TSrhoyo
post Aug 8 2014, 08:20 AM, updated 12y ago

-
2,800 posts

MOVIE SOURCE :

http://dailyseni.com/index.php/home/news/f...th-hugh-jackman

Movie director, comedian and entertainer Afdlin Shauki might be working with a Hollywood director - and possibly X-Men star Hugh Jackman - on a movie about the Sandakan Death Marches in World War II.

The Sandakan Death Marches refer to the series of forced marches from Sandakan, Sabah, to Ranau during WWII conducted by Japanese occupying forces, which resulted in the deaths of more than 2,000 Allied prisoners of war, many of whom were Australian and British soldiers.

At the end of the war, only six Australian military men survived the ordeal. The Death Marches are widely regarded as the worst atrocity suffered by Australian servicemen in the country's history.

The movie project, currently under development by the National Film Development Corporation (Finas), would team Afdlin up with Hollywood director Roger Christian.

Christian won an Academy Award for his set design work for George Lucas's legendary Star Wars, and has been nominated for another Oscar for his art direction on Ridley Scott's Alien. On the flipside, Christian also directed the notoriously bad Battlefield Earth, John Travolta's film allegory on Scientology's religious beliefs.

Christian spent roughly three months in Sabah earlier this year, conducting interviews with local residents and researching for the movie.

Australian actor Hugh Jackman, who's become a household name for his portrayal of Marvel mutant superhero Wolverine in the X-Men movie franchise, has been offered a role in the movie.

The project currently has RM1 million in funding from a Federal Government grant, and another RM2 million pumped in by Finas itself. Finas chairman Datuk Affendi Hamdan told The Star Online that the balance of the project's budget would sourced from local funding.

Finas is targeting the 2016 Cannes Film Festival for the movie's premiere.

Mikken
post Aug 8 2014, 08:22 AM

#
1,092 posts

How much is his salary? Usd20 mil huh
WickyWeeky
post Aug 8 2014, 08:22 AM

So bangga la....
SUSLingLingFat
post Aug 8 2014, 08:23 AM

204 posts

inb4 half-assed vfx done by local grad in local songlap vfx company
Ayer
post Aug 8 2014, 08:27 AM

206 posts

Yeah i can see this plausible to happen only if we are living in the opposite world where Malaysian movie industry does not suck.

Dream on Malaysia, we had enough with your hantu, rempit and 'romantic' movies stereotype and you will never succeed with these kinda crap. And heck there are already a lot of movie with much meager budget scale made it to Cannes Movie Festival, large budget does not guarantee the success of the movie.

just my pragmatic, morning two cents.
macyhouse
post Aug 8 2014, 08:34 AM

273 posts

inb4 ... publicity stunt la ... later see Hugh tweet "what ? I am not dead in sandakan! " - ohwai
cedyy
post Aug 8 2014, 08:35 AM

1,404 posts

with such low budget allocation, expecting Hugh Jackman to act for free kah?
luahanpelik
post Aug 8 2014, 08:35 AM

130 posts

see how it turns out first. later only i comment
genjo
post Aug 8 2014, 08:41 AM

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
1,431 posts

actor appeared 1-3 secs then collect paycheck d smile.gif
komag
post Aug 8 2014, 08:42 AM

300 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Aug 8 2014, 08:41 AM)
kraith
post Aug 8 2014, 08:43 AM

29 posts

Death march bukan kawad maut ke?
lone_wolf
post Aug 8 2014, 08:44 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(macyhouse @ Aug 8 2014, 08:34 AM)
inb4 ... publicity stunt la ... later see Hugh tweet "what ? I am not dead in sandakan! "      - ohwai
Do you know how to read?
xenogearz88
post Aug 8 2014, 08:44 AM

24 posts

World war 2 role for hugh jackman? Retake his role as logan again?
firslash88
post Aug 8 2014, 08:46 AM

267 posts

come on guys, let's watch it first (either ori/pirate/in cinema it's up to u).
just give him a chance.

