Do nootropics (Piracetam) need prescription?

TSHysteridull
post Aug 21 2014, 12:12 AM, updated 12y ago

34 posts

I'm thinking of getting Piracetam and wondering if anyone knows if they need a prescription to be bought?

I'm currently on Lexapro so I guess I'll have to consult my doctor if combination is okay. Regardless, does anyone know if these can be bought in KL?

Edit: Please don't tell me to try Pharmaton or Ginkgo, or chicken essence. it doesn't work at all.

This post has been edited by Hysteridull: Aug 21 2014, 12:15 AM
post Aug 21 2014, 12:16 AM

1,003 posts

Wrong spelling for brand name and yes...Malaysia boleh....you can get them at your friendly neighbourhood pharmacies.

But yeah......see yr doc. Lexa and Noot doesn't gel though.
TSHysteridull
post Aug 21 2014, 12:20 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(6216 @ Aug 21 2014, 12:16 AM)
Wrong spelling for brand name and yes...Malaysia boleh....you can get them at your friendly neighbourhood pharmacies.

But yeah......see yr doc. Lexa and Noot doesn't gel though.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piracetam Is it not this one? Which spelling was wrong, don't mind me asking?
I hope it doesn't react, Lexapro makes me sleepy like crazy. 4 months still sleepy.
post Aug 21 2014, 12:58 AM

1,003 posts

QUOTE(Hysteridull @ Aug 21 2014, 12:20 AM)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piracetam Is it not this one? Which spelling was wrong, don't mind me asking?
I hope it doesn't react, Lexapro makes me sleepy like crazy. 4 months still sleepy.
I get you...you were referring to class while I was referring to Brand (Nootropil).

I would rather you seek medical advice when you're in your condition. Maybe a change of SSRIs
ngaisteve1
post Aug 21 2014, 10:22 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Hysteridull @ Aug 21 2014, 01:12 AM)
I'm thinking of getting Piracetam and wondering if anyone knows if they need a prescription to be bought?

I'm currently on Lexapro so I guess I'll have to consult my doctor if combination is okay. Regardless, does anyone know if these can be bought in KL?

Edit: Please don't tell me to try Pharmaton or Ginkgo, or chicken essence. it doesn't work at all.
Hi, may I know you need this for what purpose?
huatliam
post Jan 26 2015, 12:54 PM

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Aug 21 2014, 10:22 AM)
Hi, may I know you need this for what purpose?
Reaching one's genetic potential
DT1
post Jan 26 2015, 01:48 PM

1,186 posts

QUOTE(huatliam @ Jan 26 2015, 12:54 PM)
If you don't exercise and have a good diet you won't ever reach your genetic potential, regardless of supplements / nootropics. Fix the former two, and you've got at least 80% covered, the other 20% from supplements.
theauroraproject
post Jan 26 2015, 01:53 PM

I used to manage nootropics, such as Nootropil.

First you have got the whole idea wrong. It is not about reaching potential.
Nootropics mode of action is that it enhances blood circulation to the brain which in turn is supposed to increase brain activity through oxygen supporting the energy conversion process; and therefore it is marketed as a smart drug.

huatliam
post Jan 26 2015, 06:15 PM

QUOTE(theauroraproject @ Jan 26 2015, 01:53 PM)
I used to manage nootropics, such as Nootropil.

First you have got the whole idea wrong. It is not about reaching potential.
Nootropics mode of action is that it enhances blood circulation to the brain which in turn is supposed to increase brain activity through oxygen supporting the energy conversion process; and therefore it is marketed as a smart drug.
I'd disagree with your views.

This post has been edited by huatliam: Jan 26 2015, 06:19 PM
ngaisteve1
post Jan 26 2015, 06:19 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(huatliam @ Jan 26 2015, 01:54 PM)
Yes, what DT1 said is true. If your lifestyle is poor n not willing to change, even king of herbs also won't help much.

There is a real case. This uncle got brain cancer. After done chemo n loaded with high dosage of lingzhi, bee pollen and other nutrient, his cancer was cleared after 3 months. But after that, he back to his unhealthy lifestyle and unhealthy diet and reduce lingzhi dosage. Guess what. After some many months, the cancer relapsed! Only then he listen to advice to change lifestyle back and because the cancer is a relapsed, he has to increase lingzhi dosage and thankfully, his cancer cleared again. Hopefully after that, he will keep up his healthy diet and lifestyle.
huatliam
post Jan 26 2015, 06:21 PM

QUOTE(DT1 @ Jan 26 2015, 01:48 PM)
If you don't exercise and have a good diet you won't ever reach your genetic potential, regardless of supplements / nootropics. Fix the former two, and you've got at least 80% covered, the other 20% from supplements.
Yes. Do everything in your power - whatever it is - to reach your genetic potential. Don't be dogmatic about it. Experiment what works for your unique biochemistry.
Tryptamine420710
post Oct 12 2015, 07:04 PM

good lifestyle. good diet. healthy n active adult.
now can i have piracetam? why? because i tamak. my current bright condition isnt enough.
wan to self experiment.

0.0166sec    0.87    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 07:15 PM