Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

coolkwc
post Sep 9 2022, 04:46 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,110 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 8 2022, 08:56 AM)
Not a Shopee mall. Nah i wont risk my purchase there. Unless it is shopee mall, different story
Haiz, i don't understand why not the original oil manufacturer use a barcode system to trace whether the oil is genuine or not.
Just a barcode or QR code that the user can scan and check at their website. Very expensive ka this kind of tracking system. blush.gif

How about this? Not shopee mall, but 100% authentic guarantee.

https://shopee.com.my/Liqui-Moly-Top-Tec-42...ef-41c6fdacd06b

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Sep 9 2022, 04:57 PM
TSQuazacolt
post Sep 9 2022, 05:27 PM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 9 2022, 04:46 PM)
Haiz, i don't understand why not the original oil manufacturer use a barcode system to trace whether the oil is genuine or not.
Political issue.
Or need to take care some people rice bowls issue
ayamxxx
post Sep 9 2022, 05:40 PM

3,073 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Sep 9 2022, 04:46 PM)
Just a barcode or QR code that the user can scan and check at their website. Very expensive ka this kind of tracking system. blush.gif

How about this? Not shopee mall, but 100% authentic guarantee.

https://shopee.com.my/Liqui-Moly-Top-Tec-42...ef-41c6fdacd06b
unless our place doesn't ever face a non-genuine EO, I happily will purchase the eo online from any buyer. but heck, there are plenty of cases of fake EO, I rather buy it at RP at Petrol station, cheap but genuine at Tesco/ Giant/ Jusco or last Shopee Mall. The only cons are that my car needs 0w20 and it did not have on Tesco/Giant unless it takes 5W40.
mytmnet
post Sep 9 2022, 05:50 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 9 2022, 05:27 PM)
Political issue.
Or need to take care some people rice bowls issue
Western country seldom found counterfeit product so they didn't have track back system in mind laugh.gif
Most product from China come with track system then we know why it have rclxms.gif
mytmnet
post Sep 9 2022, 05:54 PM

122 posts

This oil some time can be lower @ SGD 25
I tried before and it seem work as well as it should

Giant SG
coolkwc
post Sep 10 2022, 12:34 AM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,110 posts

I used to buy EO from Tesco previously, Total, Shell, Castrol. But after that no more because looks like the selection is rare.

The last purchase i bought 5 bottles of Liqui Moly Molygen 5W-30 from shopee for RM180/4L, for my Teana 2.5, currently already at my 4th time of final EO change so plan to hunt for another batch of EO for upcoming service. To be honest why today only i ask this question is because i don't really know the 'authentic guarantee' Molygen is so expensive at >300 per bottle until i ask my trusted workshop two days ago that a top tec 4200 now sell for >500 per bottle. Only then i realize the Molygen is very expensive too and now i started to suspect whether the oil i used all this while is genuine or not.

The EO colour is light green as per normal Molygen, that's why i got no doubt it is not genuine. hmm.gif i mean my car still running smooth, FC still the same....i don't know, really hope i'm not using fake oil for all the previous services, but what done is done. rclxub.gif
HumbleBF
post Sep 11 2022, 09:41 AM

424 posts

Guys, can advise me what is the best oil for Toyota wish 2004? I'm currently using 20w-50, I hope it doesn't damage the engine

The reason is because my engine oil makan very fast, no white smoke coming from the back tho, I asked mechanic they say may be minor leaking.

With this 20w-50 I can manage 3 months . While previously use semi forgot the viscosity 1month+ gone

This post has been edited by HumbleBF: Sep 11 2022, 09:42 AM
LemonKnight
post Sep 11 2022, 07:57 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(HumbleBF @ Sep 11 2022, 09:41 AM)
Guys, can advise me what is the best oil for Toyota wish 2004?  I'm currently using 20w-50, I hope it doesn't damage the engine

The reason is because my engine oil makan very fast, no white smoke coming from the back tho, I asked mechanic they say may be minor leaking.

With this 20w-50 I can manage 3 months . While previously use semi forgot the viscosity 1month+ gone
It takes 5w-30. You say your car is leaking so if your car is losing oil fast, park somewhere, next day move away from it and see if there's oil on the floor. There should be some. If not, your car's burning it. Let us know first. I'd use an oil additive if the car feels like it is on its last legs to keep it going.
xiaomoon
post Sep 14 2022, 04:46 PM

941 posts

hi, can suggest engine oil for axia can buy from lotus?
Balanced
post Sep 15 2022, 01:07 PM

688 posts

QUOTE(xiaomoon @ Sep 14 2022, 04:46 PM)
hi, can suggest engine oil for axia can buy from lotus?
Of course can. Buy any 0w30, 5w30 or 10w30 engine oil from lotus is ok
TSQuazacolt
post Sep 19 2022, 11:25 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(mytmnet @ Sep 1 2022, 06:28 PM)
Yes, you can put my info at the first page and thanks for your great job so I can know the blackstone and sent to them to test my oil.
ok added https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=69644756

man so much information and compilation really need a huge effort to go through all of them again to update/clean up/re categorize and re organize / sort everything console.gif confused.gif rclxub.gif
Angry Clerk
post Sep 26 2022, 11:00 PM

215 posts

Hi guys, used Rock Oil 10-40 semi syn, the oil itself is black??

