Tyre brand to avoid ? Bad experience with tyre...., Any bad experience of tyre ?

harryfoo
post Aug 27 2014, 05:04 PM

2,296 posts

Why there's so many bad feedback from Yoko C Drive? I'm on C Drive 2. Grip is good & low noise and comfortable (compare to NCT5).
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2014, 05:14 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(harryfoo @ Aug 27 2014, 05:04 PM)
Why there's so many bad feedback from Yoko C Drive? I'm on C Drive 2. Grip is good & low noise and comfortable (compare to NCT5).
can't say for the older c drive since it is well, old.
however i'm on the c drive 2 and i'm pretty satisfied with it.

to take note is that if you're driving it on the extreme or have cars that have the tendency to lift off oversteer it can be a bit unnerving as it *may* suddenly break of which some reviews on tire reviews uk posted as well.
dadurtyz
post Aug 27 2014, 08:16 PM

658 posts

QUOTE(chrislyv @ Aug 26 2014, 10:59 PM)
hi mind sharing what wrong with cc5?
was thinking of cc5 to replace my crap duraplus..
for 185/65/14.. limited tyres to choose..
Its advertise as silent tyre but it get noiser after 10k drive, very2 poor wet grip not feel safe drive at wet road, poor grip during dry also, tyre looks so odd after drive in rain (choclate look) and price also not that cheap for its quality,
Seriously get others brand tyre, even NCT are better than this
Quazacolt
post Aug 27 2014, 09:10 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Aug 27 2014, 08:16 PM)
Its advertise as silent tyre but it get noiser after 10k drive, very2 poor wet grip not feel safe drive at wet road, poor grip during dry also, tyre looks so odd after drive in rain (choclate look) and price also not that cheap for its quality,
imho dry is not too bad, doesn't break away/sudden surprises.
you'll KNOW when you're pushing past it's limits.

my only gripe is it's premium marketing/pricing, and for a "comfort contact" branded tire, it really fails in living up to it's name.
angel_jc8
post Aug 28 2014, 10:06 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Freddy933 @ Aug 27 2014, 04:34 PM)
How about Conti MC5??
MC5 not bad in raining times especially braking
but mileage quite lo
Michelleng
post Aug 29 2014, 06:02 PM

Am using Conti CC5 for my Merc w202. Find it very silent as advertised comfort tyre. Previously was using GY NCT5 and I thought the tyre was ok until I started using CC5 then I noticed CC5 is so much more quieter. Any silent tyres to recommend for my car? Size 195/65/15.
diadokmai
post Sep 1 2014, 11:20 AM

941 posts

QUOTE(nujikabane @ Aug 21 2014, 11:08 AM)
Examples of China brands?

I find Falken to be noisier, and less grip, especially during rain.
it depends on selected model bro.
like 322, 522 mostly very unsuitable for spirited driver. and some people said it crap
for unker to use car for work and shopping is OK since quite cheap.

for spirited driving. at least 912 with AA traction and reinforced sidewall (so this mean not all ziex ze 912 is good, need to check the specs too) and the best for falken passenger tires is Azenis FK453.

i used to own falken ziex 912 with 3 diff spec.

185/60/14
195/55/15
205/40/17 - reinforced sidewall

185/60/14, yes less grip especially during rain. for 195/55/15 and 205/40/17 the grip is good even in wet. cornering also very grippy. but indeed very noiser. expecially the 205/40/17. superb noisy! but thier are cheapy.
drfeelgood
post Sep 3 2014, 12:01 PM

3,735 posts

QUOTE(TAYARman @ Aug 22 2014, 11:35 AM)
and few of these brand  are "greatly" recommended and appreciated by some others in other forum room........

from my experience, Goodyear nowadays are not so reliable (especially DUGARO GA, DURAPLUS, NCT5). their quality is worse and comparable to INDON brand tyres. I see many complains from customer about bloating tyres even when the tyre is 90% thread or use only for few days or month.  I myself kena once when customer complain tyre bloating after only 2 days of installing. and mind u, it's not small bloat, but a huge bloat until the tyre looks like gonna explode....  doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif
Is this because GY try to save cost and get Indon to produce their tyres.

I have always have little respect for Indon made tyres, they are of same league as china tyres.

Best value for money are Thai made tyres. Example Falken Ziex ZE912s made in Thailand. I am using it and I can attest to the quality.
TAYARman
post Sep 3 2014, 02:23 PM

QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Sep 3 2014, 12:01 PM)

I have always have little respect for Indon made tyres, they are of same league as china tyres.

