Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

ayamxxx
post Jul 21 2023, 02:41 PM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(BuKeYi @ Jul 21 2023, 02:35 PM)
Hi, any sifu can advice which fully synthetic oil for Ford Fiesta, 120000km+ now.
No harm to follow manual and recommendations as in the book even though high mileage
JJLiow
post Jul 28 2023, 02:32 PM

17 posts

Hi all, any engine oil recommendations for Proton Iriz 1.6? Looking for grade 5w-30 fully synthetic engine oil for my car next oil change.

Thank you and much appreciate.
chemistry
post Jul 29 2023, 12:17 AM

3,065 posts

QUOTE(JJLiow @ Jul 28 2023, 02:32 PM)
Hi all, any engine oil recommendations for Proton Iriz 1.6? Looking for grade 5w-30 fully synthetic engine oil for my car next oil change.

Petro-Canada Supreme Synthetic 5W-30 API SP
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/1l-petro...636752897.html?
GamersFamilia
post Aug 2 2023, 05:32 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,802 posts

QUOTE(JJLiow @ Jul 28 2023, 02:32 PM)

mizu engine oil also good but make sure buy from their official store via shopee .. currently im using mizu 5w-40 fully for my toyota camry , very satisfied with the engine oil nod.gif
Ichitech
post Aug 5 2023, 10:08 PM

196 posts

Anybody tried this on Viva Elite 1.0 before ?
My car currently 13 years all the while using stock Perodua 5W-30 Semi Synthetic only last 6 month my sis (girl, u know) went for outside service and got my car changed to Shell Mineral oil sad.gif I don't feel anything during driving but the oil turned black quite quick (Only 5.8k so far).. Thinking to swap back Perodua original 5W-30 but read through and google found this Mizu brand.. Fully Synthetic and API SP rating with the cost of RM80+ for 4L.. and somemore is from official store, so no worry for fake item...
So any past user on this Oil experience ?
Kasawari 2
post Aug 5 2023, 10:33 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Aug 5 2023, 10:08 PM)
My car currently 13 years all the while using stock Perodua 5W-30 Semi Synthetic only last 6 month my sis (girl, u know) went for outside service and got my car changed to Shell Mineral oil sad.gif  I don't feel anything during driving but the oil turned black quite quick (Only 5.8k so far).. Thinking to swap back Perodua original 5W-30 but read through and google found this Mizu brand.. Fully Synthetic and API SP rating with the cost of RM80+ for 4L.. and somemore is from official store, so no worry for fake item...
Mizu from their official store no worry. I use on my Myvi and even Polo (5w40). Good for up to 10k km. If worry, just change at 7k or 8k km.
Ichitech
post Aug 5 2023, 10:36 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(Kasawari 2 @ Aug 5 2023, 10:33 PM)
Mizu from their official store no worry. I use on my Myvi and even Polo (5w40). Good for up to 10k km. If worry, just change at 7k or 8k km.
U meant 5W-30 (Or the oil that i had screenshot) on your Myvi right ? Any improvement like (noise, engine rev rpm etc) beside mileage because this is fully synthetic ?
ayamxxx
post Aug 6 2023, 09:49 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Aug 5 2023, 10:08 PM)
My car currently 13 years all the while using stock Perodua 5W-30 Semi Synthetic only last 6 month my sis (girl, u know) went for outside service and got my car changed to Shell Mineral oil sad.gif  I don't feel anything during driving but the oil turned black quite quick (Only 5.8k so far).. Thinking to swap back Perodua original 5W-30 but read through and google found this Mizu brand.. Fully Synthetic and API SP rating with the cost of RM80+ for 4L.. and somemore is from official store, so no worry for fake item...
Viva Elite Mizu 5w30, Accord 2.4 Mizu 0w20, HRV last gen Mizu 0w20. No issues and for me they work great in my car, family car. Shopee mall sure it genuine that is the importance parts. Next on the list Mizu ATF will try.

