Mar 24 2016, 11:31 AM
418 posts Joined: May 2014 |
Please advise any shelf life on the ShellFS.
The date printed on the bottom of bottle indicate May14. Should i buy this ? Very tempting price after discount Rm90.30 |
Mar 24 2016, 11:42 AM
Mar 24 2016, 11:50 AM
Please advise any shelf life on the ShellFS.
The date printed on the bottom of bottle indicate May14. Very tempting offer of Rm90.30 after discount with additional Aeon Rm10 voucher on member day |
Mar 24 2016, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(6UE5T @ Mar 24 2016, 12:07 PM) If not mistaken around 3 yrs. I think if you buy and use immediately should still be ok, just don't buy to keep in stock again. Omg 3years from the date printed. I though it might be 5 years from the date printed. CMIIW though from oil sifus here. Just bought 5 cartons. Can not tahan with the discount and with additional Rm10 voucher. What should i do to prolong the life of the EO? Attached thumbnail(s) |
Mar 24 2016, 12:35 PM
Mar 24 2016, 12:48 PM
Mar 24 2016, 01:09 PM
QUOTE(chemistry @ Mar 24 2016, 12:45 PM) From what i see, there are quite a few persons buying the EO when i was there.That's what make me check out the price and saw the promo. Better be fast as i spoke to the sales personnel, says that they are clearing out the FormulaShell. Still has about 10+ cartons ate the promo rack and 4 more at display shelf |
Mar 24 2016, 02:32 PM
QUOTE(izso @ Mar 24 2016, 01:56 PM) If sealed and stored in a cool dry area, those oils have 5 years shelf life no problem. But I wouldn't keep it that long in our super hot and humid weather. Maybe at most 3. Thanks izzo. Yeah very cheap imo. With additional Rm40 voucher. Selling like hot cakes5 cartons? So 400+ only for 20 bottles of 1Quart 5W40 FS? That's quite cheap. |
Mar 24 2016, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Mar 24 2016, 01:57 PM) Thanks. Good to know it can last longer with proper storage. Otherwise need to use as flush.Any sifu can enlighten us on the need to flush with cheaper EO before using better grades of EO of your choice. |
Mar 24 2016, 02:48 PM
Mar 24 2016, 07:05 PM
QUOTE(sunshine-kc @ Mar 24 2016, 04:31 PM) 5w30 oil is pretty "Thin". The main reason to use FS EO is to have a longer drain interval. Currently Changing oil around 10 weeks.Oil cars ( >5 years ) would have worn pistons. So not recommended to use . Use for Newer cars please. Ordinary Mineral Oil is sufficient. Add Additives if you so desire for more protection. ................................................. When to Aeon Klang....... NO SUCH SALE !!! .............................................. Saw they have introduce their own Motor Oil ..."Top Value " Brand. Synthetic Oil at Rm 113 / ? per bottle (4 litres). Anyone tried it yet ??? The engine has no leak or require any top up of EO. So should be good to go? Wow... The top value EO was price Rm99 just last week here at 1U. They must have a very good response to their topvalue EO for them to justify the huge increase in the price |
Jan 26 2018, 09:44 PM
Return to original view | IPv6 | Post
How do i use the product search
https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...osities=30%2C40 Trying to search Dynolube FS 5w-30. It claim using superior quality range of group 2 & 3 base oil from petronas Can sifu guide me on the product search, as i try with helix ultra from shell & platinum velocity from pennzoil without any result. Tq |
Jun 8 2023, 09:20 PM
Guys, I'm thinking of Diy EO, using conventional/mineral oil for >10 years old car.
Requirement: Genuine, Availability to purchase at most shop, better specs, and cheaper or moderately price ~Rm50-Rm60. Grade 5W-30, 10W-30, 5W-40, 10W-40. What do you guys recommend? Will change EO ~5000Km. Advisable for conventional/mineral EO? |
Jun 9 2023, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(chemistry @ Jun 9 2023, 04:12 AM) Ahhh. Let me rephrase. Any recommendations for a good conventional/mineral EO within the budget of ~Rm50-Rm60 for 4LitersKesian my wallet. QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 9 2023, 08:17 AM) HaiYaahh. 😃 QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 9 2023, 08:18 AM) My 9 years old car still with recommend 0w20 up until now. I believe its your old mechanic who told need to put thicker EO for old engine? Nope mechanic didn't recommend.As most engine can tolerate a slight different viscosity and by giving a few different grade, it's easier for all sifu that have brought and used the EO to recommend. |
Jun 9 2023, 04:14 PM
Jun 12 2023, 03:03 AM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Jun 9 2023, 04:16 PM) Went to Lotus previously but no luck.Where do you normally purchased yours? QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Jun 9 2023, 04:17 PM) Shopee Bold/Mizu serious answer. Get FS since so cheap Thanks, Will look into both of the oils.They are really certified so at least better than buy outside get fake oil. Or wait for Lotus sales. 😊 QUOTE(e-lite @ Jun 9 2023, 10:41 PM) can share what car/engine you using, your typical driving trips and car mileage now? then i can advise better EO for myvi 1.3,Now days just driving ~11,000km oer year, mostly around city area. Currently mileage ~150K km |
Jun 14 2023, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(e-lite @ Jun 13 2023, 07:23 PM) I am quoting based on your usage and car only. Myvi engine is low stressed car. No worries about LSPI or turbocharging. As you use in city area with I presume short trips, start up wear is more important than high heat high loads (track/top-speed use). Myvi has timing chain but never heard of any wear issues. Your mileage is still low so using 30 weight oil is preferable. Appreciate your advise. Good insight.I would suggest following options: Option 1- Mobil Super 1000 10W-30 API SP Price exceed your budget slightly. Mineral oil with TBN 7.5 Most Important is: 65% better engine wear protection^ in Sequence IVB Sos: https://www.mobil.com/en-my/passenger-vehic...per-1000-10w-30 Petronas Syntium Cooltech claims 37.8% only wear protection. If Mizu and Bold cannot state their test results. I assume they just pass only. There is a difference between getting C; versus getting A+ in exams. Who would you hire to work for you? Nothing wrong with Mizu & Bold, but they blend to a price point and performance only. I have yet to seen any published reports showing Mizu and Bold having molybdenum in their oils, but Mobil Super range has. Moly is not that important for your myvi, but it is important for my vehicles Make sure to get genuine So far I only see paulhew on shopee have genuine product. Or you can buy direct from Mobilub but probably more expensive Option 2 - Shell Helix from Tesco / Giant Running Fully Syn but extending oil change interval to 10000km. But you have to be careful on your usage whether it is facing oil dilution or condensation due to short trips usage Option 3 - Diesel Oil in Bulk This is I run on my low cost low stressed petrol cars. I have a fleet of diesel cars so I use diesel oils that come in pails/drums ie. Delo 400 MGX or Shell Rimula R4X 15W-40. They all share the same oil because I am lazy to keep inventory. I am not going to debate about petrol oils vs diesel oils. For you, I would recommend Option 1, less headache Use genuine oil filter too Yeah, for a 10 years old car that just clock ~150K, can consider as mid life. 😃 Previously was using various brand of FS oil for ~10K on city drive and if I travel more for outstation (~15K - 20K) before I change the EO. Will go for option 1 or 2, Need to check on the avaliability of EO when it's needed and the pricing. |
| Change to: | 0.0246sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:23 AM |