Best value for money are Thai made tyres. Example Falken Ziex ZE912s made in Thailand. I am using it and I can attest to the quality.
I dun think it's because they produce the tyre in Indonesia (cos the Malaysia made also same). from my observation, GY do cut cost by thinning the rubber used. their tyre casing which consist of multiple rubber and metal layer frame is very thin now and can caused the tyre to easily bloat.

it just tat the "price" of GY tyre does not really match the "value" it brings.
davidke20
post Sep 3 2014, 05:13 PM

QUOTE(drfeelgood @ Sep 3 2014, 12:01 PM)

Indo does a lot of good tyres, such as Achilles, Gajah Tunggal are my favorite brands. Tyre good or bad has nothing to do with the country of production. There's people said 1 of the best made Faken was from Philippines, but others said the Indo spec more suitable for Maleishei kinda weather, also got others speculate Thailand made the best rubber for Faken. My own experiences with many ZE522's the Philippines has excellent grip on the dry but tyre wear sucks, and rain time not tangkap! I have not try the Indo version(don't even know whether it exist, heard from a pariah tayar chop say during patching holes). The Thai edition, is overall suck laugh.gif It has less grip then the Philippines version, but wet grip kinda acceptable, tayar wear also not too bad lar. Consider overall gooding lar if dun compare it.

So, it's not about Indo or Thailand geh wink.gif
sunshine-kc
post Sep 3 2014, 05:15 PM

111 posts

QUOTE(19 Degree South @ Aug 16 2014, 09:56 AM)
Good year NCT 5-!
Agreed. REALLY lousy tyres (And dangerous too .... Crack rubber tread !!!! )
efaceninja
post Sep 3 2014, 07:19 PM

QUOTE(dadurtyz @ Aug 27 2014, 08:16 PM)
i can't imagine NCT5 is better than CC5 lols. i mean, take in considering the price you pay for NCT5.
Quazacolt
post Sep 3 2014, 07:36 PM

Riding couple
5,369 posts

QUOTE(efaceninja @ Sep 3 2014, 07:19 PM)
i can't imagine NCT5 is better than CC5 lols. i mean, take in considering the price you pay for NCT5.
i wouldn't be surprise for tires being better than cc5 despite being in the same/lower pricing.
Freddy933
post Sep 3 2014, 07:47 PM

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 3 2014, 07:36 PM)
i wouldn't be surprise for tires being better than cc5 despite being in the same/lower pricing.
Though i never use CC5 before, but my experience with NCT5 was good, only had a skidding once due to worn down thread. And more comfort and less noisy den Falken tyre
nestum
post Sep 3 2014, 08:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(davidke20 @ Sep 3 2014, 05:13 PM)
Indo does a lot of good tyres, such as Achilles, Gajah Tunggal are my favorite brands. Tyre good or bad has nothing to do with the country of production. There's people said 1 of the best made Faken was from Philippines, but others said the Indo spec more suitable for Maleishei kinda weather, also got others speculate Thailand made the best rubber for Faken. My own experiences with many ZE522's the Philippines has excellent grip on the dry but tyre wear sucks, and rain time not tangkap! I have not try the Indo version(don't even know whether it exist, heard from a pariah tayar chop say during patching holes). The Thai edition, is overall suck laugh.gif It has less grip then the Philippines version, but wet grip kinda acceptable, tayar wear also not too bad lar. Consider overall gooding lar if dun compare it.

falken 522 got phillipines 1??

long time ago we manage to get FIRENZA made in Japan , same pattern with falken 522 as i know

country of original also depend , personally PREFER JAPAN made tire , cos they can control their error till 3/1000pcs got deflect , i think is the best at the moment (bridgestone / yokohama)
tire is round shape and easy to do wheel balancing , the chance to get vibrate is very less

thats y sell japanese brand also

nestum
post Sep 3 2014, 08:14 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(TAYARman @ Sep 3 2014, 02:23 PM)
I dun think it's because they produce the tyre in Indonesia (cos the Malaysia made also same). from my observation, GY do cut cost by thinning the rubber used. their tyre casing which consist of multiple rubber and metal layer frame is very thin now and can caused the tyre to easily bloat.

it just tat the "price" of GY tyre does not really match the "value" it brings.
goodyear have factory set up at indonesia as well

currently having "WORRY FREE" campaign

do check out their website

nestum
post Sep 3 2014, 08:16 PM

48 posts

FALKEN 912 got thailand and indonesia

both different threadwear rating

thai 280 or 300 ?

indonesia 320 or more ?

i dont really remember that

davidke20
post Sep 4 2014, 12:05 AM

QUOTE(nestum @ Sep 3 2014, 08:09 PM)
falken 522 got phillipines 1??

long time ago we manage to get FIRENZA made in Japan , same pattern with falken 522 as i know

country of original also depend , personally PREFER JAPAN made tire , cos they can control their error till 3/1000pcs got deflect , i think is the best at the moment (bridgestone / yokohama)
tire is round shape and easy to do wheel balancing , the chance to get vibrate is very less

thats y sell japanese brand also
Yes. Mine previous 195/55R15 was Philippines version(unless they put a false production origin on the tayar sidewall
0 laugh.gif
petelowyat
post Sep 4 2014, 07:31 PM

44 posts

Falken 912 is not that good for me. Too soft and grip is very average on wet road.
drfeelgood
post Sep 9 2014, 08:49 AM

3,735 posts

Oh... because last time my Tiara running on 322s made in indo and it wasng good.

But the 912s made in Thai is so far very good for its price. Consider value for money lor.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0255sec    0.84    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 03:37 PM