2016 GT86 attempted longer intervals
http://www.quazacolt.com/uoa/others/202403...OIL_SS_0w30.png

Virgin oil Analysis! (VOA) YES! MIZU!
http://www.quazacolt.com/uoa/others/202406..._Semi_10w40.png

http://www.quazacolt.com/uoa/others/202311..._Proton_CVT.png

My own GT86 back to back reports trying out new Valvoline SynPower Eco , next up, trying out MoS2! additives
http://www.quazacolt.com/uoa/gt86/20240311...line_Eco_01.png

http://www.quazacolt.com/uoa/gt86/20240614...line_Eco_02.png

some Q&A for my own samples:
1) Does wear in general increase exponentially? Reason for this is that my latest 2 samples did not run half as much compared to the previous Petronas, however the wear is indeed half in general.
Wear metals normally increase as the oil is run longer. Iron tends to change depending on the kilometers on the oil the most directly. Your iron levels on these two reports are indeed lower than the levels on the three reports before them, even when you divide the parts per million by the kilometers on the oil. In spite of the increase in spirited driving you mentioned on the information sheet with the sample, steel parts are truly wearing less than they had been.

2) This Valvoline is very intriguing that, it is a very slightly thinner oil, lesser shown additive package with lower, just about everything (moly/ZDDP etc) compared to the Petronas, seems to be on cheaper Group 3 base oils, with an Eco labeling seemingly for Asian or Emerging markets: https://www.valvolineglobal.com/en-th/synpower-eco-0w-20/ (in future samples please correct the Oil Type and Grade info) the website is pointed to Thailand, and the oil is made in Singapore. Our distributor in Malaysia does import it, but not widely marketed yet. Said Malaysian distributor website is still on the old "non eco" SynPower https://greatoceanauto.com.my/product/valvo...npower-sn-plus/ no actual API donut/cert and EOLCS also shows the same: https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...ame%3DValvoline
I will create a new oil type in our system specific to SynPower Eco 0W/20. The "should-be" values for the oil's physical properties will be the same as what we have for the"non-eco" SynPower 0W/20. If you think they should be different, let me know, and I will look into changing them. The link to the Eco product you shared clearly shows the API donut sticker and API SP on the front of the bottle. The API license you linked to has the effective date 01 April, 2024; maybe this particular brand was brought to market after that date, and that is why it is not listed on the license. Regardless, the results suggest this oil has performed very well in your engine.

3) In relation to question 1 and 2, why does Valvoline perform better?
I do not know why you have less steel wear with this Valvoline oil than you were getting with Petronas.

4) How is my thought process that this current Valvoline being lower on Moly, adding Liqui Moly MoS2 additive should generally be only positives with no downside besides the additional cost?
It would be hard to get better results than these, so I would not expect any positive changes from adding Liqui Moly MoS2 additive. It should not hurt to add it if you want to, though.

5) Does MoS2 contribute to LSPI?
I have not seen any research linking MoS2 additive to LSPI.

follow up corresponding email

I have learned some things about MoS2 and LSPI... but not enough to draw a conclusion. This doctoral thesis is the most comprehensive study on LSPI that I have seen that is available for free. The section that is relevant to oil formation is on page 26, which cites several other research articles that have been done on the topic with very interesting findings, including some conflicting information about the impact of Molybdenum additives. I do not usually send links to scholarly articles to our customers, but I have a feeling you will appreciate it! If not, that is okay too smile.gif

https://cris.brighton.ac.uk/ws/portalfiles/...rvey_Thesis.pdf

This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Sep 24 2024, 11:59 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Sep 24 2024, 04:24 AM

Riding couple
5,367 posts

goldfries / empire23

I'm going to run out of first page posts soon available for [img] tagging.

how do i work around the [img] tag limitation?
just posting img link without tagging it as image?
elite_smart
post Oct 14 2024, 06:55 PM

49 posts

Seems like many recommend Mizu EO here. Suitable for Toyota Vellfire AGH30? The mileage every 6 months much lesser than 10k.

