Artic Silver 5 on GC rams, safe?

TSborneo
post Aug 26 2006, 04:03 AM, updated 20y ago

316 posts

Im currently using a graphic card in which the heat sink cooler comes in contact with both the gpu and rams.I have a tube of AS5 and have already applied it on the gpu core and have noticeable drop in temps.

Is it safe to apply AS5 on graphic card rams? Currently there is some sticky white compound appied on the rams.

The GC rams does not have the connectors (kaki) protruding out . Seems to be underneath the rams and not visible.

safe or not?

jsnkok
post Aug 27 2006, 09:51 AM

345 posts

well a tiny bit on each chip is all u need smile.gif
kucingfight
post Aug 27 2006, 10:34 AM

5,784 posts

I would suggest not doing it.

1) Juz a tiny squish of AS5 on the circuit will probably kill the card

2) it wouldn't make much difference , you will not notice any difference. Best is to use ramsinks + good thermal tape + air flow over the sinks
TSborneo
post Aug 27 2006, 05:17 PM

316 posts

Thanks for the feedback guys. biggrin.gif

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Aug 27 2006, 10:34 AM)
I would suggest not doing it.

1) Juz a tiny squish of AS5 on the circuit will probably kill the card

2) it wouldn't make much difference , you will not notice any difference. Best is to use ramsinks + good thermal tape + air flow over the sinks
Btw, I cant use ram heatsinks cos the rams are covered and in contact with the original hsf cooler. Unless I change the cooler to a zalman type, then perhaps i can install the ram heatsinks. But at the moment, i wanna try to avoid buying another cooler loh......

My question is would it be safe to apply AS5 on the rams itself? Meaning applying on the 'black color' part of the rams, while being very careful not to smear on other components and especially its connectors. i was hoping that perhaps with as5 applied, heat is transfered to the heatsink faster, instead of the original white cream stuff.

Is the black color part of the rams conductive?
( sorry ..... I dunno what to call that part.....)

tqtq

kucingfight
post Aug 27 2006, 10:50 PM

5,784 posts

Yes it would be best to use AS5. What i'm concerned is that ,when applying the heatsink back, in compression, the access AS5 would flow out to the PCB. Try using non conductive, like Artic ceramic
GKWong
post Aug 27 2006, 11:03 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(borneo @ Aug 27 2006, 05:17 PM)
Thanks for the feedback guys.  biggrin.gif
Btw, I cant use ram heatsinks cos the rams are covered and in contact with the original hsf cooler. Unless I change the cooler to a zalman type, then perhaps i can install the ram heatsinks. But at the moment, i wanna try to avoid buying another cooler loh......

My question is would it be safe to apply AS5 on the rams itself? Meaning applying on the 'black color' part of the rams, while being very careful not to smear on other components and especially its connectors. i was hoping that perhaps with as5 applied, heat is transfered to the heatsink faster, instead of the original white cream stuff.

Is the black color part of the rams conductive?
( sorry ..... I dunno what to call that part.....)

tqtq
imo, i think it is safe at long as u dun be too greedy to put too much as5 on top of each chips. a tiny little drop is more than enuf, put in a size smaller than half the size of a rice.
TSborneo
post Aug 28 2006, 01:00 AM

316 posts

so confirmed ram chip surface is not conductive ?
cos if so i will then proceed to apply as5. ( thinly n carefully as advised)

yeah...... figured that Arctic Ceramique would perhaps be a better choice.

Unfortunately, i have a big tube of as5 (12gm) and dunno what else to use it with.
Having already applied on 3 procs and 3 gc cores........... seems like the tube still has the same amount like new.. laugh.gif

GKWong
post Aug 28 2006, 06:43 PM

jeng jeng jeng~~
1,478 posts

QUOTE(borneo @ Aug 28 2006, 01:00 AM)
so confirmed ram chip surface is not conductive ?
cos if so i will then proceed to apply as5. ( thinly n carefully as advised)

yeah...... figured that Arctic Ceramique would perhaps be a better choice.

Unfortunately, i have a big tube of as5 (12gm) and dunno what else to use it with.
Having already applied on 3 procs and 3 gc cores........... seems like the tube still has the same amount like new..  laugh.gif
sure not conductive lar...is some kind of epoxy covering the actual parts inside the ramchip. if tat surface is conductive, then many things ady short and burn ler...lol laugh.gif
miraged
post Sep 3 2006, 03:29 PM

405 posts

anyone knows where to buy thermal tape?!?!?! arghhh! been looking for it once again.. .can't seem to find any..
frust.

0.0197sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:47 PM