Ipad Mini or Ipad Mini 2?

TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 03:07 PM, updated 12y ago

150 posts

I'm interested to buy an Ipad Mini, but I am not sure if I should get the first gen or the second gen.

I currently own a Sony Tablet Z which I normally use for movies, gaming, word processing and web browsing.

The reason why I would want to own an Ipad Mini is its portability. I would also like to use applications which is only exclusive to IOS.

Should I buy the first gen or second gen? I will not be using the Ipad for movies. Maybe light browsing, a little bit of gaming (like Samurai Siege or maybe somewhere along the line of Infinity Blade trilogy). Aside from graphics, what can justify the purchase of gen 2 compared to 1?

TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 03:26 PM

150 posts

That's one thing I was afraid of, after about a year or so, the Ipad Mini first gen will not be upgradable to let's say IOS 9 or 10.
TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 03:27 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(egeokow @ Aug 18 2014, 03:09 PM)
then go for ipad mini is enough
I'm kinda stuck in between. I like the graphics on it, but I don't find it justifiable to spend the additional few hundreds, but at the same time... the graphics and the hardware will keep it going for at least a couple of years.
TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 03:32 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(slaveone @ Aug 18 2014, 03:29 PM)
i would suggest for the new one
New one means Mini 2 or wait for Mini 3?
TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 03:40 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(dewill @ Aug 18 2014, 03:36 PM)
ipad mini resolution is 1024 x 768
ipad mini 2 resolition is 2048 x 1536

as the history of ipad
ipad mini launched on 21 Oct 2012
ipad mini 2 launched on 22 Oct 2013
ipad mini 3 launched on 23 Oct 2014? (TBC)
Yeah, I just don't want to regret purchasing something which costs thousand plus Ringgit. Is Ipad Mini 2 worth a few hundred Ringgit more? Planning to get the cellular version, also preferably 32GB. Apparently 16GB is just not enough.
TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 08:30 PM

150 posts

Alright, guys! Thanks for the inputs. Will most likely get the 2nd gen. Harvey Norman selling Ipad Mini Retina 64GB + LTE for 1300? That's super cheap!
TSericwidaz
post Aug 18 2014, 08:39 PM

150 posts

QUOTE(tabletman @ Aug 18 2014, 08:36 PM)
so cheap one meh?
I was surprised too. Need to check it out this weekend.

0.0220sec    1.09    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 09:16 PM