6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today ? - Episode 2, Share what you watch lately...

Andrewtst
post May 16 2019, 01:39 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 13 2019, 10:12 AM)
avengers: end game.... is now #2 on worldwide box office in mil $.

it has overtaken titanic... will it overtake avatar too?!

1 Avatar Fox $2,788.0 2009
2 Avengers: Endgame BV $2,485.5 2019
3 Titanic Par. $2,187.5 1997
4 Star Wars: The Force Awakens BV $2,068.22015
5 Avengers: Infinity War BV $2,048.4 2018
6 Jurassic World Uni. $1,671.7 2015
7 Marvel's The Avengers BV $1,518.8 2012
8 Furious 7 Uni. $1,516.0 2015
9 Avengers: Age of Ultron BV $1,405.4 2015
10 Black Panther BV $1,346.9 2018
https://www.boxofficemojo.com/alltime/world/

marvel comics went bankrupt in 1996 and the one superhero that started to reverse its fortunes was BLADE 1998 followed by X-Men 2000.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5CY1Uu4ug_w
QUOTE(weikee @ May 13 2019, 02:53 PM)
Personally, i find this Endgame good but not great. They spend  too much in marketing it.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 13 2019, 02:59 PM)
i have already lowered my expectations.

i actually didn't find infinity war that good... and now many are saying endgame is not even as good as infinity war!! biggrin.gif
QUOTE(rx330 @ May 15 2019, 10:29 AM)
well... end game is like closure
good or not, at least have closure

better than watching those drama series, follow for few seasons then kena cut..... no head no tail
For me, I find at least Avengers: End Game did better than Infinity War, it may have more talk than usual but it is well ended the phase 3 of Avengers, even though I don't like how it ends.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 16 2019, 01:54 AM
Andrewtst
post May 19 2019, 03:18 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

The Autopsy of Jane Doe - this movie is as scary as hell! Very new idea and very well done! Another awesome movie direct by André Øvredal - Troll Hunter director.

Andrewtst
post May 19 2019, 01:59 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 19 2019, 11:46 AM)
2-3 years old, i think.

i remember it - not a bad horror film, some surprises towards the end.
Yup. Old film. I miss it that time. Very surprise ending.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 19 2019, 02:08 PM
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 01:11 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Finish watching Red Sparrow. Simply wasting my 2 hours 20 mins.
0.5 star! the 0.5 star is given for Jennifer Lawrence sacrificed.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 20 2019, 03:02 AM
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 10:49 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 20 2019, 10:23 AM)
whole movie only meant for one scene only mah  tongue.gif  tongue.gif ur fast forward button rosak ar?

Haha! Lol I was hoping something more. tongue.gif

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 20 2019, 10:28 AM)
Haha.. First time I see 0.5 stars rating.. Not going to wa....
Oh wait.. Would you say that this scene is most important or not important for PhD research?  brows.gif
Hahaha! No need watch, it just waste your time.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 20 2019, 10:49 AM
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 11:03 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 20 2019, 10:56 AM)
i find quite OK, 2.5/5! biggrin.gif
sidenote: Game of Thrones
watched finale just now, live as USA... a couple of surprises but well... pretty much expected the rest.
so, there ends one of the finest TV shows ever, 8 seasons.
we await the prequel: The Long Night
https://screenrant.com/game-thrones-prequel...ate-story-cast/
2.5/5 is not ok. tongue.gif but still better scores. tongue.gif
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 02:36 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ May 20 2019, 12:11 PM)
I actually found Red Sparrow is a rather unpleasant film to watch.  Its disturbing at times, and did give me a unpleasant after taste.

I do not recommend it to anyone.

Agreed! The problem is the story line and the idea of the story is somehow sickness. I know many others even sickness movies, but this one is some how looks like a normal movie with not correct idea-logic inside.

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ May 20 2019, 12:12 PM)
Luckily not yet watch Red Sparrow. Thank you for the feedbacks and reviews.

Haha! Better save your time for others

QUOTE(makebusy1 @ May 20 2019, 12:45 PM)
Ini memang muvi yg tak guna- JL performed better in her private photo shoot
Haha! lol

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 20 2019, 02:44 PM
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 02:49 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 20 2019, 01:34 PM)
over the weekend watched cold pursuit

always a fan of Liam Neeson , but this one.... I really dunno wat to make of it hahahahaha
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 20 2019, 01:49 PM)
this one is classified as a black comedy action.

a poor one, waste of time.
Oh! Then I rather skip this.
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 05:11 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Just re-watch the new remastered copy of year 1998 Godzilla. Not sure why I somehow quite enjoy it now! I give higher scores now. Haha!

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 20 2019, 05:22 PM
Andrewtst
post May 20 2019, 10:08 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

First time watching Warm Bodies. Never though it was that good! 1st ever seen people do Zombies movie in such way, very well done.

Andrewtst
post May 21 2019, 04:53 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ May 21 2019, 10:42 AM)
yup
this is quite nice

u so free ar? so much time to watch remakes and old movies

Long weekend ma. Haha!

QUOTE(salimbest83 @ May 21 2019, 03:29 PM)
yea.
really good movie
need to rewatch it again someday
Ya worth to re-watch.
Andrewtst
post May 22 2019, 12:55 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

Just re-watch Free Willy, I had totally forgotten the end credit song by Michael Jackson. Haha! 3.5 Star.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 25 2019, 08:11 PM
Andrewtst
post May 25 2019, 12:58 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

I just finish watch the new Netflix movie Rim of the World. This is superb duperb KIDS MOVIE! but I actually like it! Haha! 3.5 Star.
Remember this is kids movie, don't think too much of make sense or not, just enjoying it. Haha!

Andrewtst
post May 25 2019, 08:09 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

The Perfection - OMG! Unbelievable! Gross! Hilarious! but Good! 4 Star.

I dunno why, it make me think of Perfume: The Story of a Murderer, but it absolutely had nothing to do with this film.

Andrewtst
post May 25 2019, 11:22 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 25 2019, 08:14 PM)
Watched this today and for a Chinese Sci-Fi, color me impressed.. The story could have gotten some extra work.. Unsure about the physics of the whole thing.. but overall, i enjoyed the movie... I'd rate it a 3.5/5.
QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 25 2019, 09:45 PM)
i will rewatch this one in bluray 4k when available!
I also just finish watch The Wandering Earth.
The idea is some how new and fresh, moving earth to prevent disaster but come another even big disaster.

It feels like 99.99% is CGI, but nice done, very beautiful.
The background atmosphere, design looks like the game "Lost Planet 3" without alien.

Agreed they is very strong "2001: A Space Odyssey" and also "Gravity" elements inside as well.

Ending kind of touching, the theory is workable or not, I don't care, it just a movie.

This is very multi nation film, a lot languages and world country actor/actress inside.

I hope it get release as 4K Blu-ray. This title is one of the weird format in Netflix, it is HDR but 1080p not 4K.

I give 3.5 Star.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 25 2019, 11:36 PM
Andrewtst
post May 26 2019, 01:05 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ May 26 2019, 12:04 AM)
1080p hdr is only found with streaming services, to incr revenues.

But not found on bluray discs.

Heck, there is even 720p hdr now!!
720p? OMG.

Ya no HDR in Blu-ray, only 4K Blu-ray.

Actually I notice in Netflix, only Asian film have 1080p in HDR.

Others country Netflix film if HDR will be in 4K.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 26 2019, 01:15 AM
Andrewtst
post May 26 2019, 10:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 26 2019, 08:31 AM)
Same here.. Hopefully with rich HDR too..
IMO, even if 100% of it was done or augmented with CGI, it is nicely done. Very realistic engines. Perhaps when watched in 4K and for the second time, can spot flaws..  biggrin.gif

HDR is just that HDR ...Extra data for better reproduction. It's independent to resolution. When HDR was released, it coincided with the release of 4K/UHD too. So most manufacturers focused on releasing TVs that are 4K HDR capable and then things got cheaper. Now, no one bothers to make 1080p TVs with HDR.. Doesn't make much sense. So when you see a 1080p or even 720p with HDR on a streaming service, its usually because the 4K stream can't be delivered at the time but the HDR data (to be read & interpreted by the TV) is still present and can be played.
Ya very nice and beautiful CGI.