rcracer
post Aug 8 2014, 08:47 AM

?????
3,772 posts

making norse god story again?
SUSfalzehope
post Aug 8 2014, 08:47 AM

48 posts

the news' title is misleading
teh_tarik_satu
post Aug 8 2014, 08:49 AM

140 posts

dono what to say. -.-
Zanei Gundan

143 posts

feels like reading metroll news
TheEvilMan

囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧囧
675 posts

QUOTE(genjo @ Aug 8 2014, 08:41 AM)
Actor appeared at interview booth but movie 404, hired to troll audience to purchase ticket
ynot
post Aug 8 2014, 08:50 AM

131 posts

Datuk Hugh Jackman
bobohead1988
post Aug 8 2014, 08:50 AM

852 posts

keyword found

"MIGHT"
SUSNight Fox
post Aug 8 2014, 08:51 AM

72 posts

This movie is written by hollywood people la.. not by some crappy malaysian.. I had seen Christian in KK.
He really do research on the event & I'm agreed they use actor from Down under and british.
But I'm not sure the budget will bear the cost or it will end up as low budget movie blink.gif

This post has been edited by Night Fox: Aug 8 2014, 08:53 AM
futra
post Aug 8 2014, 08:54 AM

1,267 posts

Another interview with hugh, later he will repeat the words 'alamak' again.. lel tongue.gif
hirano
post Aug 8 2014, 09:11 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

Reminds me of KRU movie.. whats the name again.. got B-rate holywood actors one.
SUSedwardstevens
post Aug 8 2014, 09:15 AM

366 posts

itt: wannabe filmakers starts commenting again

lol
cubiclecarbonate
post Aug 8 2014, 09:16 AM

558 posts

last week got ads with malay movie with jean claude van damme as an actor
pundex
post Aug 8 2014, 09:23 AM

Sponsored by finas. LOL
neoengsheng
post Aug 8 2014, 09:23 AM

261 posts

I will remain sceptical until I see the end product.
SUSmeazurali89
post Aug 8 2014, 09:36 AM

908 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 8 2014, 09:11 AM)
Reminds me of KRU movie.. whats the name again.. got B-rate holywood actors one.
hugh isnt some b-rate actor
deejay_krish
post Aug 8 2014, 09:43 AM

You're Just Another Part Of Me
1,020 posts

Lol local sudah fail to the max now wanna go international and fail, this is great
DeFaeco
post Aug 8 2014, 09:45 AM

30 posts

So, it's Wolverine: Sandakan Death March?
craxors
post Aug 8 2014, 09:45 AM

2,539 posts

inb4 kene stab.

sad.gif
SUSAbdul Rahman
post Aug 8 2014, 09:55 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Aug 8 2014, 08:27 AM)
Yeah i can see this plausible to happen only if we are living in the opposite world where Malaysian movie industry does not suck.

Dream on Malaysia, we had enough with your hantu, rempit and 'romantic' movies stereotype and you will never succeed with these kinda crap. And heck there are already a lot of movie with much meager budget scale made it to Cannes Movie Festival, large budget does not guarantee the success of the movie.

http://www.pinewoodgroup.com/our-studios/m...kandar-malaysia

http://www.thestar.com.my/Lifestyle/Entert...mp-in-Malaysia/

people use facts to be pragmatic, people don't be "pragmatic" out of their ass
mousqy
post Aug 8 2014, 09:56 AM

758 posts

fuuuu wolverine in sandakan
sendoh_7
post Aug 8 2014, 09:59 AM

520 posts

his pay would be 10x movie revenue
lagenda
post Aug 8 2014, 10:05 AM

­
1,061 posts

lol what a shallow minded comment

that why malaysia always with 3rd world mentality.

then they wonder and angry why malaysia still stuck as 3rd world country.
Ayer
post Aug 8 2014, 10:05 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(Abdul Rahman @ Aug 8 2014, 09:55 AM)
touche, i admit my bad for not investigating.
hirano
post Aug 8 2014, 10:06 AM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

