what kind of programming related question?, they like to ask..

TSjasonlim
post Aug 24 2006, 09:48 PM, updated 20y ago

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

i m an IT graduate..going for a few interview veli soon..jst wanna noe wat kind of programming question they will usually ask for VB n SQL?any hot q they will usually ask 2 test the interviewee?hope someone can help me wit this smile.gif

This post has been edited by jasonlim: Aug 24 2006, 09:49 PM
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2006, 09:50 PM

52,874 posts

If you're applying for the position of Test Engineer, they'll look into C and UNIX.
TSjasonlim
post Aug 24 2006, 10:08 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

nah,mine they require VB n SQL skill
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2006, 10:12 PM

52,874 posts

I faced one question regarding SQL. The interviewer asked me how to show certain fields from certain tables using a general SQL command.
kb2005
post Aug 24 2006, 10:44 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

Diff company require diff programming skill. So, it is hard to tell you unless you let us know which company you're going for the interview ?
SUSDavid83
post Aug 24 2006, 10:57 PM

52,874 posts

I think he has already stated that the company is going to ask questions on VB and SQL.

If for SQL, just brush up some fundamental skills on SQL commands.
TSjasonlim
post Aug 24 2006, 11:04 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

ya..SQL i think i shud noe wat 2 study..but VB? sweat.gif
sunbeams
post Aug 24 2006, 11:30 PM

878 posts

I don't know what is the latest approach. During my time, all the did was sit you in front of a computer (loaded with a couple of IDEs, database systems etc) and gave you 4 hours to come up with a fully functional system.

This approach proves effective as you can differentiate who are the real good programmers. But it took too much time, and they switched to paper based questions.

On the threadstarter's topic, have you any idea if this test would be practical (using a real Visual Studio IDE and online SQL Server), or simply paper-based exam?

In my opinion, SQL is more of a standard syntax (with minor variations across the different flavours of DBMS systems). As long as you are clear of how the concepts work, you shouldn't worry about any specific DBMS.

VB, seems like the closest programming language to pseudocode. Looking at the nature of the syntax being close to pseudo-language, they are probably looking at how you would code your logic. Programming, as I have mentioned in other threads, is pretty much about logic, and how you come up with a good solution to a problem. There's no right or wrong, but what separates you from the others is how efficient and optimise your code turn out to be.

I don't think they are expecting you to be a guru in complex topics such as integrating with the Win32 API or using native windows libraries etc.

Hint: Never forget to put comments in your codes. When I interview interviewees, I would take note of programmers who practice good documentation, comments included.

Good luck
mIssfROGY
post Aug 25 2006, 01:56 AM

2,155 posts

i kena once be4 have to sit in front of the computer to do some codings according to their requirements within a time limit of 1 hour.

Then another one is a paper based ques. Where a program is given to me, and i am to understand the whole program and write out the outputs.

Hope this helps.
HaszAhmad
post Aug 25 2006, 09:57 AM

12K Porn Fan Club
1,821 posts

I not sure about VB...but i kene SQL and PHP before..Wow..they asked all the advanced one..like object ORiented stuff..phewww icon_rolleyes.gif
??????
post Aug 25 2006, 08:09 PM

58 posts

STUDY fundamental skills on SQL commands

and programming concept is enough biggrin.gif

Good Luck
jing_kohkoh
post Aug 25 2006, 08:29 PM

Let's kick some AutoBUTTs
650 posts

Ask u perform SQL queries lor. Easy one might be SELECT * FROM table, harder one might be SELECT * FROM table1 LEFT JOIN table2 and ask u the outcome. As long as u can write in VB to connect to DB and perform sql as requested then u will be able to pass all kind of entry level interview.

narf03
post Aug 25 2006, 10:16 PM

4,547 posts

Wahahaha, been once like that, gaven me 1 hour, i took 5 mins, question so easy just like looking for fresh ones.
hfmea
post Aug 26 2006, 01:57 AM

WARNED 2/3(tm) COZ MY Blood is BLUE!!
11,151 posts

I kena once...they asked me to do Java questions but inside the job scopes didnt mention about java..lol doh.gif so,it's better to prepare more than just vb..lol tongue.gif

some MCQ questions+some subjective..which u need to write some sourcecodes.

This post has been edited by hfmea: Aug 26 2006, 01:58 AM
TSjasonlim
post Aug 26 2006, 12:53 PM

Bunga(R)
3,575 posts

damn!!jst came bek from a long 2 hours interview..wondering they wanna hire MD o wat doh.gif

i was given a test..with VB n SQL question..***!!i was not well prepared..some q cant answer sweat.gif
hfmea
post Aug 26 2006, 12:57 PM

WARNED 2/3(tm) COZ MY Blood is BLUE!!
11,151 posts

Hahaha..last time i was offered a job -trainee also need about 2 hours interview..lol

0.0170sec    1.00    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:44 AM