This post has been edited by elite_smart: Oct 14 2024, 06:56 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 17 2024, 04:48 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

Today managed to service my 2003 acv30 toyota camry 2.0e with :
Mizu 10w40 fully synthetic engine oil
Mizu ATF SP3 fully synthetic
E3 ATF treatment
Toyota air filter
Bosch E1 oil filter
GamersFamilia
post Oct 17 2024, 04:55 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(elite_smart @ Oct 14 2024, 06:55 PM)
Seems like many recommend Mizu EO here. Suitable for Toyota Vellfire AGH30? The mileage every 6 months much lesser than 10k.
Yes, it's suitable for most cars, mpv, pick up truck.. Highly recommended
ayamxxx
post Oct 17 2024, 05:25 PM

4,049 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 17 2024, 04:48 PM)
Today managed to service my 2003 acv30 toyota camry 2.0e with :
Mizu 10w40 fully synthetic engine oil
Mizu ATF SP3  fully synthetic
E3 ATF treatment
Toyota air filter
Bosch E1 oil filter
Later gip ur review. As u, also tried Mizu ATF last service, seem ok with my old car. Still with 0w20 Mizu as regularly and their ATF for 1st time. Might change the ATF every 30k km.

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Oct 17 2024, 05:25 PM
GamersFamilia
post Oct 18 2024, 02:30 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 17 2024, 05:25 PM)
Later gip ur review. As u, also tried Mizu ATF last service, seem ok with my old car. Still with 0w20 Mizu as regularly and their ATF for 1st time. Might change the ATF every 30k km.
Which Mizu atf did you use sp3 or mv? Sp3 can last up to 25000km meanwhile mv 50000km

Mizu 10w40 Fully Synthetic :
+ feels much lighter, more responsive
+ smooth, quieter
+ fully ester api sp
To me i will stick to this engine oil as it can last 10000km
For fuel consumption can't tell cuz just service yesterday

Mizu sp3 atf, im very impressed, smoother then before
ayamxxx
post Oct 18 2024, 02:49 PM

4,049 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Oct 18 2024, 02:30 PM)
Which Mizu atf did you use sp3 or mv? Sp3 can last up to 25000km meanwhile mv 50000km

Mizu 10w40 Fully Synthetic :
+ feels much lighter, more responsive
+ smooth, quieter
+ fully ester api sp
To me i will stick to this engine oil as it can last 10000km
For fuel consumption can't tell cuz just service yesterday

Mizu sp3 atf, im very impressed, smoother then before
MV ATF here, slightly cheaper than Honda ATF dw-1, but kinda upgrade in spec for Mizu. So stick with that. Gear change works normal or smooth feeling when change new Atf
GamersFamilia
post Oct 18 2024, 05:36 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 18 2024, 02:49 PM)
MV ATF here, slightly cheaper than Honda ATF dw-1, but kinda upgrade in spec for Mizu. So stick with that. Gear change works normal or smooth feeling when change new Atf
At first thinking to buy trimoly x engine oil + trimoly x atf oil ( just to try it out ) but in the end decided go for trusted brand Mizu

dino89
post Dec 14 2024, 10:03 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

Hi has anyone purchased engine oil from VR Global Shopee before?
Saw their Motul 8100 0w20 selling for good prices and wondering whether they are selling original or not
GamersFamilia
post Dec 15 2024, 01:30 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 14 2024, 10:03 PM)
Hi has anyone purchased engine oil from VR Global Shopee before?
Saw their Motul 8100 0w20 selling for good prices and wondering whether they are selling original or not
For motul me myself always go for
Kakimotor
N1 racing team
Motul malaysia official store
dino89
post Dec 15 2024, 01:45 PM

Dino89 Trading
4,966 posts

QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Dec 15 2024, 01:30 PM)
For motul me myself always go for
Kakimotor
N1 racing team
Motul malaysia official store
Normally i dun go for Motul also, i go for Bardhal, Gulf, North Sea, etc around price range RM150 below.
I saw this VR Global selling price cheap for Motul 8100 with ester which normally go for much higher price so gatal want to try and see more expensive oil got feel any difference or not

But now pulak dunno whether it is original or not, although standard SOP seller claim its 100% original and price is cheap because of grey import

GamersFamilia
post Dec 15 2024, 02:44 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(dino89 @ Dec 15 2024, 01:45 PM)
Normally i dun go for Motul also, i go for Bardhal, Gulf, North Sea, etc around price range RM150 below.
I saw this VR Global selling price cheap for Motul 8100 with ester which normally go for much higher price so gatal want to try and see more expensive oil got feel any difference or not

But now pulak dunno whether it is original or not, although standard SOP seller claim its 100% original and price is cheap because of grey import
I also don't know how to spot ori or fake motul
But as far as i knew there's a qr code on top of the bottle cap

I rather spend a bit buy from reputable seller for original stuff rather than cheaper but fake engine oil
babisotong
post Dec 17 2024, 10:27 AM

654 posts

i just wanted to share my little experiment on Penrite VS Mannol.