My x70 need another 2 years for warranty to expires then will probably heading to this oil as well. Since using 5w40 and affordable

This post has been edited by ayamxxx: Aug 6 2023, 12:03 PM
ayamxxx
post Aug 6 2023, 09:50 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Aug 5 2023, 10:36 PM)
U meant 5W-30 (Or the oil that i had screenshot) on your Myvi right ? Any improvement like (noise, engine rev rpm etc) beside mileage because this is fully synthetic ?
My butt dyno on viva Elite it make the engine sound smoother. But don't expect much in sound cz this engine is 3 cylinder engine
Kasawari 2
post Aug 6 2023, 07:58 PM

126 posts

QUOTE(Ichitech @ Aug 5 2023, 10:36 PM)
I use 5w40. Not much difference in price from 5w30, only less than RM10. I guess can use either without worry. No major change in operating noise, etc.
Davidtcf
post Aug 8 2023, 08:58 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

Currently using this fully synthetic 5w30 for my >5 yr old Toyota Sienta:
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.TJLId

Now only got to know other brands like Mizu and Morrisons. Are they good? Both got own official stores at Lazada. Don’t really know how to check their ratings in detail for Fully Synthetic type.

Actually 5w30 or 5w40 better for my car? I read somewhere that 5w40 is more recommended for countries with cold weather/winter. For Malaysia 5w30 good enough?

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Aug 8 2023, 09:00 AM
ayamxxx
post Aug 8 2023, 09:06 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 8 2023, 08:58 AM)
Currently using this fully synthetic 5w30 for my >5 yr old Toyota Sienta:
https://s.lazada.com.my/s.TJLId

Now only got to know other brands like Mizu and Morrisons. Are they good? Both got own official stores at Lazada. Don’t really know how to check their ratings in detail for Fully Synthetic type.

Actually 5w30 or 5w40 better for my car? I read somewhere that 5w40 is more recommended for countries with cold weather/winter. For Malaysia 5w30 good enough?
Follow car manual recommendations
minizian
post Aug 8 2023, 07:29 PM

1,074 posts

QUOTE(babisotong @ Jun 6 2023, 10:56 AM)
Hola, anyone got detailed spec on Proton R3 Fully? spec sheet. Viscosity at temp and bla3.. those thingy..

anyone?
Seems like if you search in petronas lube PDS, there are only two fluid that have PDS uploaded and it is ILSAC-GF6 graded (although the R3 oil is GF6A grade).

https://epliportal.pli-petronas.com/ePliAPI...48-08da7aeb9654

https://epliportal.pli-petronas.com/ePliAPI...4b-08da7aeb9654

I dont understand the PDS but seems like PDS is quite simplified, i have some sample pending to send to blackstone for analysis.

I got feeling it is not PAO type engine oil unlike those premium brand like Amsoil or Penrite

This post has been edited by minizian: Aug 8 2023, 07:30 PM
babisotong
post Aug 9 2023, 09:06 AM

653 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Aug 8 2023, 07:29 PM)
Seems like if you search in petronas lube PDS, there are only two fluid that have PDS uploaded and it is ILSAC-GF6 graded (although the R3 oil is GF6A grade).

https://epliportal.pli-petronas.com/ePliAPI...48-08da7aeb9654

https://epliportal.pli-petronas.com/ePliAPI...4b-08da7aeb9654

I dont understand the PDS but seems like PDS is quite simplified, i have some sample pending to send to blackstone for analysis.

I got feeling it is not PAO type engine oil unlike those premium brand like Amsoil or Penrite
Yes, based on my "friend" as he is quite good in term of EO knowledge ( he is EO seller ), R3 EO is in middle category as it doesn't use latest tech or smthng.. idk how to explain.. like PAO la Ester la bla2 all those spec..