QUOTE(meazurali89 @ Aug 8 2014, 09:36 AM)
hugh isnt some b-rate actor
I know. But anything that get mixed up with FINAS and/or malaysian hands, ends up bad.
SUSLingLingFat
post Aug 8 2014, 10:08 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Aug 8 2014, 09:11 AM)
Buycondom
SUSAbdul Rahman
post Aug 8 2014, 10:08 AM

129 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Aug 8 2014, 10:05 AM)
touche, i admit my bad for not investigating.
was expecting u to butthurt... peace out
Vescz Nocis
post Aug 8 2014, 10:11 AM

Afdlin Shauki. A has been.
mi43363
post Aug 8 2014, 10:11 AM

61 posts

Won't comment much. Just wait and see. We can't move forward if we don't push ourselves to the limit.
zack85
post Aug 8 2014, 10:22 AM

24 posts

agree that our malaysian movies gila nak haroommm suck..

but lets give this a chance...after all, afdin shauki's movies not bad what...smile.gif
riku2replica
post Aug 8 2014, 10:25 AM

Mugi-chan!! 可愛い!!
3,304 posts

RM1 million in funding from a Federal Government grant, and another RM2 million pumped in by Finas itself.

Byk funding... doh.gif
Ayer
post Aug 8 2014, 10:26 AM

206 posts

QUOTE(zack85 @ Aug 8 2014, 10:22 AM)
agree that our malaysian movies gila nak haroommm suck..

but lets give this a chance...after all, afdin shauki's movies not bad what...smile.gif
yes, i admit that i do enjoy some movies which feature him as the director eg. Papadom and Sumolah but the stereotype is too strong in our local movie industry, hence my negative comment.
SUSchokia
post Aug 8 2014, 10:29 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

The last time Malaysian director featured Hollywood actor

And it was a failure, Perhaps this too?
SUSNight Fox
post Aug 8 2014, 10:33 AM

72 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Aug 8 2014, 10:29 AM)
The last time Malaysian director featured Hollywood actor

And it was a failure, Perhaps this too?
Of cause this one is totally failed one la.. fully direct by malaysian (not well known director) but, this is Death marches is by Hollywood director and malaysia director.

This post has been edited by Night Fox: Aug 8 2014, 10:34 AM
walkmanlover
post Aug 8 2014, 10:49 AM

620 posts

QUOTE(Ayer @ Aug 8 2014, 09:27 AM)

you dont know those hantu rempit and romantic movies are the way to attract malaysian. or meleisian. somtimes come out with a good movies as well, but nobody gives a fukk. if the producer wanted to produce a film that required malaysian to 'think' and required a lot amount of understanding the plot, most merehsian will ditch it.

i know maybe in your circle, most of the people you know dont watch those kinda movie. but, the film producer know, there are a lot of people who enjoice their movie.

And this cancer was caused by our people.
hirano
post Aug 8 2014, 12:07 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,335 posts

QUOTE(LingLingFat @ Aug 8 2014, 10:08 AM)
Buycondom
Oh yes.. now i remember.
kyrulamri
post Aug 8 2014, 12:16 PM

Director sape?

Prof. Madya Abdul Razak Mohaideen?
zimhibikie
post Aug 8 2014, 12:52 PM

Freak of Nature
2,825 posts

QUOTE(xenogearz88 @ Aug 8 2014, 08:44 AM)
World war 2 role for hugh jackman? Retake his role as logan again?
didnt he was in Australia? WW2 movie, kinda..

well, movie belum bikin, semua sudah kondem..

