28 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Bottom

Collectibles ~[]Marvel Super Heroes Trading Cards[]~, Series 1 Up To The Current VS System

FunkyMonkiBaby
post Mar 9 2012, 11:04 AM

My 1st comic was X-Factor issue 40.

Then comics collecting started full time with X-Men Jim Lee issue 1. Looked back for those Uncanny X-Men drawn by Jim Lee.

1st trading card was Jim Lee x-Men.

Other artists i like are Chris Bachalo, Joe Mad, Marc Silvestri, Jim Balent Mike Turner and those who draw babes like our fantasy dream girls. Too bad Joe Mad turned to dark side and ended BAttlechasers abruptly.

Back then RM 1 for a trading card was expensive to our pocket money. I wont spend more than RM 5 for a special card but sometimes I may after taking into account the time and effort to look for one.

Actually the kids are into trading cards too....thanks to Animal Kaiser series. One card at RM 3, I see parents offloading tokens to their kids to play endlessly. Back then RM 3 for a pack of cards le...lol.
vavavoom
post Mar 12 2012, 01:58 AM

Was in Penang last couple of days but now I'm back....

X-Factor #40? You missed some of the milestone in that series; namely #24 & # 25 - 1st Appearance of Archangel (one if not the most favourite X-Men of mine like.. EVER!!)

Jim Lee #1 with multiple cover & a gatefold cover I think. Uncanny X-Men run by him was & still is spectacular.

Purchased 1992 MARVEL UNIVERSE SERIES 3 COMPLETE HOLOGRAM CHASE CARD SET & 1991 MARVEL UNIVERSE SERIES 2 COMPLETE HOLOGRAM CHASE CARD SET last few days.

Used to have them but some has spots on them & some was sold long time ago. Now need to look for 1991 Marvel Universe Series 1 & I'm back on track

Here's how they look on ebay. Once the actual thing are in my grasps, will poison some more. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

vavavoom
post Mar 12 2012, 10:15 PM

Poison... again smile.gif

mchw08
post Mar 13 2012, 01:07 AM

Speechless on the poison... btw.. all my cards are in boxes and case. and each time i wanna look at them, kena touch them.. is comics shop still selling those card sleeves and how much are they going for nowadays? may need to buy a bunch to display my cards.. smile.gif
vavavoom
post Mar 13 2012, 03:29 AM

QUOTE(mchw08 @ Mar 13 2012, 01:07 AM)
Speechless on the poison...  btw.. all my cards are in boxes and case. and each time i wanna look at them, kena touch them.. is comics shop still selling those card sleeves and how much are they going for nowadays? may need to buy a bunch to display my cards.. smile.gif
I think you can still get them from speciality shop. Here's the ebay link of one selling from Malaysia.

http://www.ebay.com.my/itm/Trading-Game-Ca...ab#ht_964wt_754
mchw08
post Mar 13 2012, 01:34 PM

THANKS, will have a look.
vavavoom
post Mar 14 2012, 10:40 AM

Bought another holo set from your friendly neighbourhood ebay. Its an Impel X-Men holo set. Here's a pic from the Seller.

mchw08
post Mar 14 2012, 10:43 PM

wow stunning!!!
vavavoom
post Mar 15 2012, 11:05 PM

Now emptying some of my Trading Card Album to make way for the coming hologram sets. Wonder if we can still get this album locally. The 9-pocket top loader page are fixed to the album. To order this thru ebay is quite expensive.

Here's how it looks like.

mchw08
post Mar 15 2012, 11:24 PM

I think we can get those 3 ring binder folder from stationary shop, n then get those card holder from the seller u posted a while back.... kau tim. last time when i started collecting.. i put the card in photo album.. those plastic/hardboard type cover.... smile.gif
Anespian
post Mar 16 2012, 02:02 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(mchw08 @ Mar 15 2012, 11:24 PM)
I think we can get those 3 ring binder folder from stationary shop, n then get those card holder from the seller u posted a while back.... kau tim. last time when i started collecting.. i put the card in photo album.. those plastic/hardboard type cover.... smile.gif
Same..3 ring folder cost a little over rm10++. 9 cards clear holder can be easily purchased from comics or game shop. My only issue faced is some of my cards sticks to the card holder after so long in storage. Ouch!
vavavoom
post Mar 16 2012, 02:29 AM

Yes I do have the 3 ring binder but I don't quite like them becos of the ring. Too much hassle to flip the pages cos sometimes it get stuck & you have to carefully open page after page to avoid such problem.

If we uses the one that I've mentioned earlier, its more sturdier & looks much better. Another problem I faced is that most if not all of the 9-cards clear holder after 5 or more years, the clear holder becomes brittle & I have to transfer all the card sets into a box or something. But this problem doesn't exist with the one mentioned earlier. This happens to my NBA card collection.

If you buy Ultra Pro clear holder, you won't face problem of getting your cards stuck to the pocket but like I said, after 5 years or so, the clear holder becomes brittle.
vavavoom
post Mar 16 2012, 02:45 AM

This is what I mean. But not all becomes brittle, only the top part. Maybe becos they are exposed to the room temperature or something. I'm using Ultra Pro but I'd guess even the good ones are not good enough to weather the test of time.

