Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

1) Dual SIM
2) Large-ish battery (2000mAH+)
3) More RAM (prefer 2GB)
4) MicroSD

Hoping to spend around 500-600 tops for a secondary phone for use when roaming. Any recommendations? Faster/more often updates would be a big plus point.

Currently looking at the Honor 3c, ASUS ZenPhone, Xiaomi Note/1s.

This post has been edited by biatch0: Nov 26 2014, 12:44 AM
biatch0
post Nov 26 2014, 05:35 AM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Nov 26 2014, 02:34 AM)
I think not much choice,

Redmi Note, Zenfone 5/6, Honor 3C. All of it u have listed it in ur choice.

There's 1 gud choice, but it's at RM1069. The ap set of Honor 6 with dual sim. 1 sim slot for LTE 1 for 2g. High end choice.  brows.gif

In terms of ur choices, would suggest Honor 3C. Zenfone 5 and 6 using intel SoC for their dual sim model which might cause some app incompatibility. For Redmi Note, it's out of stock from Xiaomi Malaysia. So I guess it's the Honor 3C.

1) I don't really need the LTE of the Honor 6... and the price is way above what I want to spend on a secondary phone anyway.

2) Honor 3C definitely is the most attractive option right now except it's a little hard to find... I might settle for the 3C Lite even though it only has 1GB RAM. Will definitely keep looking for the 3C though...

3) Zenphone Intel SoC - Is the app incompatibility really that bad/noticeable/common? I've never used an Intel based phone before, so never experienced anything like that before.

4) Xiaomi Note - Just like the 3C... attactive, but hard to find. I like the gigantic battery (and slightly larger screen). Might go try luck in Low Yat/Digital Mall and see which one I can find first... Note or 3C.
biatch0
post Nov 26 2014, 05:58 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

QUOTE(briantwj @ Nov 26 2014, 05:52 AM)
1) Yea, if ur buying Honor 6, it shud be ur primary phone dy. Too powderful.  laugh.gif

2) Vmall still out of stock for Honor 3c, not sure when will they restock. But DirectD and 1gadget I think still got stock.

http://www.lelong.com.my/huawei-honor-3c-l...5-10-Sale-P.htm

No OS intl for H3C LTE... Only China ROM...
From the Honor 3C thread here... looks like no Google Maps/Play on the units sold by DirectD/1Gadget. The 3C Lite version doesn't really appeal to me with less RAM sad.gif

3) I've read users complaining in the Zenfone thread before. But tbh, Asus did quite a gud job in providing solution. Last time there was an issue with fb, then Asus uploaded a FB apk for users to dl to solve the issue. It's just there'll be a bit of risk when u use Intel SoC, especially x64 architecture, coz there will be some android app having incompatibility issue with it.
Looks like this is the most readily available phone that fits my needs.

4) Xiaomi Msia have stop doing flash sales for a few weeks dy. I myself oso looking to buy 2 Redmi Note for my family member, waiting for Xiaomi Msia to restock until neck oso long dy.  sweat.gif  doh.gif Maybe u can try lowyat plaza, but do check properly b4 purchasing.  nod.gif
Found a couple of sellers on lelong (techhypermart and handphonemalaysia)... no idea how to check properly if they are legit units... Since when buying phones became so complicated sleep.gif
biatch0
post Nov 29 2014, 11:52 PM

Tem Que Valer
1,923 posts

Going to try this again... with a slightly larger budget...

1) Dual SIM
2) Large-ish battery (2000mAH+)
3) More RAM (prefer 2GB or more)
4) MicroSD

Now looking at up to RM1k tops for a secondary phone for use when roaming. Any recommendations? Faster/more often updates would be a big plus point.

I really wanted to get the 3G Xiaomi Note, but it's like trying to find a unicorn in a kandang lembu in Bangsar. Just want to see if there any other options if I stretch my budget a little bit more.

0.0498sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:30 PM