#Samsung Galaxy S4# Official Thread V9, Lolipop firmware Preview Video! Post #1
Dannyl
Aug 9 2014, 12:34 AM
QUOTE(Clan204 @ Aug 8 2014, 01:01 AM) sent my s4 for home button warranty claim, and sc change the lcd, home button and charging board. all under 60 minutes at terminal 1 seremban sc. only they cant do anything with my tempered glass. now my s4 just like new The side chrome also changed? Otherwise not like new... he he he... BTW, what is this home button issue I keep seeing people talk about?
Dannyl
Sep 13 2014, 07:11 AM
QUOTE(((Xa))0102 @ Sep 12 2014, 06:24 PM) It was discussed a few versions ago where the i9500 uses Sony's Exmor R while the i9505/6 uses Exmor But according to the XDA thread which made all the comparisons, seems like the differences are not noticeable unless you zoom in a lot. Difference probably negligible for the average user.
Dannyl
Sep 13 2014, 07:13 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 12 2014, 11:11 AM) As long as it makes the phone less laggy and ultimately less buggy, then its good enough. Its a minor update only if 90mb.  Experience with Samsung's firmware updates: don't install it. Wait for guinea pigs first.
Dannyl
Sep 13 2014, 12:22 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 13 2014, 11:24 AM) Want or dont want, you would need to install it as the latest updates will address the currents issues and bugs with the phone. How do you know it won't introduce new bugs and issues?  QUOTE(benny888 @ Sep 13 2014, 11:31 AM) Really ? I never bother n will always update to new versions once available I had same practice too on all my other Androids too What is there to worry so much about??? Even for custom rom similar practice. Why waste time asking what is good or bad. Update yourself to discover it is better Saw some posts here about bad battery drains, bla bla bla with the JB update last time. What's the rush to update? If I don't find serious issues with my phone, I don't usually update. I was on stock 4.2.2 and then jumped to custom 4.4.2. Didn't feel like I missed anything in-between.
Dannyl
Sep 13 2014, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Sep 13 2014, 12:35 PM) There are always bugs and issues with every phones. Thats why phone manufacturers need to constantly update your phone. If a bug and issue free phone is needed, I would recommend the Nokia 3310.  I know. But, how do you know by fixing some small issues, it does not introduce some big issues? All I'm saying is: what's the rush? Unless the user is so anal about version and build numbers that he's the kind who cannot resist tapping the Update button in Play Store even though everything works fine. BTW, 3310 is overrated. 6510 is much better, high resolution, EDGE, blue fading backlight, interchangeable housing with 8310.
Dannyl
Oct 17 2014, 09:54 AM
Is there a decent AOSP ROM with Touchwiz camera module? Wanted to try AOSP (or similar) but the vanilla Android camera quality always stops me...
This post has been edited by Dannyl: Oct 17 2014, 09:54 AM
Dannyl
Oct 21 2014, 07:48 AM
What's the advantage of Towelroot over CF-Auto-Root? Used CF in my previous I9500. Want to root another I9500 now.
EDIT: Sorry, missed FP, Towelroot for I9505 only. Will use CF-Auto-Root.
This post has been edited by Dannyl: Oct 21 2014, 07:50 AM
Dannyl
Oct 27 2014, 12:01 PM
QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Oct 26 2014, 08:30 PM) TW camera is good, others not so. 1 of the reason why i don't want to use custom rom. Can use stock-based custom ROMs. QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Oct 27 2014, 07:08 AM) Very hard to say, mine 4 hours plus with light games, FB, email, whatapps and 45 minutes of songs... I noticed when comparing battery life, most people just mention SOT and usage but no brightness... surely brightness plays a big role?
Dannyl
Oct 28 2014, 09:00 AM
QUOTE(wajahebat @ Oct 27 2014, 12:10 PM) Most of the time people uses the Auto Brightness features, in which we cant really tell the actual brightness level as it changes varies to light condition. I heard Auto Brightness uses up even more battery as the ambient light sensor is constantly monitoring. Heard only lah... QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Oct 27 2014, 12:15 PM) I dont put on auto brightness. I want to enjoy the great amoled display on the S4.  Me too. My brightness is 40%, bright enough for almost all situations.
Dannyl
Nov 4 2014, 08:51 AM
QUOTE(coolkwc @ Nov 3 2014, 05:37 PM) I actually bored of using Ori Touchwiz....honestly i never use more than half of the Samsung functionality. Yeah just that i wonder custom ROM camera is it good or not. I just want something that i will feel 'new' and 'fresh' with it. How about MIUI? Sure feel 'new' and 'fresh'  and the camera uses stock TouchWiz camera  there's an original development for I9500, and a port for I9505. http://xiaomi.eu/community/threads/4-10-31.25988/QUOTE(wajahebat @ Nov 3 2014, 05:52 PM) Non-touchwiz rom/AOSP based camera is not soo good when compared to Touchwiz camera, if your priority is camera quality then avoid them. If like what youre asking, AOSP is your way Slimkat is pretty solid. But i like Nameless-rom better If Slimkat+Liquidsmooth Features+AOKP damn nice already. AOKP have the best features of all rom, but yeah its just on AOKP only I'm using Uncharted V7... can't remember, was it you who recommended it? Are there any other Touchwiz ROM to recommend? This post has been edited by Dannyl: Nov 4 2014, 08:53 AM
Dannyl
Nov 9 2014, 02:45 PM
QUOTE(Seager @ Nov 9 2014, 02:29 PM) Hey guys, I've been using my phone for well over a year now and I think my battery is starting to give way. Battery consumption is normal but it takes forever to charge these days. Unrooted, all stock. Thinking of getting a new battery. Should I get original or 3rd party with higher capacity? Maybe it's your cable or charger.