Maybe R3 know that our P1 car doesn't need all those thingy is our car stock performance is just average..
pandikar
post Aug 13 2023, 08:15 AM

229 posts

QUOTE(jeffchuaa @ Mar 18 2023, 06:08 PM)
Hi, sifus did anyone ever tried lotus's house brand fully synthetic EO? or dyno tab brand, saw these two in lotus in my area, and both prices are quite attractive, during sales,  both a fully synthetic though. any opinions or thoughts can share? notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

I want to ask the same question:

Anyone tried these FS engine oil?
Davidtcf
post Aug 17 2023, 09:54 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Aug 8 2023, 09:06 AM)
Follow car manual recommendations
Cant find in the car manual doh.gif sweat.gif

Able to find it here. Will stick to 5w-30
https://toyota-club.net/files/techdata/ttx/sienta_170.htm

Difference 5w-30 vs 5w-40:
https://www.autodoc.co.uk/info/5w30-or-5w40...-use-in-winter#

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Aug 17 2023, 10:00 AM
ayamxxx
post Aug 17 2023, 09:59 AM

4,047 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 17 2023, 09:54 AM)
Cant find in the car manual  doh.gif  sweat.gif

Able to find it here. Will stick to 5w-30
https://toyota-club.net/files/techdata/ttx/sienta_170.htm
From the link, possible to use 0w20. U try that, it will give better FC than 5w40 or 30
ketaros
post Aug 21 2023, 02:57 PM

117 posts

Hi sifus,

I'm considering BOLD eo for my 10 years saga flx with 250,000 mileage. I have been sending my car to SC for service all this time. They use semi syn 10w30 eo for my car. Now that I 've bought new car, I'm thinking of buying eo online and service outside for my saga. I will be using saga as my daily drive to work.

Is BOLD oil alright for my usage. If ok, should i go fully syn since its cheap or maintain with semi syn. They also have high mileage oil 15w50, should i use this instead?

Thanks for any input

Davidtcf
post Aug 22 2023, 10:50 AM

To the moon!!
3,520 posts

QUOTE(ketaros @ Aug 21 2023, 02:57 PM)
Hi sifus,

I'm considering BOLD eo for my 10 years saga flx with 250,000 mileage. I have been sending my car to SC for service all this time. They use semi syn 10w30 eo for my car. Now that I 've bought new car, I'm thinking of buying eo online and service outside for my saga. I will be using saga as my daily drive to work.

Is BOLD oil alright for my usage. If ok, should i go fully syn since its cheap or maintain with semi syn. They also have high mileage oil 15w50, should i use this instead?

Thanks for any input
I would suggest buy 5w30 fully synthetic. Buy via Lazada official brand shops since there are many fake EOs.
Example Mizu at Lazada

10w30 is for heavy loaded commercial vehicles like trucks:
https://www.repairsmith.com/blog/5w30-vs-10w30/

But usually new car ppl will go back SC la, else will void warranty later (engine or other car hardware if suddenly spoil, you wanna pay yourself if still warranty?). Ask your SC how many more years warranty? Then just follow service at SC until your car warranty no more.

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Aug 22 2023, 10:52 AM
ketaros
post Aug 23 2023, 01:49 PM

117 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 22 2023, 10:50 AM)
I would suggest buy 5w30 fully synthetic. Buy via Lazada official brand shops since there are many fake EOs.
Example Mizu at Lazada

10w30 is for heavy loaded commercial vehicles like trucks:
https://www.repairsmith.com/blog/5w30-vs-10w30/

But usually new car ppl will go back SC la, else will void warranty later (engine or other car hardware if suddenly spoil, you wanna pay yourself if still warranty?). Ask your SC how many more years warranty? Then just follow service at SC until your car warranty no more.
Yes, the new car will service at SC. Saga will service outside. If before this saga use 10w30 can change to fully syn no problem? Considering Mizu also but Bold is cheaper. If perform the same, i would prefer cheaper option

296 Pages « < 270 271 272 273 274 > » Top

0.0255sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:08 PM