PIONEER HU to Nissan Almera, Steering Control

TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 10 2014, 04:17 PM, updated 12y ago

Noob
1,917 posts

I need to ask help from lyn's ICE sifu's.

Recently I changed my HU to a Pioneer AVH165. Was told by the seller its compatible with OEM steering wheel controls but after installation, mine doesn't really work.

It seems I need a steering wheel control module, which cost around RM250 +-

Anyone can point me in the right direction? I really wanna use my steering controls. It was the sole reason I didnt change my player for over a year.. until now

Thanks. rclxms.gif
matmoto5125
post Aug 10 2014, 04:29 PM

Silent Reader
1,305 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 10 2014, 04:17 PM)

Recently I changed my HU to a Pioneer AVH165. Was told by the seller its compatible with OEM steering wheel controls but after installation, mine doesn't really work.

Anyone can point me in the right direction? I really wanna use my steering controls. It was the sole reason I didnt change my player for over a year.. until now
Thanks.  rclxms.gif
Ask seller to make it work.
TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 10 2014, 04:36 PM

Noob
1,917 posts

QUOTE(matmoto5125 @ Aug 10 2014, 04:29 PM)
Ask seller to make it work.
he's finding a solution as we speak, but i am also seeking alternatives.

in an ideal world, he would blame the shop i did the installation yada yada yada. lets avoid that.

i just need a solution rclxms.gif
k!nex
post Aug 10 2014, 06:03 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 10 2014, 04:17 PM)

Thanks.  rclxms.gif
You bought the AVH-X1650DVD is it ??? If really this model, confirm can use your oem steering control. If you still have the owner's manual, go page 44.
TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 10 2014, 06:16 PM

Noob
1,917 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Aug 10 2014, 06:03 PM)
You bought the AVH-X1650DVD is it ??? If really this model, confirm can use your oem steering control. If you still have the owner's manual, go page 44.
alamak. for a minute there u made me happy. mine is AVH-165DVD. not AVH-X1650DVD cry.gif

but yeah, mine should be able to as well. there is a "steering remote control" option in my settings menu, but again, my set did not come with any wiring harness or module/adapter for that part.

currently connected to my steering control using a 2-3 wire adapter - but the controls are funky. only working properly is SOURCE. the volume up and down gives same effect, it will lower volume. the nxt/previous function became fwd and rwd.

rclxub.gif

installer said, thats the best he could do. he cant seem to get it working properly.
k!nex
post Aug 10 2014, 06:43 PM

Restless stars
3,391 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 10 2014, 06:16 PM)
alamak. for a minute there u made me happy. mine is AVH-165DVD. not AVH-X1650DVD  cry.gif

but yeah, mine should be able to as well. there is a "steering remote control" option in my settings menu, but again, my set did not come with any wiring harness or module/adapter for that part.

currently connected to my steering control using a 2-3 wire adapter - but the controls are funky. only working properly is SOURCE. the volume up and down gives same effect, it will lower volume. the nxt/previous function became fwd and rwd.

rclxub.gif

installer said, thats the best he could do. he cant seem to get it working properly.
The steering control wire is no module. Just the head is a L shape 3.5mm jack like your normal headphone use. That thing plug to the headunit. Got 3 wires.
Like this

Once you go to the steering wheel control screen, touch the key and hold the steering wheel button to assign each button with a function.

This post has been edited by k!nex: Aug 10 2014, 06:50 PM
TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 10 2014, 07:11 PM

Noob
1,917 posts

QUOTE(k!nex @ Aug 10 2014, 06:43 PM)
The steering control wire is no module. Just the head is a L shape 3.5mm jack like your normal headphone use. That thing plug to the headunit. Got 3 wires.
Like this

Once you go to the steering wheel control screen, touch the key and hold the steering wheel button to assign each button with a function.

I have that wire with jack. But my steering controls option on the player cannot be accessed.

Maybe my installer tak boleh pakai. or he connected it to the wrong wire... hmm.gif

This post has been edited by arrowhead7372: Aug 10 2014, 09:08 PM
TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 11 2014, 12:04 PM

Noob
1,917 posts

Anyone else successfully managed to use back their steering control functions after changing to aftermarket player?
TSarrowhead7372
post Aug 12 2014, 08:37 AM

Noob
1,917 posts

Ok.. SO i managed to enter the setting via player.

But cannot set properly for some reason. Volume button register as 1 button regardless up or down.

Solution - source button for volume up
Volume button - for volume down
howiechoo
post Aug 13 2014, 07:54 PM

Sincerely providing good music since 2004
1,919 posts

QUOTE(arrowhead7372 @ Aug 12 2014, 08:37 AM)
Ok.. SO i managed to enter the setting via player.

But cannot set properly for some reason. Volume button register as 1 button regardless up or down.

Solution - source button for volume up
Volume button - for volume down
ur steering wheel control must add adapter...

"oem steering wheel supported/compatible" doesn't mean it will work on any car.

0.0209sec    1.41    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 09:33 PM