Yup I know HDR is independent and can apply to any resolution. Just normally no studio will do in resolution less than 4K. I only found some Asia film release not in 4K HDR by Netflix.

its usually because the 4K stream can't be delivered at the time - does't apply to Netflix app film video format label.

1) Netflix don't have issue on delivery 4K HDR. Just weird why Netflix not release this film in 4K HDR as actually got 4K SDR format but that version is not Netflix version as no mentioned present by Netflix during start credit of the movie.

2) As for the Netflix film format label had nothing to do with the bandwidth because the label is depends on the film format that you going to get. Of course if your bandwidth not enough then you will get lower resolution but this won't altered the film format label in the Netflix app.

Below is how Netflix label the film video format in Certified Device Netflix App. This label had nothing to do with your bandwidth capable or not.
  • 4K SDR - [Ultra HD 4K]
  • 4K HDR - [HDR]
  • 4K Dolby Vision - [Dolby Vision]
  • 1080p HDR - [HD] [HDR]
  • 1080p Dolby Vision - [HD] [Dolby Vision]
For Dolby Vision will turn to label as HDR if your device not support Dolby Vision.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 27 2019, 11:24 PM
Andrewtst
post May 26 2019, 10:10 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(surefire v LED @ May 26 2019, 05:44 AM)
Hope you enjoy it. Haha!
Andrewtst
post May 26 2019, 09:54 PM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(butterpaper555 @ May 26 2019, 04:50 PM)
Watched this today and I like it.
Ya it is a nice show, I hope they got episode 2 and release in 4K UHD Blu-ray media.
Andrewtst
post May 27 2019, 12:02 AM

Forgiveness is Happiness
29,764 posts

QUOTE(voncrane @ May 26 2019, 11:07 PM)
Err,. And your point is? You mentioned it was weird to find a 1080p with HDR.. Then you say you know HDR10 can be applied to any res.. Since you know, what was then weird about it? I know and wouldn't find it weird that a 1080p stream can be with HDR10 as well. I replied as much.. For all you know, a particular studio might decide to withhold the 4K and or license just the 1080p. It's not unheard of.. Perhaps they want more time to work on the final 4K version or want to sell as Blu-ray, etc.. What AVFAN says is correct.. It's primarily all about maximizing revenue. That's my point.
I said weird because that show is in 4K release by others and why don't Netflix also do it on 4K HDR unless Netflix find they is less revenue for Asian film as this is never the case for none Asian film.

Also they is very rare Netflix show release in blu-ray, normally even after they release in blu-ray, it was release by others not Netflix itself. For example Annihilation 4K UHD blu-ray was not release by Netflix but Paramount which is the company doing this movie and you won't see that show mentioned present by Netflix in the 4K UHD blu-ray version. This the wandering earth is same as it is not really original by Netflix, Netflix just buy it for stream version not the physical media and I don't think the physical media selling had beneficial to Netflix.

My main reason reply you is your statement of "its usually because the 4K stream can't be delivered at the time" is not the case for Netflix. Can't and don't want is two different thing. Netflix won't update it show after it get release also, at least it won't in short period. It may only change after the show had been remastered but no show will be so fast get remastered.

I notice you mentioned in others thread you not yet using 4K TV and also not a Netflix subscriber. In this case due to you not using 4K TV, you won't see any film label as 4K to you even though you had use Netflix previously. I highlight this is just inform you Netflix had plenty 4K or 4K HDR show now especially mostly new Netflix Original Film is on 4K or 4K HDR format. This the reason I said 4K stream can't be delivered is not applicable to Netflix.

Second thing I reply you because you are not talk about revenue is the main reason why, but you are telling me HDR had nothing to do with resolution. I just reply you I know it, no others means.

This post has been edited by Andrewtst: May 27 2019, 08:28 AM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0657sec    0.23    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:57 PM