PC Audio Need Recommendation on Active Studio Speaker 2.0

ktek
post Aug 28 2014, 12:29 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Aug 27 2014, 11:24 PM)
How about the heat/temperature when leaving the speakers on idle? Does it feel warm or hot?

heat is normal to happen. edifier put heatsink outside while some others hide inside. make use the air flow of woofer to blow.
dont mind the amp classification, its not big watt power to begin with
ktek
post Sep 17 2014, 08:47 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(asunakirito @ Sep 17 2014, 12:40 AM)
So the Audio Engine A5+ (A series) are using Class A/B amplifiers. Huge heatsinks hmm.gif
outer heatsink dont represent what amplifier class design it use.
such as many old "classic" altec dont have outer heatsink at all, but my class d speaker amp got exposed heatsink sweat.gif

swan hivi x3 got independent amp, professional xlr socket, representing the flat tuning of studio monitors.
typical studio monitor dont use netting speaker cover unless outdoor type that use metal grillz.
not every one's cup of coffee like u mentioned.

edifier has bass port, which you can tune the r2800 bass response by stuffing in some cloth material or sponge.

better dac dont represent in %precentage% but the ability to reproduce original content. which means good records get better and bad recording get worse

This post has been edited by ktek: Sep 17 2014, 09:09 PM
ktek
post Sep 18 2014, 04:14 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(lex @ Sep 18 2014, 03:57 PM)
directly to the Class D power amplifiers instead (fully digital all the way)...  cool.gif

class DD drool.gif
ktek
post Dec 24 2014, 06:14 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Dec 24 2014, 05:45 PM)
hi, im really a newb in this audio thing, ive read your discussions above and at some part im blanked.. im also looking to get a 2.0 setup, i have 2 models in mind the Edifier R1280T / R1600TIII . its for a desktop setup. well most likely ill be going for the R1600TIII, but my concern is, im currenly using a 2.1 setup ($100 Hibikii brand HS302 - i dont think you all heard of it) .. will 2.0 setup be better in terms of SQ? Main usage will be music/videos.

Can 2.0 beat 2.1 subwoofer bass? Im not a techno lover, but i like deep warm bass... hope to get some enlightenment from the sifus here. thanks in advance..
r1600 is small, unable to cover full range sound especially bass side.
actually u can look at the specs, 4" cone usually cover about 80, 90 100 hz

5.25" can go near to 60,70hz

6.5" can go 50hz

8" even better
ktek
post Dec 25 2014, 12:33 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Dec 24 2014, 08:17 PM)
you've got a point. even my current sub is 5.25" . im quite happy with it, just that i find 2.0 speaker units are nice looking. if RM300-400 range of 2.0 speakers cant be nicer sounding than a 2.1 i guess ill stick with 2.1 at the moment.
r1900t3 is 5 incher, im not sure availability but expect still in the market about rm 3xx
ktek
post Dec 25 2014, 07:06 AM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

r2500 i dunno, but r1900 confirm got bass and treble knob.
it say r1900 using rare sheep fur pressed cone if i remember correctly.
ktek
post Dec 25 2014, 01:17 PM

小喇叭
13,197 posts

QUOTE(leroy87 @ Dec 25 2014, 10:29 AM)
assuming getting a 5.0" 2.0 speaker. will it be better than having a 2.1 with 5" sub woofer? in a 2.0 setup you'll have 2x 5.0" , in terms of bass... plus i guess Edifier have some technology to dampen the sound.. MDF wood or something. and most RM100-RM200 2.1 speakers will usually come with plastic..
u will definitely hear the improvements. less shaking midbass and stronger front voice or instruments.
pls estimate the dimension first. it will take up more space than hibiki 2.1

0.0183sec    0.34    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 04:47 PM