#Samsung Galaxy S4# Official Thread V9, Lolipop firmware Preview Video! Post #1

kentchow75
post Aug 8 2014, 12:05 AM

Best Biz Card Printing Service
1,353 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Aug 7 2014, 10:32 PM)
Congrats on new thread  rclxms.gif
Just wanna share some info. I just bought a new battery from Hulala, a groupon like site. This is the 2nd purchase I have made and will boycott this website from now on. First time they sold a "phillips" powerbank claim its 20k mah but its lighter than my S1. Charged my S1 2 times and its dead. Returned it and went thru all the trouble as well as threatening to report to consumers association before they agreed to refund me not via giving me onsite credits.
PS: Phillips doesn't even sell such powerbank. Its china one with the word phillips printed on it and came with 32gb fake 32gb kingston pendrive and fake 64gb kingston micro sd.

This time they sold s4 battery and put there 100% original. According to them last time if its original, they will put a stamp on the picture to say its original. This battery comes with NFC(unlike the previous one I bought from shop which looks authentic as well as having the seals to say dont buy if seal is broken and hologram sticker saying samsung original. Bought using book voucher so I dont care about changing it) and battery lasts but according to Battery Monitor, it cant charge at 2A speed mad.gif . I do use NFC as I have NFC stickers ready for writing.

Package came as such. No Blue samsung sticker on it.

Nova battery tester stats. See 2nd from bottom for results.

Apart from advising people not to patronize this party, I am asking for opinion. What would you people do in situations like this? Thanks.
Feel sorry for you but no, the site's not gonna be responsible much for this.
Their main purpose was to make money from the beginning of time, they are much like those Facebook advertiser calling their item authentic real item while they actually got it from pasar malam.

I'll definitely not buy from them after being cheated once.

kentchow75
post Aug 8 2014, 09:38 PM

1,353 posts

Anyone had this problem when input Chinese Character into contact name and the whole name stick together?

Ex: (I input the following name)
"Work 阿安" and it become "Work阿安" after saving
kentchow75
post Aug 11 2014, 09:34 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(mudkipryan94 @ Aug 9 2014, 08:12 AM)
Stock Keyboard?

hmm.gif

try to use spacing the charaters, space once, backspace and apply it smile.gif
QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 11 2014, 01:34 PM)
you 10 spaces also the same i suggest to put a dash in between..
Seems like not the issue of keyboard, I'm using google chinese keyboard.
It might be the issue with foreign character, no issue with english alphabet, but chinese letter always got their spacing removed.

Didn't try before other language though
kentchow75
post Aug 12 2014, 09:27 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 12 2014, 07:09 AM)
i used stock keyboard to test this out and still the same. sweat.gif
It's kind of nuisance and disturbing for having all your contacts organized while some chinese contact name are messed up.

Even the older style sony ericsson had no problem on this, why the S4
kentchow75
post Aug 12 2014, 12:56 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 12 2014, 10:44 AM)
put a dash will solve your issue, right? l am not sure how old is the sony ericsson phone you referring and all these are controlled by FW. Maybe you could confirm with other Android user like LG... HTC.... if the same then is FW otherwise is Samsung FW only.. rclxub.gif
True putting dash will solve the issue. Actually not solve the issue, but use another format to do the name since the 'spacing' method doesn't work out, it didn't solve the issue ultimately.

FW is?
kentchow75
post Aug 13 2014, 11:43 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(fahmiisa @ Aug 12 2014, 11:46 PM)
hello ladies and gentlemen.

urgent help is needed here.  icon_question.gif

my s4 suddenly keep restarting.  i tried to remove the battery,sim card and also the sd card.
i even tried to reset that phone. but everytime i install the battery,it is automatically ON until the samsung logo
and keep restarting again and again. i even tried to change the battery but nil joy. i also tried to enter download mode to use ODIN,but also cannot. (macam-macam sudah try)  rclxub.gif

since i am away from malaysia,i cant refer to malaysia samsung for warranty claim.

pls,anybody. need this phone urgently. cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif

thanks in advance.
Gotta identity the problem as if it is software problem or hardware problem first.

If it was a software problem, factory reset the phone might solve the issue.
If it is hardware issue, it will become more problematic as it might be problems with your IC or board, better send to samsung service center to check for this?
kentchow75
post Aug 13 2014, 07:37 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 13 2014, 02:38 PM)
I can confirm is caused by FW. I have used other keyboard with same result. Did the same in my friend Note 3 with same result.

This maybe Samsung Android or generally all Android unless someone can confirm it. blush.gif
thanks for the effort bro, not good since it is firmware issue, nothing much to do unless changing firmware. sad.gif
samsung no like chinese?
kentchow75
post Aug 14 2014, 09:08 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(fahmiisa @ Aug 13 2014, 07:47 PM)
can't even reset the phone. only On until samsung logo then gone.
so it is maybe not because of software problem.

IC stands for what?  blink.gif

me in myanmar. google for yangon samsung servise center ady but tak jumpa.
ask around they also dunno  doh.gif
Since phone can turn on doesn't look like hardware problem as well.
However we couldn't do much without better diagnosis on the phone, it's weird for not working after wiping data + reload os

QUOTE(kueks @ Aug 13 2014, 10:14 PM)
hmmm recently my s4 auto connect to data usage immediately after i turn off my wifi

virus ?

i don remember changing any settings
It's that normal for smartphone to connect to mobile data when wifi's not available
kentchow75
post Aug 14 2014, 09:38 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Aug 14 2014, 09:34 AM)
Changing FW?....  shakehead.gif I am afraid Changing FW also will be the same... rclxub.gif unless you don't use Android phone... sweat.gif  laugh.gif
I thought that firmware is exclusive for samsung only?
We could load different fw when we root the phone kan
kentchow75
post Aug 18 2014, 09:28 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(kueks @ Aug 18 2014, 02:35 AM)
really ??? for the past 10 months everytime i turn off wifi... the data usage never on Automatically

just happened like a week ago... would an app cause the phone to auto on data usage after wifi is off???
Not really, but in opposite, there's actually app that can turn on certain function like wifi or mobile data while screen on and turn them off when screen off
the one i'm using is the GO Power Master
kentchow75
post Aug 18 2014, 09:53 AM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(fahmiisa @ Aug 18 2014, 09:45 AM)
also cannot enter recovery mode. tried few times before  sad.gif

cant wait to get back to malaysia then claim it.
do u guys have any idea how long they gonna need to fix this problem ?
must not expect to be anything fast, since what problem exactly also don't know. Good Luck bro
kentchow75
post Aug 23 2014, 08:46 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(shaun786 @ Aug 23 2014, 10:49 AM)
why 16gb only give 9gb free space? any solution except adding sd card?
Because many samsung bloatware inside and you can't uninstall them easily
kentchow75
post Sep 1 2014, 01:27 PM

1,353 posts

QUOTE(fantagero @ Aug 30 2014, 07:17 PM)
as the price stated

anyway, do you guys sync?
if yes, which one? coz got google sync,
samsung acc,
now fb also want to sync contact..  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

which one easier say if anything happen to my phone, i can just do backup to get my contacts, whatsapp etc

thank you
google sync is widely used and pretty convenience also, even if later time you change phone to other android or apple you could sync back your data from google sync, but not on samsung account
kentchow75
post Sep 24 2014, 08:31 AM

1,353 posts

feeling battery drain heavily after installing this app - https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?...eter.lite&hl=en

after 1 day of usage feel like battery tahan half day then quickly uninstalled it, but now still feeling the phone draining battery fast

0.0527sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:15 PM