Added on March 16, 2012, 8:49 pmhuh?

This post has been edited by vavavoom: Mar 16 2012, 08:49 PM

Attached Image Attached Image Attached Image
arek
post Mar 16 2012, 09:59 PM

Some of my Marvel trading cards

This post has been edited by arek: Mar 16 2012, 10:03 PM
vavavoom
post Mar 18 2012, 01:04 AM

A card signed by Stan "The Man" Lee excelsior himself!! Nice bro arek. But I don't recognise the other guy. Can't read the inscription. The most recent Thor cards are nice too but as the word reads,"Recent". I'm more mesmerized with your older sets seen here.

1. X-Men- Series 1 1992 - Show us the holograms insert?
2. Marvel Masterpieces 1992 - Show us the etched cards inserts?
3. Marvel Universe Series I 1990 - Show us the 1st hologram set ever by Marvel
4. Fleer Ultra Spiderman 1995 - Where are the Holoblasts?
5. X-Force #1 Comics Trading Card insert 1991
6. X-Men Series 2 1993 - Colored holograms set + 3D Wolvie
7. Marvel Universe Series 5 1994 - Show us the 3 levels of inserts

Anyway, great collections you have there Mr Arek.

We need more collectors like you to show off what you have. It'll keep this thread alive.
arek
post Mar 18 2012, 10:23 AM

QUOTE(vavavoom @ Mar 18 2012, 01:04 AM)
A card signed by Stan "The Man" Lee excelsior himself!! Nice bro arek. But I don't recognise the other guy. Can't read the inscription. The most recent Thor cards are nice too but as the word reads,"Recent". I'm more mesmerized with your older sets seen here.

1. X-Men- Series 1 1992 - Show us the holograms insert?
2. Marvel Masterpieces 1992 - Show us the etched cards inserts?
3. Marvel Universe Series I 1990 - Show us the 1st hologram set ever by Marvel
4. Fleer Ultra Spiderman 1995 - Where are the Holoblasts?
5. X-Force #1 Comics Trading Card insert 1991
6. X-Men Series 2 1993 - Colored holograms set + 3D Wolvie
7. Marvel Universe Series 5 1994 - Show us the 3 levels of inserts

Anyway, great collections you have there Mr Arek.

We need more collectors like you to show off what you have. It'll keep this thread alive.
Thanks. The other signed card is Brett Ratner who directed X-Men 3.

I only have three holograms from the X-men series 1. Two of em are regular and the other is a promo card from Advance Comics.

The marvel masterpieces set is complete though. I've included a close up of the foil effects

Series 1 cards are quite plain and were based on the artwork of cards from the master set

I only have a few holoblasts from the spider-man set.

For X-men series 2 I'm missing the storm hologram

And for series 5 I don't have any inserts. Got pics of some other sets though

Anyone here ordering the Avengers Asssemble cards? I'm thinking about getting a couple of boxes
vavavoom
post Mar 18 2012, 12:08 PM

Magneto Promo from Advance Comics, yeah I remember that one & also Venom Promo hologram for Marvel Universe Series 2. But alas, sold them once upon a time quite sometime ago but now trying to reminiscence that past by buying them online (ebay).

Outstanding Marvel Masterpieces inserts. Your Marvel Universe Series 1 hologram are awesome. I can see them are quite centered unlike some which are not properly placed whereby the sides are not proportionate. It makes all the difference when pricing them. The holograms may be plain but its still classic.

Holoblast inserts are nice. Contemplating of buying them online - someday soon I'd guess.

I do have a complete set of X-Men Series 2 though inclusive of the holos & 3-D Wolvie + the 9-Gold Foil 30 years cards.

How do you plan to order Avengers Assemble cards? I'm quite interested in a box or 2 if you can order for me... biggrin.gif
arek
post Mar 18 2012, 12:37 PM

Once they're in stock I'll be ordering them from Dave & Adams Card World

as i'm in Brunei, don't think i can order a box for you. sorry bro
vavavoom
post Mar 18 2012, 02:22 PM

Ahhh... Brunei. That's like a world's apart. Well its good to know we have card enthusiast over there. Do we have many people who shares the same hobby over there in Brunei? If not, then it must be a lonely place to be collecting anything right?

I used to tell fellow collectors that this hobby is called Trading Cards. We are supposed to trade multiple cards that we have for cards that we don't have. But since the market is relatively small, we had no choice but to buy them in boxes or packets.

I've checked Dave & Adams Card World. Looks interesting. How does the shipping charges looks like from there? Do you encounter problems with your local Customs like sales tax or missing cards/boxes?
arek
post Mar 18 2012, 03:33 PM

I've not been taxed on any of my shipments and UPS offers tracked shipment straight to my house. My last order was for 4 boxes of cards the shipping was US$28 which is reasonable for courier service.

So far i've not come across any other collectors of non[sport cards over here. I met one guy collecting basketball cards and another who collects Magic the Gathering.

There's potential for the hobby to grow, just need to get more people exposed to trading cards. I thought about ordering a case and selling on consignment with some cineplexes.

28 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 10 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:34 PM