QUOTE(Vescz Nocis @ Aug 8 2014, 10:11 AM)
Afdlin Shauki. A has been.
he never been lar tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif

anyways, Afdlin kenot star in this movie, that time pepol mana ada gemok2 mcm dia tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
filmispeaks
post Oct 15 2014, 01:30 PM

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Aug 8 2014, 08:20 AM)

https://fbcdn-sphotos-c-a.akamaihd.net/hpho...930831119_n.jpg 
http://dailyseni.com/images/afhlin.jpg 

MOVIE SOURCE : 

http://dailyseni.com/index.php/home/news/f...th-hugh-jackman
Movie director, comedian and entertainer Afdlin Shauki might be working with a Hollywood director - and possibly X-Men star Hugh Jackman - on a movie about the Sandakan Death Marches in World War II.

The Sandakan Death Marches refer to the series of forced marches from Sandakan, Sabah, to Ranau during WWII conducted by Japanese occupying forces, which resulted in the deaths of more than 2,000 Allied prisoners of war, many of whom were Australian and British soldiers.

At the end of the war, only six Australian military men survived the ordeal. The Death Marches are widely regarded as the worst atrocity suffered by Australian servicemen in the country's history.

The movie project, currently under development by the National Film Development Corporation (Finas), would team Afdlin up with Hollywood director Roger Christian.

Christian won an Academy Award for his set design work for George Lucas's legendary Star Wars, and has been nominated for another Oscar for his art direction on Ridley Scott's Alien. On the flipside, Christian also directed the notoriously bad Battlefield Earth, John Travolta's film allegory on Scientology's religious beliefs.

Christian spent roughly three months in Sabah earlier this year, conducting interviews with local residents and researching for the movie.

Australian actor Hugh Jackman, who's become a household name for his portrayal of Marvel mutant superhero Wolverine in the X-Men movie franchise, has been offered a role in the movie.

The project currently has RM1 million in funding from a Federal Government grant, and another RM2 million pumped in by Finas itself. Finas chairman Datuk Affendi Hamdan told The Star Online that the balance of the project's budget would sourced from local funding.

Finas is targeting the 2016 Cannes Film Festival for the movie's premiere.

sakura86
post Oct 15 2014, 01:33 PM

95 posts

mana tau become like the journey..
filmispeaks
post Oct 15 2014, 01:36 PM

Agreed, this was definitely some form of publicity stunt but certainly NOT done by the Academy Award Winning Director RJ. Christian. He was completely in the dark by this act considering the script isn't even completed and Hugh wasn't even on the casting list!!! This was done by someone internally seeking attention. A very bad move and puts a bad taste in one's mouth. A sign of desperation of sorts to get attention. Christian is passionate about filmaking and those who know him can attest to that. Despite others thinking B.E was a flop it was the highest grossing film in movie making history and with 2 Oscars to his name, that says something. He's been to KL 3x and Borneo, Sabbah, etc. He wanted to give this film a chance but its clear some people have a different agenda and what a shame as it would have been a great project. Its no wonder the film industry doesn't stand out due to internal politics, money grabs and its really not about the art of filmaking or wanting to make a change for the better. Give students, film schools and local talent an opportunity to work, make a difference in movie-making magic.
SUSamon_meiz
post Oct 15 2014, 02:05 PM

686 posts

u said u sick of rempit hantu

now they not doing rempit hantu u still complain

gila ke bahlol?
Ayer
post Oct 15 2014, 02:28 PM

206 posts

QUOTE(amon_meiz @ Oct 15 2014, 02:05 PM)
u said u sick of rempit hantu

now they not doing rempit hantu u still complain

gila ke bahlol?
Well let's just say my hate towards local made films is overly gratuitous to the point that i have come to conclusion that every each of them that were made after the 90s are utter garbage whether they do or do not include the common Malaysian tropes that are rehashed again and again.
fabianz03
post Oct 15 2014, 02:31 PM

4,649 posts

sure got one pandan in malaysian melei movies
gestapo
post Oct 15 2014, 02:32 PM

Full HD Post Count
1,160 posts

later fast and furious featuring afdlin .. smart man
azbro
post Oct 15 2014, 02:32 PM