277 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Bottom

Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids

goohtj
post Nov 6 2017, 03:06 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(communist892003 @ Nov 2 2017, 12:06 AM)
No one care to answer that?
tried dyno 5w30 fs - good. rm70 only [now 5000km ]
better than total quatzz 7000 ss [oci 6000km] 6 rounds
total not so smooth after 1 genting trip

my budget oil is rm100 or less

bob
post Nov 7 2017, 06:40 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 5 2017, 02:24 PM)
Hi all, amateur to car care here and currently drive a Kenari (auto). Been using random brands of engine oil in the past, I just leave to the car workshop sifu to decide. My uncle told me to use Total brand but usually he recommend me to go to his friend's workshop in Muar, Johor while I am in KL.

So I am looking for a good car workshop for routine oil change (every 5000 km or 3 months). I found some Total Auto Lubcare workshops near my house, so I suppose they use original Total oil.

Will they charge a premium price? How much should I pay if I am getting normal Total oil + oil filter + labour? Just want to know the average price so I won't kena potong.

And if they charge way more, how should I nego? Hmm
Can use mineral type engine oil.. Charge definately less than rm100 incl labour & oil filter.
Other than Total, also can use petronas, shell, caltex..
To play safe.. U can buy at petrol station

zellleonhart
post Nov 7 2017, 09:52 PM

Stars stars stars
5,003 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Nov 7 2017, 06:40 PM)
Can use mineral type engine oil.. Charge definately less than rm100 incl labour & oil filter.
Other than Total, also can use petronas, shell, caltex..
To play safe.. U can buy at petrol station
Buy at petrol station can still ask the car workshop people to change for me?
bob
post Nov 8 2017, 07:57 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 7 2017, 09:52 PM)
Yes u can.. Workshop only charge u for oil filter n labour.. Charge around rm25 or less if using after market oil filter
ADVAN
post Nov 9 2017, 12:54 PM

Live Learn Work Play
2,479 posts

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 5 2017, 02:24 PM)
Hi all, amateur to car care here and currently drive a Kenari (auto). Been using random brands of engine oil in the past, I just leave to the car workshop sifu to decide. My uncle told me to use Total brand but usually he recommend me to go to his friend's workshop in Muar, Johor while I am in KL.

So I am looking for a good car workshop for routine oil change (every 5000 km or 3 months). I found some Total Auto Lubcare workshops near my house, so I suppose they use original Total oil.

Will they charge a premium price? How much should I pay if I am getting normal Total oil + oil filter + labour? Just want to know the average price so I won't kena potong.

And if they charge way more, how should I nego? Hmm
For mineral oil, i use Eneos 20W50 SN for my iswara. Oil i buy myself at RM65. Labour and filter workshop charge me RM18. Eneos works vr well with my iswara, but im not sire about other car.
razor_max
post Nov 12 2017, 03:29 PM

QUOTE(zellleonhart @ Nov 7 2017, 09:52 PM)
yes u can...labour charge...u can also buy your own oil filter online..just make sure the model are the same..

im using mobil super 2000 10w-40 on my avanza 2006 1.3...still going good now..

cempedaklife
post Nov 13 2017, 05:03 PM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Oct 23 2017, 08:46 PM)
l

It is a fully synthetic oil. I just changed it yesterday clocking in at 8500km. After the oil change, can feel the engine runs smoother a bit and gain a bit more power (oil feels lighter).

For info, I drive in city area and always stuck in traffic jams.
how many months for you to clock that 8500km? I just bought 0-30w honda fully syn as well, but have not use yet. planned to change every 6 months or 10000km, depending on which comes first. am still using honda 5-30w semi syn. was changing every 7.5k or 4 months, whichever first.
Thrust
post Nov 13 2017, 05:24 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

QUOTE(cempedaklife @ Nov 13 2017, 05:03 PM)
how many months for you to clock that 8500km? I just bought 0-30w honda fully syn as well, but have not use yet. planned to change every 6 months or 10000km, depending on which comes first. am still using honda 5-30w semi syn. was changing every 7.5k or 4 months, whichever first.
I guess roughly about 7 months.
cempedaklife
post Nov 13 2017, 05:28 PM

Master Decoy
4,017 posts

QUOTE(Thrust @ Nov 13 2017, 05:24 PM)
I guess roughly about 7 months.
just personal preference, i think even if not reach the mileage, best to set a time to change as well, coz i don't think any oil will be good if we extend it to a year, etc.
6UE5T
post Nov 13 2017, 09:28 PM