I checked with the metal indicator rod after changed oil, it's black, I checked the bottle returned to me, it's black.

I got conned? this car is a proton wira, running about 2-3KM/Litre RON95.

scary.
ayamxxx
post Sep 27 2022, 09:02 AM

3,073 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Sep 26 2022, 11:00 PM)
Hi guys, used Rock Oil 10-40 semi syn, the oil itself is black??

I checked with the metal indicator rod after changed oil, it's black, I checked the bottle returned to me, it's black.

I got conned? this car is a proton wira, running about 2-3KM/Litre RON95.

scary.
iiwu, buy those EO at Giant/ Tesco/ Aeon which are indeed genuine and test on the old car. Else Shopee Mall EO seller
Angry Clerk
post Sep 27 2022, 10:05 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Sep 27 2022, 09:02 AM)
iiwu, buy those EO at Giant/ Tesco/ Aeon which are indeed genuine and test on the old car. Else Shopee Mall EO seller
Thanks, considering that, also need to look for shops that willing to use customer's EO. Nowadays shops started to reject customer own EO...

Hopefully someone used this Rock Oil can give a feedback...

If I change now, 160 down the drain... Haiz..
ayamxxx
post Sep 27 2022, 10:56 AM

3,073 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Sep 27 2022, 10:05 AM)
Thanks, considering that, also need to look for shops that willing to use customer's EO. Nowadays shops started to reject customer own EO...

based on own experience, most workshop I went no issue to use my own bring EO
minizian
post Sep 28 2022, 12:30 AM

1,053 posts

My car is due for regular servicing very soon.
I am interested to do an engine oil analysis but I do not have any clean uncontaminated bottles around.

What kind of bottle would be suitable to store used engine oil, like some temporary place to keep before sending out to proper lab for analysis.

Dont think I will be able to get hold of blackstone labs kit in this short time period (unless someone here have some spare lying around)

This post has been edited by minizian: Sep 28 2022, 12:32 AM
TSQuazacolt
post Sep 28 2022, 01:02 AM

Riding couple
5,216 posts

QUOTE(minizian @ Sep 28 2022, 12:30 AM)
I am interested to do an engine oil analysis but I do not have any clean uncontaminated bottles around.

What kind of bottle would be suitable to store used engine oil, like some temporary place to keep before sending out to proper lab for analysis.

Dont think I will be able to get hold of blackstone labs kit in this short time period (unless someone here have some spare lying around)
if you're keen on UOA, you can request a free sample bottle from blackstone labs USA.
apparently they ship really damn fast post the pandemic mess. (within a working week)

but, if you still can't make it, perhaps a clean glass bottle? (no way for residues to stick around the walls of the container unlike plastics, that also may be deteriorated from hot engine oil)
though from blackstone labs, apparently you don't need to be too particular on the methods:
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information...il-changes-101/
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information...s/gas-sampling/
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information/videos/
cempedaklife
post Sep 28 2022, 11:05 AM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Angry Clerk @ Sep 27 2022, 10:05 AM)

very select few reject only la..like some they carry one certain brand, might have a deal with the supplier.
but most will accept. but better ask before hand.
couple with the pandemic, they seem to charge higher though.
use to be 15-20 now 30.

but for me i understand la. i just go ahead. at least i know what oil i use. it's in my decision and control.
Angry Clerk
post Sep 28 2022, 11:11 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Sep 28 2022, 11:05 AM)
very select few reject only la..like some they carry one certain brand, might have a deal with the supplier.
but most will accept. but better ask before hand.
couple with the pandemic, they seem to charge higher though.
use to be 15-20 now 30.

but for me i understand la. i just go ahead. at least i know what oil i use. it's in my decision and control.
how about oil filter ? any particular
minizian
post Sep 28 2022, 12:00 PM

1,053 posts

QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Sep 28 2022, 01:02 AM)
if you're keen on UOA, you can request a free sample bottle from blackstone labs USA.
apparently they ship really damn fast post the pandemic mess. (within a working week)

but, if you still can't make it, perhaps a clean glass bottle? (no way for residues to stick around the walls of the container unlike plastics, that also may be deteriorated from hot engine oil)
though from blackstone labs, apparently you don't need to be too particular on the methods:
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information...il-changes-101/
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information...s/gas-sampling/
https://www.blackstone-labs.com/information/videos/
The issue is my service is due this coming weekend, not sure if they can do it THAT short notice considering they are in another part of the world.

Yes was also looking into glass bottle, just not sure where can i get it at such short notice.

That why I asking if any folks here have spare blackstone bottle that can be given away icon_question.gif

This post has been edited by minizian: Sep 28 2022, 12:01 PM

277 Pages « < 260 261 262 263 264 > » Top

0.0251sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:15 AM