I liked to use HPR5 Penrite on my 10 years old sht box and i decided to try Mannol 0-40w legend PAO+ESTER bla3.

HPR5 : 5k km almost 0 wear
Mannol : 5k km tons of wear, half my dip stick between max-min

kinda suprised with the outcome since Mannol did quite well in fact better than HPR5 on serveral youtube EO test.

i ask my friend who kinda knows more about this, he said Mannol EO that i bought might be manufactured here or something which causing the quality to drop.

This post has been edited by babisotong: Dec 17 2024, 10:34 AM
ayamxxx
post Dec 17 2024, 11:24 AM

4,049 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Dec 17 2024, 10:27 AM)
i just wanted to share my little experiment on Penrite VS Mannol.

I liked to use HPR5 Penrite on my 10 years old sht box and i decided to try Mannol 0-40w legend PAO+ESTER bla3.

HPR5 : 5k km almost 0 wear
Mannol : 5k km tons of wear, half my dip stick between max-min

kinda suprised with the outcome since Mannol did quite well in fact better than HPR5 on serveral youtube EO test.

i ask my friend who kinda knows more about this, he said Mannol EO that i bought might be manufactured here or something which causing the quality to drop.
Kinda my question, now many Shopee Mall selling EO with Ester based at attractive price (filter shopee mall). If read website, Ester based EO > Fully synthetic based.

Will try next brand shopee mall with Ester based in the future
babisotong
post Dec 17 2024, 02:46 PM

654 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 17 2024, 11:24 AM)
Kinda my question, now many Shopee Mall selling EO with Ester based at attractive price (filter shopee mall). If read website, Ester based EO > Fully synthetic based.

i am not brave enough to buy 80rm fully synthetic ESTER bla3 EO..
GamersFamilia
post Dec 17 2024, 07:21 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,812 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Dec 17 2024, 11:24 AM)

Currently I'm using mizu 10w40 fully synthetic with ester, which cost me rm89 thru mizu official store, already 3000km plus using it, so far satisfied with it, planned to change the engine oil at 8000km ( even it can last up to 10 000 )

Fully confident on mizu brand
Tokik Siwok
post Dec 27 2024, 01:42 PM

312 posts

Hi guys, need some advice on mixing oils.

1. Is it okay to mix different brand of engine oil with same viscosity. For example, 4L of brand A 0w20 + 0.5L balance of brand B 0w20 from previous oil change.

2. 0.5L balance of brand B 0w20 + 4L brand B 5w30.

I understand that different brand or different product range from same brand will differs in the oil blend. But will it have any serious impact to the engine? Since theoretically there will be some old oil remains in the engine during every drain and fill.

Reason is I don't want to waste the balance oil.

This post has been edited by Tokik Siwok: Dec 27 2024, 01:46 PM
DM3
post Dec 27 2024, 01:45 PM

INSPIRATOR
6,618 posts

QUOTE(Tokik Siwok @ Dec 27 2024, 01:42 PM)
Hi guys, need some advice on mixing oils.

1. Is it okay to mix different brand of engine oil with same viscosity. For example, 4L of brand A 0w20 + 0.5L balance of brand B 0w20 from previous oil change. 

2. 0.5L balance of brand B 0w20 + 4L brand B 5w30.

I understand that different brand or different product range from product range will differs in the oil blend. But will it have any serious impact to the engine?

Reason is I don't want to waste the balance oil.
Same weight should be ok
Tokik Siwok
post Dec 27 2024, 01:47 PM

312 posts

QUOTE(DM3 @ Dec 27 2024, 01:45 PM)
Same weight should be ok
thanks smile.gif

296 Pages « < 280 281 282 283 284 > » Top

0.0211sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled