Team Vodafone McLaren Mercedes V2, Malaysia GP Qlfy: Heikki P3, Lewis P4

weiheng
post Sep 11 2006, 12:29 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 11 2006, 11:29 AM)
anyways, that was lame. I still can't believe that the steward punishes Alonso for that. C'mon, I see cars that are closer than that but are not punished. Even if Schummi wins the WC this year, it's hollow. WTF were they thinking? This sports has enough conterversional decisions now, and this does not look good for the FIA's image.

and for those who still feels that Alonso is guilty, look at the qualifying fact again.
1. The laptime is around 1.22. He went out of the pit with around. 1.26 remaining.
2. He need to cross the line before the clock reaches 0.
3. he needs about 2 second to speed up and get the heat back into his tyre, which leave him around about 1.24
4. He crosses the line with about 2 seconds to spare.

Thus I doubt in no way he can impede Massa's lap. I mean he has to push the car to get within that time. Any logical thinking man can see that. this is crap. I won't watch any of the remaining races after this.
I read somewhere saying Alonso hv to let Massa pass by eventhough by doing that means you cant make a fast lap.. rules is rules
weiheng
post Sep 11 2006, 02:03 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

no there's no rule saying that. only that u can't block a driver on his flying lap. alonso was always a good distance ahead of him and was in no position to block him at all. massa went slower cause he got distracted. but isn't that why this qualifying format was introduced rather than the 1 at a time style. in the previous qualy format similar to the one we have now, drivers were getting compromised lap times all the time and no one was penalised

if i'm not mistaken there is a case involve JV n Fisi right?
weiheng
post Sep 11 2006, 04:29 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ Sep 11 2006, 03:58 PM)
That was a no brainer. the car was not even 1 metre apart. Alonso and Massa was at least 6 cars apart
is it? lol I'm not too sure of that. but nevertheless he has to let Massa pass by.
weiheng
post Sep 11 2006, 05:22 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 11 2006, 05:08 PM)
no he doesn't have to. and why should he? to catch massa on massa's slowing down lap and compromise his own lap time? no driver in their right mind would have done that. schumi included. and for that matter...schumi wouldn't have been so distracted by the car in front of him. massa is a mediocre driver. alonso being penalised for massa's mistake is ridiculous
what slowing down lap? it's Massa flying lap la..
weiheng
post Sep 12 2006, 01:10 AM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 12 2006, 12:45 AM)
read my post carefully. what do u do after a flying lap? u slow down...if alonso let massa past him he would have caught massa on his slowing down lap....sheesh  rolleyes.gif
when ppl doing his flying lap and u r not u should let ppl pass. the same apply to massa. if massa didnt let alonso pass then he should be penaltised as well..
weiheng
post Sep 12 2006, 12:40 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(Raikkonen @ Sep 12 2006, 01:32 AM)
hmmm...I also think that the penalties given to Alonso was a controversial decision.

Watch this:

YouTube - Penalty Alonso Monza

1st of all, Alonso's on his hot lap...has 90 seconds to reach the Start/Finish line
before the chequered flag.

Massa's on his flying lap.
I don't see any blocking.

Maybe it's an act of courtesy...since the driver behind is on his flying lap,
the hot lap driver in front must yield.
Too bad it's not in the rules of F1.
Is it?
Since no courtesy given by Alonso/Renault, Ferrari starts to whine.

Ferrari's whining all the time.
Since they have a big mama (FIA) behind them...every whining will favor them.

Kimi, please don't whine when you're in a Ferrari.
Winning like that is so lame and cheap.
I don't care who the drivers are...if his attitude suxx...I'll hate him.

Be more like Mika...aggresive but smooth, smart.
Try to be better with more world titles.
Source
seriously every team whine.. what u call when Mclaren or Renault whine?

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 12 2006, 01:37 AM)
talking is easy. letting ppl past is not. how many times have we seen the car behind being bottled by a slower car because he caught him at the wrong point. alonso did the right thing by staying out in front so that massa had no way to catch him. there is NO rule saying he must let the car behind pass because then the rule would be too vague. what would be considered acceptable distance? so should every car on the same lap let massa thru as well?? rolleyes.gif
i dun know let ppl pass is a must or a courtesy.. when u hv no prob when other team doing it or being penalised but u start to whine when Ferrari is involved..

fair or not fair.. he deserved 0 point in this race. He cut the chicane and do u think he deserve being penalised? what if Schumi cut the chicane?

and at last he also DNF. u said he rev his engine too hard? he was up to 6th place after first corner.. up to 5th place after Heifield's speeding in pitlane. Did u see him attacking? Rev engine too hard? bullshit..

weiheng
post Sep 12 2006, 06:53 PM

I'm Lovin' it
1,513 posts

QUOTE(verx @ Sep 12 2006, 01:04 PM)
it's not whether ferrari was involved or not. i'm not a renault fan and i don't really like alonso although i respect him but i'm trying to be objective by stating that the stewards were wrong to penalise him and why i think so.

u however prejudge me unfairly by saying i whine only when ferrari is involved which isn't the case, have tried to justify the steward's cock up in an attempt to "protect" your dear ferrari because they are undoubtedly the beneficiaries of the stewards' cock-up but the fact is i'm not blaming ferrari; i'm blaming the FIA. and then u go on to call alonso's claim bullshit as if u had renault's telemetry to show that alonso wasn't pushing as hard as he could.  rolleyes.gif
sorry if i prejudge u.. what i can say is FIA is just being consistent with their penalties. I checked back the video involved GF n JV. GF start to wave his hand when it's like more than 100metres behind. And he continues to wave his hand even it's 100metres away. Only until the last part of the video where they go through a very slow corner then their distance close to within 2 metres. I see a same distance or maybe closer in Massa's case. of course Massa didnt wave his hand la..

FIA did that just for 1 reason - business. Seriously they'll do that to who ever 2 teams that is on top, to artificially create a close fight. They did that to Ferrari n Schumi. They did that to Mclaren n Renault. When it involve Ferrari ppl just think it must be a FIA - Ferrari cospiracy theory. Why nobody think it's FIA - Renault cospiracy theory then FIA change rules to end Ferrari's dominance. It just so happened that Ferrari is consistently 1 of the competitive top team.

For Alonso's engine, Kubica, Massa n Alonso basically maintain a similar speed from starting until 2nd pit. If other cars engine no prob but only his got prob then it's Renault engine prob. I point out this because somebody saying if not because of that penalty Alonso can win la bla bla bla.. even if he get the pole in qualifying he still have to rev hard to hold Mclaren n Ferrari behind that is obviously faster. His engine gonna blow also.. at the end he deserve 0 point. cheers

0.0334sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 10:48 PM