126 Pages « < 64 65 66 67 68 > » Bottom

What 1080p Movie did You Watch Today ? - Episode 2, Share what you watch lately...

dwRK
post Mar 18 2017, 11:36 AM

the consummate chartist
6,230 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 18 2017, 12:27 AM)
Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Don't bother.

My Two Sen
QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 18 2017, 11:10 AM)
also, no need to bother with resident evil: final chapter.
Hey... sometimes need movies that don't need to brain to much yo... laugh.gif
TSpeter32
post Mar 18 2017, 12:13 PM

心旷神怡
1,162 posts

- The Arrival -

Based on a book by Ted Chiang (American born) : Story of your life (1998). No I haven't read the book, only found this out after the movie.

I thought the film is a cheap B flick. So I watch it in two sessions, with very little expectations.

But it blew me away. I was fascinated entirely by the story, the imagination and the complexity of the storyline. With the last part really made you think about humanity.

With that sort of intense impact magnitude, I knew I have to find out who on earth (no pun intended) is capable of story like this ! Hence I found out the writer above.

The writer wrote less than 15 short stories. 7 of which won him awards ! He refused one, because he claimed that the story was rushed by editorial pressure, not exactly what he intended it to be.

My advice for viewer is : be patient with this movie. At times its a little slow, and the narration sounded as if the movie maker tried to make the film sophisticated or artsy. They are not.

I enclosed the international trailer which does not do the film justice.

A must watch for sci fi reader, a thinker, any science students.

This post has been edited by peter32: Mar 18 2017, 12:15 PM
weikee
post Mar 20 2017, 11:40 AM

12,019 posts

Watching Iron Fist by Nexflix.
lleihuan
post Mar 22 2017, 11:52 AM

385 posts

QUOTE(weikee @ Mar 20 2017, 11:40 AM)
Watching Iron Fist by Nexflix.
stop at ep3.cannot continue anymore
voncrane
post Mar 22 2017, 01:20 PM

Noir et fier!
7,120 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Mar 22 2017, 11:52 AM)
But why...Too cheezy? Read the synopsis and it reads like "Arrow"... Haven't started watching it yet.. but hoping it'd be more entertaining than the current one.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Mar 22 2017, 01:55 PM
AVFAN
post Mar 22 2017, 01:40 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(lleihuan @ Mar 22 2017, 11:52 AM)
ooo...?

iron fist... i finished 13 epis in 3 days! laugh.gif

this marvel universe from netflix, i like them in this order:

1. daredevil
2. iron fist
3. luke cage
4. jessica jones

i suspect they are coming up with another series for ELEKTRA.

come jul-aug, there will be a THE DEFENDERS mini-series - all of the above and their associates come together, supposedly a story slotted right after the end of daredevil season 2. they will all be battling THE HAND, i would think. Punisher probably not there.

looking forward to it!

weikee
post Mar 22 2017, 08:11 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 22 2017, 01:40 PM)
ooo...?

iron fist... i finished 13 epis in 3 days! laugh.gif

this marvel universe from netflix, i like them in this order:

1. daredevil
2. iron fist
3. luke cage
4. jessica jones

i suspect they are coming up with another series for ELEKTRA.

come jul-aug, there will be a THE DEFENDERS mini-series - all of the above and their associates come together, supposedly a story slotted right after the end of daredevil season 2. they will all be battling THE HAND, i would think. Punisher probably not there.

looking forward to it!
I find iron fist is better than Luke Cage and Jessica too, funny many review talk bad on iron fist.
AVFAN
post Mar 22 2017, 10:42 PM

24,454 posts

rogue one is the first of a star wars anthology series.

a spin off, the story is set between episode iii and iv.

all new faces, incl forest whitaker, mads mikkelsen, donnie yen, jiang wen.

difficult to say if it is better or worse than the last 7 episodes; i'll give it 3.5/5.

one thing sorely missing in this one are light saber wielding jedi's.

come dec, we will have star wars viii: the last jedi.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Mar 22 2017, 10:43 PM
Mov_freak
post Mar 22 2017, 11:52 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 22 2017, 10:42 PM)
rogue one is the first of a star wars anthology series.

a spin off, the story is set between episode iii and iv.

all new faces, incl forest whitaker, mads mikkelsen, donnie yen, jiang wen.

difficult to say if it is better or worse than the last 7 episodes; i'll give it 3.5/5.

one thing sorely missing in this one are light saber wielding jedi's.

come dec, we will have star wars viii: the last jedi.

Like it or not, this proves that the public is ready for a star wars movie without Jedis

Hence the young Han Solo project in the works.

I kinda like this movie

For some odd reason the Star Was the new hope, when they talks about the death star and the lady said many a people die to get this plans to us, what she emote stayed with me (and I watch Star Wars the first time it was release in the cinemas)

This movie encapsulates that expression of her beautifully

My Two Sen
AVFAN
post Mar 23 2017, 02:15 AM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 22 2017, 11:52 PM)
For some odd reason the Star Was the new hope, when they talks about the death star and the lady said many a people die to get this plans to us, what she emote stayed with me (and I watch Star Wars the first time it was release in the cinemas)

This movie encapsulates that expression of her beautifully
at the end where princess leia appeared for a couple of seconds, did u notice it was digitized image of carrie fisher?

same with peter cushing! biggrin.gif
blableu
post Mar 23 2017, 02:20 AM

60 posts

watching batman-dawn of justice(2016) .

I laughed my ass off when batman stopped punching superman just because Ms Lane mentioned "Martha was kidnapped" . Lol .Now im left with sleepless night T.T
Mov_freak
post Mar 23 2017, 12:40 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Mar 23 2017, 02:15 AM)
at the end where princess leia appeared for a couple of seconds, did u notice it was digitized image of carrie fisher?

same with peter cushing! biggrin.gif
Yup and Yup

Personally, I think they did a fantastic job on Peter Cushing's. Carrie Fisher... a little plastic-ky

Sad that she is not not going to be in the Last Jedi.... or is she?? hmm.gif
AVFAN
post Mar 23 2017, 01:26 PM

24,454 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Mar 23 2017, 12:40 PM)
Sad that she is not not going to be in the Last Jedi.... or is she??  hmm.gif
i read she finished all of her part before she passed away.

so, should be there, film dedicated to her.
SUSchokia
post Mar 23 2017, 01:29 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

SUSchokia
post Mar 23 2017, 01:34 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

SUSchokia
post Mar 23 2017, 01:35 PM