ya. krytone is a LYN member who always posted here.
design
quovadis123
post Oct 9 2014, 03:47 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Krytone @ Oct 9 2014, 03:43 PM)
Also, there are a lot of internet threads regarding this especially in reddit.

http://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboards/wiki/3dprinting
From what i was told that novelty isnt popular here in lyn and better go to GH. So i thought here is only for hardcore KB customization.  tongue.gif
Yup. Novelty not popular here. end
quovadis123
post Oct 10 2014, 06:36 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Oct 10 2014, 06:28 PM)
Any coders or programmers here? Would like to know whether 60% layout or TKL is more suitable for a coder-to-be.  tongue.gif

I'm not sure whether I will use the keys left out from the 60% layout frequently or not, or it depends on the language to be coded?

Also why people say HHKB is a programmer keyboard? Nope I'm going to get them just asking.  biggrin.gif
May I know what programming language you use for coding purpose?
quovadis123
post Oct 10 2014, 10:50 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(NeverX3 @ Oct 10 2014, 06:54 PM)
I'm not too sure though, haven't started it yet. sweat.gif

I'm deciding which layout will be suitable for me, cause I need it portable but I'm worrying I will miss the keys left out in 60%.

Also giving myself a reason to buy one more keyboard brows.gif
I'm not sure what kind of answers you are looking for.

About HHKB part:

For programming:
- Don't use fuctional keys like F1-12
- Most of the time touch typing (lazy fingers)
- using arrow keys are bad habit if you are using VIM (so, arrows keys redundant too)
F1-12, arrow keys, page up down etc all become redundants for some programmers.
Hence, 60% keyboard is a good choice.

Smaller, compact with lesser redundancy. laugh.gif

Of course, arrows keys are very important if you using a lot of different software and apps in your OS.
TKL is more universal, much better in my opinion.

Advice: Don't buy something you want but you don't need to impress others. doh.gif
quovadis123
post Oct 12 2014, 10:10 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 12 2014, 09:04 PM)

Novatouch bundled with pad printing abs keycaps. No dye-sub pbt from Topre corp.
quovadis123
post Oct 12 2014, 10:58 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 12 2014, 10:30 PM)
hm pad printing  shakehead.gif  abs however i find acceptable , not too fussy on that smile.gif

but still at least can replace with a cherry corp keyset substitute of choice thkfully  smile.gif
lack of dye sub pbt isn't too big a deal, but it has to be offsetted by a much cheaper pricing, otherwise whats the point.

For a more premium offering, people can still opt to buy the more expensive original topre keyboard.
But then again, do they come with the other nifty features like....

media controls via function key, NKRO, able to use mx cherry corp stem keys, removeable usb cable for keyboard  hmm.gif
I think these days, even topre is being pressured to start offering more off these extras, now that the lower priced alternative are starting to offer these. more competition is always good for the consumer.
Some of the features are useful. Novatouch is the first Topre's NKRO via USB. icon_idea.gif
I like their mx-topre slider/stem. nod.gif Innovative.

Original Topre rather have more choices on their products line up. Not all are very expensive. Some are cheaper than Novatouch, and most are expensive than Novatouch.
Many variations in original Topre such as Ducky series, silence series, EK series, hangul series, variable weight (30g,35g,40g,55g), all 30g series, all 45g series, all 55g series and 10th years anniversary series, hi-pro etc etc. sweat.gif

Brands like Sony, Leopold, HHKB, CM all using the "all 45g" Topre for their products.
quovadis123
post Oct 12 2014, 11:23 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 12 2014, 11:17 PM)
But i wonder how did they managed to source topre switches  hmm.gif  did they do some licensing agreement ?
It's a collaboration between Topre corp and CM. Interesting milestones for both of the companies.
So, the 45g switches and pcb board are manufactured by Topre Japan. thumbup.gif
You can click my review down below in my siggy to see the pictures of tear down of Novatouch.
quovadis123
post Oct 13 2014, 11:14 AM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 13 2014, 12:16 AM)
oh so it's not some sort of of clone rip off. thats good to know it's from official channels smile.gif
PS: is that your own personal review ?  shocking.gif

*update

k read the review. very detailed and with lots of pictures, and even a table of comparison. I give it an A+ rating for review, well done  notworthy.gif
Yup. Personal review.

Thanks wub.gif
quovadis123
post Oct 13 2014, 12:23 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(LegendLee @ Oct 13 2014, 12:21 PM)
Hi guys !
Any recommendation for a bang for the buck no frills small sized (no numpad) keyboard ? Just using this for typing needs. And preferably quiet mx brown switches.

Been using the razer blackwidow at home and I want something for office use.
Filco Majestouch 2 MX Brown.
quovadis123
post Oct 13 2014, 12:39 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(aminar @ Oct 13 2014, 12:27 PM)
Have anyone have tried khail switches??
What is the feel? Similar to cherrymx red? Black? Blue? Brown?

Already sold my race and order rapoo kx.
No balls to try kaihua a.k.a kailh switches.
You order yellow switches rapoo?
quovadis123
post Oct 14 2014, 10:50 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(muhdFim @ Oct 14 2014, 08:56 PM)
helo, i wanna buy mech keyboard (TKL), i dont know to decide either CM Storm Quickfire Rapid or FILCO majestouch2.

need some advise which is worth to buy. pls help im new. ty
It's easy. Choose Filco Majestouch 2.

Filco Majestouch 2 TKL is the best choice because of its unrivaled quality and build quality.

On the side notes, CM QFR was EOL (end-of-life) product.
The current model of the CM series:
QuickFire Rapid > QuickFire Stealth > QuickFire Rapid-i

Note: Not long ago, shakehead.gif I gave an advice to a newbie recommend to buy Filco...
At the end, that guy go for Razer BWU 2014 and show us the Razer keyboard picture. sad.gif
quovadis123
post Oct 15 2014, 04:14 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(halllo81 @ Oct 15 2014, 03:58 PM)
Bad new from me,
any sifu here come across mech keyboard will have disconnect problem?
my new keyboard(cm novatouch) have this disconnect problem , im using pc long hours , so the keyboard will automatic disconnect it self ,so i gotto unplug the usb cable and plug again to make the computer detect the keyboard ~
seek help or maybe gotto send back CM to check what's the problem dy ~
Don't have such issue before.

Can you define "long hours" in your context?
quovadis123
post Oct 15 2014, 04:59 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(halllo81 @ Oct 15 2014, 04:33 PM)
more than 12 hours~ mellow.gif
i hv another keyboard connect to pc as well(2 keyboard at a same time)~
before the cm novatouch,im using cm quick fire(no such issue) ~
I see, more than 12hours.

Or any other sifu got explanation for such issue?

QUOTE(muhdFim @ Oct 15 2014, 04:53 PM)
which switch is good for gaming. black switch or red switch?
red, lighter linear.
black if you want heavier linear.

Both are good.

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Oct 15 2014, 05:07 PM
quovadis123
post Oct 15 2014, 06:37 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(halllo81 @ Oct 15 2014, 05:19 PM)
i didnt try on other pc..cox other pc i got no time for it ~(my main pc is the one tat i use most)
but i try on other usb port(which doesnt work the problem still there,but other keyboard no such issue)
Did you put other devices that draw a lot of power from your usb ports?
You may try removed all USB but only Nova on the USB port and try whether the same issue repeat or not.

Note: CM Novatouch controller is mounted on pcb itself.

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Oct 15 2014, 06:41 PM
quovadis123
post Oct 15 2014, 09:48 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(whatsayyou @ Oct 15 2014, 07:32 PM)
btw how heavy is the filco TKL? I alternate between jb and SG. wondering should i bring it along with me everytime i travel
About 1.0kg. I attached picture in the spoiler.

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ Oct 15 2014, 07:34 PM)
almost one kilo. 980grams to be exact.
nod.gif

QUOTE(am3rr @ Oct 15 2014, 07:34 PM)
erm tkl i guess around 400~600g. since last time i purchase mine from jp along with all stuff and boxes is 750g.
quovadis123
post Oct 16 2014, 02:59 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(SetsunaFSeiei Exia00 @ Oct 16 2014, 02:46 PM)
What's so special about the Infinity Keyboard Kit?
special
- can use 2 kinds of layout (standard, and non-standard) [ lmao they dare put "hacker" layout there ]

Materials included in the kit:
- 1x Bent Metal Plate Case
- 1x Printed Circuit Board
- 63x Cherry MX or Matias (Alps) Switches
- 63x Cherry MX or Matias (Alps) Keycaps [dsa keycaps]
- 1x USB Cable
- 3x Stabilizer Kits, two small and 1 Spacebar

This post has been edited by quovadis123: Oct 16 2014, 03:02 PM
quovadis123
post Oct 16 2014, 09:42 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Oct 16 2014, 09:39 PM)
thats pretty wise  notworthy.gif

personally i try not to visit this thread too often. after get poisoned to buy something i don't need (since i already have a decent mkb  laugh.gif  )
try try keyboard, no need buy. sweat.gif
Just borrow and try, then return back to them.
quovadis123
post Oct 17 2014, 01:20 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(dragon528 @ Oct 17 2014, 01:16 PM)
i'm planning to purchase a new KB from Australia, but I'm worry that custom not allow to hand carry on flight.
What keyboard brand? Need go buy in aussie.
quovadis123
post Oct 17 2014, 01:41 PM

Keys
2,882 posts

QUOTE(muhdFim @ Oct 17 2014, 05:37 AM)
btw, where can i find custom keycaps for MKB FILCO?
others mkb keycaps suit or not?
taobao.

19 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0523sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:09 PM