Dannyl
Nov 12 2014, 08:52 AM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Nov 12 2014, 01:03 AM) Hey guys, need some guidance. Will it work? I have a phone rooted long back at 4.2.2. I did not flash a custom recovery, as well as ROM. Now I want to flash some ROMs and some ROMs need fixed or latest firmware. Can I flash any ROM without specification on firmware, to 4.4.x first then to the ROM that has specification on firmware version or do I need to unroot and update firmware first? I remember vaguely, I could just flash any ROM on my HTC Desire to "Upgrade" the firmware. And make it one of the first Gingerbread Desire before HTC decided to push theirs. Can I do that on Samsung GS4, taking into consideration of those Baseband or Build numbers? tl;dr : Simply put, is there any ROMs I can "borrow" to flash it to 4.4.x from 4.2.2 so that my "firmware" is updated which translates to me flashing another ROM that specifically stated it needs 4.4.x and above firmware? Thanks. It's great to have the old 4.2.2 stock firmware because this has the old pre-Knox bootloader, you can root and flash as you desire and you won't trip the Knox e-fuse. I have an I9500 with 4.2.2 stock as well, and have flashed 4.4.2 stock-based ROMs like Uncharted and MIUI ROMs (forgot the Android version). You should be able to flash any 4.4.x custom ROM and then proceed to other ROM which requires 4.4.x. I have not tried any ROM which has firmware requirements, though. Which ROM are you looking at?
Dannyl
Nov 12 2014, 02:17 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Nov 12 2014, 09:13 AM) The MIUI Port by Narutos. Perhaps it's time to move on from MIUI but I really wanted to try one last time how good it works on this phone. (used to be a beast in my Desire). His first line goes "Make sure you have the latest firmware". While it might be great to have a pre-Knox, if I flash any 4.4.x it'll be Knox no?What ROMs do not require firmware? PAC? Paranoid? CM10? And thanks for the reply.  Stock yes since newer stock ROM comes with Knox bootloader. Custom no. I've only tried two, they both didn't require firmware: Uncharted and MIUIAndroid. Didn't try any AOSP or AOKP since those are too bland for my tastes and the camera ain't great.
Dannyl
Nov 12 2014, 03:50 PM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Nov 12 2014, 03:41 PM) >MIUIAndroid Is this the US.miui.com version they been doing since long ago? They have a I9505 Variant? It's the EU version. Official for I9500 and ported version for I9505. http://xiaomi.eu/community/forums/miui-wee...m-releases.103/
Dannyl
Nov 17 2014, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(HeartRoxas @ Nov 16 2014, 01:16 PM) Wifi doesnt turn on and data "sleeps" when lock phone. Kernel issue? Flashed all recommended kernel yet still same problem. Even tried the MIUI.TW version and his recommended kernel didn't help either. (Adam's, Chronic, etc.) What firmware or baseband were you on when you flashed that MIUI.EU? If you remember. Thanks. I flashed MIUI.EU a couple of months back with whatever kernel/baseband it came with... maybe the current version is buggy. There are releases every week, so do check back if they've improved it.
Dannyl
Nov 21 2014, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(alvinddm @ Nov 20 2014, 12:38 PM) Out of curiosity, anyone here uses the s health app on your s4? I just started using it ever since i got the phone last year. It is a waste of time and battery? Didn't use it. Prefer to use RunKeeper during my jogs. Didn't bother with the pedometer. QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Nov 20 2014, 12:46 PM) Question is, does it works for you? I seldom uses it coz I find it a hassle to carry the phone in my pocket when Im exercising/running. Pedometer can be used daily during normal walking
Dannyl
Nov 24 2014, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Nov 24 2014, 11:47 AM) For me... don't care.. as long as i got it is fair enough cause now my phone Zero issue and if got it is a BONUS  furthermore no one (except my own) bother about it.. since i am not really care so me no issue...  Me too, not really anal about Android version. Unless Lollipop really brings something super-major. Happy with my phone now.
Dannyl
Jan 21 2015, 03:54 PM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 20 2015, 01:45 PM) Correct Correct Correct. Charging will automatically stop once full charge is achieved. But... once the phone is fully charged, if you keep using the phone, the battery level never drops. If the charging has already stopped, the battery level should go down if you use the phone. Correct?
Dannyl
Jan 22 2015, 07:43 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 21 2015, 05:07 PM) Correct. The phone is powered by the charger directly. Sounds logical  QUOTE(nokia6280 @ Jan 22 2015, 07:16 AM) My thought is, if you remove you plug almost immediate after 100% the risk of MOBO KO is almost 0%, still remember Samsung first move after so many SDS? Is update their FW. Still remember many complaint charger faulty? I changed twice...  The FW update is to prevent writing to the bad eMMC sectors. I researched a lot when I used S3
Dannyl
Jan 30 2015, 08:38 AM
QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Jan 27 2015, 06:45 PM) My friend just laughed at me today.  He's been on lollipop since two months ago on the Nexus 5. He was like, what? you guys still on kitkat? No more Samsung phones for me in the near future.  Your friend so anal about Android version. I'm laughing at him now