Keyboards/Piano ANOTHER ENQUIRIES ON KEYBOARD FOR NEWBIE, newbie wanna learn keyboard

TSfate18
post Aug 11 2014, 02:08 PM, updated 12y ago

hello sifus, masters and music legends out there smile.gif i am a college student who wanna start to learn keyboard for hobby.
though i saw many threads here on beginners want to start playing keyboard but i want to start a new thread.

so...i did a little search on keyboards and found out there are many types of keyboard.

straight to the point, what are your suggestions for a budget below rm500 if there are any, and what is the type suitable for a leisure player like me.
im kinda interested to play keyboard as i watched many synthesia tutorial videos on youtube and i am not guitar person coz im sucks with guitar strings.

im not very concern on the quality of the sounds to pick up very high quality expensive keyboard. so i think keyboard below rm500 will do for me.

so....please guide me smile.gif

This post has been edited by fate18: Aug 11 2014, 02:09 PM
pipedream
post Aug 11 2014, 08:35 PM

2,353 posts

if u are going to learn through synthesia, u're gonna have a bad time. start from the basics, music theory, identify piano keys, proper fingering etc.

as for your budget, its on the low side for a recommended basic keyboard, which at least goes for 900-1k which are casio CTK 3xxx or yamaha psr e3xx, that being said, u can find used keyboards at ur budget.
TSfate18
post Aug 12 2014, 01:23 AM

QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 11 2014, 08:35 PM)
if u are going to learn through synthesia, u're gonna have a bad time. start from the basics, music theory, identify piano keys, proper fingering etc.

as for your budget, its on the low side for a recommended basic keyboard, which at least goes for 900-1k which are casio CTK 3xxx or yamaha psr e3xx, that being said, u can find used keyboards at ur budget.
TSfate18
post Aug 12 2014, 01:27 AM

really?? okey emm do you know any computer application or software for learning keyboard from the very basic? i dont really have enough time to spend on piano class. there is video game which is Rocksmith which enable even beginners to learn and play guitar in fun ways. any for piano lesson?
Pugface
post Aug 12 2014, 01:37 AM

522 posts

QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 11 2014, 08:35 PM)

Pipe dream is exactly right. Rm500 can get u nth but a toy keyboard with no touch response. Meaning no matter what weight u put on keys, the sound is monotone. I can't express music that way. U do not necessary needs to go classes but highly recommended. It will hasten ur learning process. Newbies usually get over excited with music instrument and when realized it was not as easy as they initially expected, instrument will be tossed aside and left to collect dust. Go for classes first. Try one Month. Each week once. Not necessary buy keyboard first. If u think u really can do it, then only buy. If no, quit.

Nobody is born not good with guitar strings. That kind of determination level make me doubt u can carry any instruments at all. I suggest u take my advice on classes

This post has been edited by Pugface: Aug 12 2014, 01:38 AM
pipedream
post Aug 12 2014, 12:36 PM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(fate18 @ Aug 12 2014, 02:27 AM)
really?? okey emm do you know any computer application or software for learning keyboard from the very basic? i dont really have enough time to spend on piano class. there is video game which is Rocksmith which enable even beginners to learn and play guitar in fun ways. any for piano lesson?
My first "lesson", was through garageband piano basic tutorial, similar lessons can be found in youtube.

This is a good place to start. And based on my own experience (I self taught myself piano and guitar), software like rocksmith/synthesia DOES NOT helps in learning. Rocksmith is the worst "learning" tool I ever seen, its fun as a game, but as a "learning" tool it fails badly. I don't condemn these software as I myself uses synthesia to verify whether my playing on a song is correct, but if u are going to learn instruments based on these softwares, u are definitely going to learn the wrong thing and worse is u'll lose interest fast.

Sorry mate, u'll have to learn from the hard way. The most interactive software is garageband on mac, where u can actually plug in a keyboard and play along with the notes on the practice session.

This post has been edited by pipedream: Aug 12 2014, 12:39 PM
TSfate18
post Aug 12 2014, 01:00 PM

QUOTE(Pugface @ Aug 12 2014, 01:37 AM)
Pipe dream is exactly right. Rm500 can get u nth but a toy keyboard with no touch response. Meaning no matter what weight u put on keys, the sound is monotone. I can't express music that way. U do not necessary needs to go classes but highly recommended. It will hasten ur learning process. Newbies usually get over excited with music instrument and when realized it was not as easy as they initially expected, instrument will be tossed aside and left to collect dust. Go for classes first. Try one Month. Each week once. Not necessary buy keyboard first. If u think u really can do it, then only buy. If no, quit.

Nobody is born not good with guitar strings. That kind of determination level make me doubt u can carry any instruments at all. I suggest u take my advice on classes
so..taking a month classes to try huh..humm actually i found cheap keyboard on the internet..would you mind giving me opinions on these keyboards, sifu notworthy.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1973459/all
Pugface
post Aug 12 2014, 01:57 PM

522 posts

QUOTE(fate18 @ Aug 12 2014, 01:00 PM)
so..taking a month classes to try huh..humm actually i found cheap keyboard on the internet..would you mind giving me opinions on these keyboards, sifu  notworthy.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1973459/all
I recommended class bcos I don't see how u will stick to keyboard long if u can't stick to guitar. So I figure with guidance u stand a higher chance learning. I am a self taught too so I can't read notes. Learn chords and scale on internet and see videos. U go try the keyboard urself to know more lo. I not familiar with that modal..
TSfate18
post Aug 13 2014, 01:03 AM

QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 12 2014, 12:36 PM)
My first "lesson", was through garageband piano basic tutorial, similar lessons can be found in youtube.

This is a good place to start. And based on my own experience (I self taught myself piano and guitar), software like rocksmith/synthesia DOES NOT helps in learning. Rocksmith is the worst "learning" tool I ever seen, its fun as a game, but as a "learning" tool it fails badly. I don't condemn these software as I myself uses synthesia to verify whether my playing on a song is correct, but if u are going to learn instruments based on these softwares, u are definitely going to learn the wrong thing and worse is u'll lose interest fast.

Sorry mate, u'll have to learn from the hard way. The most interactive software is garageband on mac, where u can actually plug in a keyboard and play along with the notes on the practice session.
okey..by the way, what is the different between synthesisers and digital keyboard?
pipedream
post Aug 13 2014, 11:53 AM

2,353 posts

QUOTE(fate18 @ Aug 13 2014, 02:03 AM)
okey..by the way, what is the different between synthesisers and digital keyboard?
Synthesizers at the very essence manipulates digital signals so that it can produces weird electronic sounds (analog synths). But nowadays, the line between synths and digital keyboards/pianos has become blurred as both are based on samples loaded onto the keyboard (romplers).

So to truly differentiate between these two, one can say synths are those keyboards who are more geared with music production capability i.e. sequencers, a variety of sounds etc and usually synths are built for light-weight, so no weighted keys and the amount of keys are usually minimal (20-61 keys).

Digital keyboards/pianos are most likely those keyboards with minimal soundbank, focuses more on the playability of the key action and tries to emulate a real acoustic piano as close as possible, number of keys also is higher (61-88 keys).

Of course there are hybrids, which brings the best out of both world like stage pianos, but most likely cost a lot.
TSfate18
post Aug 13 2014, 10:01 PM

QUOTE(pipedream @ Aug 13 2014, 11:53 AM)
Synthesizers at the very essence manipulates digital signals so that it can produces weird electronic sounds (analog synths). But nowadays, the line between synths and digital keyboards/pianos has become blurred as both are based on samples loaded onto the keyboard (romplers).

So to truly differentiate between these two, one can say synths are those keyboards who are more geared with music production capability i.e. sequencers, a variety of sounds etc and usually synths are built for light-weight, so no weighted keys and the amount of keys are usually minimal (20-61 keys).

Digital keyboards/pianos are most likely those keyboards with minimal soundbank, focuses more on the playability of the key action and tries to emulate a real acoustic piano as close as possible, number of keys also is higher (61-88 keys).

Of course there are hybrids, which brings the best out of both world like stage pianos, but most likely cost a lot.
ahhhhh i see hmm.gif okey so now i see my target biggrin.gif thanks pal
keyven
post Aug 14 2014, 07:52 AM

373 posts

500 is no way near for a playable keyboard...

expand your budget to 1K and you could find a decent one.. if you are so miser about money, what you get would be sampah...

0.0230sec    0.98    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 07:00 PM