28 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

What i have to check when i buy a NDS lite, need some information about that XD

TSvincent09
post Aug 27 2006, 07:39 PM, updated 20y ago

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Hi all NDS n NDS lite fans, let's say i want to buy a NDS lite, when i buying a NDS lite, what things that i need to check out ?

I see some post here got tell about " Flashed " or " no Flash ", but i still blur for that ? some others like online funtions is it all nds lite can online?

Just need more infomation about NDS lite .
awh85
post Aug 27 2006, 08:21 PM

2,156 posts

All versions of DS or DSL can go online. The thing you should check is for dead or stuck pixels. You could also check for physical defects such as dents and cracks.

Whether or not you want a flashed DS is totally up to you. For people in the US or Japan for example, a flashed DS voids warranty. However here in Malaysia since the warranty here isnt provided by Nintendo but instead the distributer or shop itself it doesnt really matter.

Well on the other hand, the advantages of having a flashed DS is that you could get yourself a Flash cart to run homebrew games and programs. Not to mention all the free games available on some torrent site. For me, one of the main reasons I got myself a flash cart is because of all the homebrew programs out there. Now i can basically use my ds to log onto msn, check the weather, run a VNC, play movies and music, use as gamepad, chat on IRC and etc.

Besides that there are a lot of other homebrew games and apps out there in the works like DSDoom, DSQuake, DSCNC(Command and Conquer), DSLinux, DSAIM (AIM messenger).

This post has been edited by awh85: Aug 27 2006, 08:22 PM
bidfordun
post Aug 27 2006, 08:55 PM

2,234 posts

ur explanation makes me want to flash my ds lite la, haha!
Pr1me_Minister
post Aug 27 2006, 09:11 PM

314 posts

QUOTE(bidfordun @ Aug 27 2006, 08:55 PM)
ur explanation makes me want to flash my ds lite la, haha!
lol me too biggrin.gif So tempting drool.gif
myliew
post Aug 27 2006, 10:23 PM

259 posts

QUOTE(awh85 @ Aug 27 2006, 08:21 PM)
All versions of DS or DSL can go online. The thing you should check is for dead or stuck pixels. You could also check for physical defects such as dents and cracks.

Whether or not you want a flashed DS is totally up to you. For people in the US or Japan for example, a flashed DS voids warranty. However here in Malaysia since the warranty here isnt provided by Nintendo but instead the distributer or shop itself it doesnt really matter.

Well on the other hand, the advantages of having a flashed DS is that you could get yourself a Flash cart to run homebrew games and programs. Not to mention all the free games available on some torrent site. For me, one of the main reasons I got myself a flash cart is because of all the homebrew programs out there. Now i can basically use my ds to log onto msn, check the weather, run a VNC, play movies and music, use as gamepad, chat on IRC and etc.

Besides that there are a lot of other homebrew games and apps out there in the works like DSDoom, DSQuake, DSCNC(Command and Conquer), DSLinux, DSAIM (AIM messenger).
hi, dont mind telling me whats the home brew software for checking the weather. and what is 'VNC'? is DSmail ready yet?

btw bidfordon, u dont need to BUY pirated game if u flash ur ds. i think it still support ori game after flash.
bidfordun
post Aug 27 2006, 10:25 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(myliew @ Aug 27 2006, 10:23 PM)
hi, dont mind telling me whats the home brew software for checking the weather. and what is 'VNC'? is DSmail ready yet?

btw bidfordon, u dont need to BUY pirated game if u flash ur ds. i think it still support ori game after flash.
ha, that is not what i mean. i mean after flashing my nds lite, i will surely download the games instead of getting original copy one since it is so tempting. so, better dun flash it lo. biggrin.gif
awh85
post Aug 27 2006, 10:27 PM

2,156 posts

QUOTE(myliew @ Aug 27 2006, 10:23 PM)

the software is called DSLiveWeather! tho still in beta.
for VNC, try googling DSVNC and ull see
NDSMail for the time being i tried i can get RSS Feeds but im having problems configuring my mail. Maybe later when im done ill let u noe. Its running for other ppl tho if im not mistaken
Sp@wnie
post Aug 28 2006, 01:30 AM

sleeper
1,138 posts

based on thaisxs article, we can flashed and De-flashed according to our likings. isn't it? and its better than using any pass-card or wat so ever card rite?
chamelion
post Aug 28 2006, 01:35 AM

Back to Bricking
2,755 posts

If you donwan to flash, you can use passcard3 or superkey to allow NDSL recognise other software source.

Another reason why you shouldn't flash is if nintendo do something on the server side, you may no able to play online using Flashed NDSL (at moment you still can, but we never know..).

This post has been edited by chamelion: Aug 28 2006, 01:35 AM
bidfordun
post Aug 28 2006, 01:44 AM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Aug 28 2006, 01:35 AM)
If you donwan to flash, you can use passcard3 or superkey to allow NDSL recognise other software source.

Another reason why you shouldn't flash is if nintendo do something on the server side, you may no able to play online using Flashed NDSL (at moment you still can, but we never know..).
another reason why we shud not flash it or else i have to throw away the useless nintendo wifi usb connector. biggrin.gif
TSvincent09
post Aug 28 2006, 01:47 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

I see, now i know what is that "Flashed" mean, so the original NDS lite is havn't flashed, but u guys use NDS lite online check mail or doing other things don't u scare will getting virus ?

Maybe got virus protect for NDS lite ?

Maybe i will get havnt flashed NDS lite first if nessesory then flash it XD

if still got more infomation please tell me XD need getting alot info XD
TSvincent09
post Aug 28 2006, 09:25 AM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

bidfordun may i ask, actually what item or accessory will include in NDS lite when i buy it ?

passcard3 or superkey ? hmm now i know got something like that XD
nub
post Aug 28 2006, 11:37 AM

265 posts

bidfordun may i ask, actually what item or accessory will include in NDS lite when i buy it ?

2 styluses. one in the unit, one extra.

japanese unit includes a 110v power adapter(need a step down) and a wrist strap.

australian unit includes a 220b power adapter(no need for a step down), but no wrist strap. and a brain age demo cartridge.

that's about it.
TSvincent09
post Aug 28 2006, 12:30 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

i see, normally NDS lite selling in KL will be japanese unit or Australian unit?

Any different between these 2 unit ( the NDS Lite ) ?

nub
post Aug 28 2006, 12:45 PM

265 posts

i see, normally NDS lite selling in KL will be japanese unit or Australian unit?

if it's white, and it's cheap(<600), and it has a "brain training demo" written on the box, it's australian.

if it's not white(enamel navy or whatever), probably japanese.

nope, ds has no such thing as region coding or whatever.

bidfordun
post Aug 28 2006, 01:31 PM

2,234 posts

QUOTE(vincent09 @ Aug 28 2006, 12:30 PM)

nds lite is not region locked.
TSvincent09
post Aug 28 2006, 07:54 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

hmm maybe i go 1 round at kl or klang area c which 1 they are selling XD.
bidfordun
post Aug 28 2006, 07:59 PM

2,234 posts

yeah, yeah, another potential nds owner.
TSvincent09
post Aug 28 2006, 08:23 PM

*~ When I was young ~*
1,710 posts

Hope so can be 1 NDS owner, now check check pocket money first XD
somemore my gf not so agree i buy, because she feel expensive to buy those game to play.

That why need to collect alot information before i buy it .
john1010_ma
post Aug 28 2006, 08:53 PM

35 posts

girlfriends are expensive and nintendo is cheap! hahaha!

28 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.42    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:56 PM