Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

> Accenture vs Big 4, Internship offer

views

TSRoy_Syd
post Aug 28 2006, 03:21 PM, updated 13y ago

13 posts

Hye guys.

I am currently majoring in Accounting and Economics in an overseas university. Right now, i am on the lookout for internship/vacation employment opportunities for the Summer Break.

I am planning to get a professional qualification after graduating e.g. MICPA, ACCA, ICAA. I do not have a particular industry i am interested, or not interested in. But i do see the value of the professional qualification.

For now, i have received an offer for internship with Accenture Malaysia. I am placed under Resources RGM (whatever that means..) as part of the consulting team, i suppose. I have even been assigned to a project manager-guy-person-thing-boss. It's just a matter of accepting the offer.

I haven't applied for the Big 4s, but i think i should have some chance of getting an offer.

The question is; should i accept Accenture, or a Big 4?

It's really just a matter of me not wanting to waste time and energy to apply to the Big 4s, going for interviews, getting offers, and then go on accepting Accenture anyway.

Thanks in advance.
TSRoy_Syd
post Aug 28 2006, 08:59 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Aug 28 2006, 08:25 PM)
Hi Roy,

If you are looking into getting your Accounting certification then you would be better off in one of the big 4s. Some of them will give you some grants on your examination fees, if I am not wrong, PWC will pay for half.
Hye guys.

I understand that the Consulting team is 'different' from the Technology Solutions team, e.g. payscale.Or something like that.

So if, as cktwai said, Resource RGM is more towards IT Consulting, is it under Consulting or TS? Correct me if i'm wrong on anything, please.

Naturally, the Big 4s would be more supportive for me to pursue the exams. But Accenture is very tempting, no?