1,704 posts

I changed oil purely based on mileage and countless times went over 1 year before I change again, sometime even 2 yrs! Have been doing this for many cars with all types of oils since the mid 80s and never have any problems whatsoever, and my engines internal still look as pristine as ever. Makes it easy to track the oil change time coz it'll happen either at the 5th k km or 10th k km mileage.
jusTinMM
post Nov 15 2017, 10:16 AM

523 posts

QUOTE(6UE5T @ Nov 13 2017, 09:28 PM)
I changed oil purely based on mileage and countless times went over 1 year before I change again, sometime even 2 yrs! Have been doing this for many cars with all types of oils since the mid 80s and never have any problems whatsoever, and my engines internal still look as pristine as ever. Makes it easy to track the oil change time coz it'll happen either at the 5th k km or 10th k km mileage.
i tot eo got lifespan once you have start using it...
6UE5T
post Nov 15 2017, 11:33 AM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(jusTinMM @ Nov 15 2017, 10:16 AM)
i tot eo got lifespan once you have start using it...
Yes should have but not sure how long. Based on my experience, certainly over 1 year. Note though that for my case the car is almost always driven but just shorter distances, hence the mileage is low but the duration is longer.
eddyann
post Nov 17 2017, 12:08 PM

Gold Miner
1,981 posts

can recommend good LSD gearbox oil for dc2 type r? nowadays, during hot, kinda hard to shift to 1, 4 and R. early morning while cold, is ok. when 3->4 need to be careful, there are times when the gear was about 1/2 'in' from 3rd to 4th, releasing the clutch got kraakk sound, meaning that it was not fully engaged.

clutch slave cylinder changed new and also new stage 1 exedy organic clutch. oh new gearbox oil as well

This post has been edited by eddyann: Nov 17 2017, 12:08 PM
chemistry
post Nov 17 2017, 02:00 PM

3,042 posts

QUOTE(eddyann @ Nov 17 2017, 12:08 PM)
can recommend good LSD gearbox oil for dc2 type r? nowadays, during hot, kinda hard to shift to 1, 4 and R. early morning while cold, is ok. when 3->4 need to be careful, there are times when the gear was about 1/2 'in' from 3rd to 4th, releasing the clutch got kraakk sound, meaning that it was not fully engaged.

clutch slave cylinder changed new and also new stage 1 exedy organic clutch. oh new gearbox oil as well
Look for this :
kkk8787
post Nov 19 2017, 08:50 AM

Julyd8th
2,446 posts

Why u all change engine oil labor so cheap. I ask around in subang jaya own engine oil and filter need rm30.
Anyone knows recommended place for me to bring own engine oil n filter in subang or usj
kkk8787
post Nov 19 2017, 08:57 AM

Julyd8th
2,446 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Nov 8 2017, 07:57 AM)
Yes u can.. Workshop only charge u for oil filter n labour.. Charge around rm25 or less if using after market oil filter
so own engine oil n filter should be cheaper. I asked around subang cheapest rm 30. Anyone got any recommendation
chemistry
post Nov 19 2017, 11:58 AM

3,042 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 19 2017, 08:50 AM)
Why u all change engine oil labor so cheap. I ask around in subang jaya own engine oil and filter need rm30.
Anyone knows recommended place for me to bring own engine oil n filter in subang or usj
Shah alam area may be more reasonable.
Try to ask around SectiOn 15 Jalan Utas .
bob
post Nov 20 2017, 10:17 AM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 19 2017, 08:57 AM)
so own engine oil n filter should be cheaper. I asked around subang cheapest rm 30. Anyone got any recommendation
Maybe subang n usj a is orang kaya area lorrr..
Normally around rm15 for labour charge if u bring own oil n filter.
In Some area only rm10.

kkk8787
post Nov 20 2017, 10:50 AM

Julyd8th
2,446 posts

QUOTE(bob @ Nov 20 2017, 10:17 AM)
Maybe subang n usj a is orang kaya area lorrr..
Normally around rm15 for labour charge if u bring own oil n filter.
In Some area only rm10.
which are u r in
bob
post Nov 20 2017, 06:47 PM

* hari2mau *
1,707 posts

QUOTE(kkk8787 @ Nov 20 2017, 10:50 AM)
which are u r in
Shah alam, klang.. PJ ss2 also can get for rm20

277 Pages « < 159 160 161 162 163 > » Top