Having all else equal, ester based EO cannot be mixed with PAO or mineral based.
PAO or mineral mix is ok still.
Engine Oil Reviews/Technical talk v2, Everything Automotive lubricants/fluids
Oct 15 2015, 09:03 PM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Having all else equal, ester based EO cannot be mixed with PAO or mineral based.
PAO or mineral mix is ok still. |
Oct 15 2015, 09:14 PM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Oct 16 2015, 07:33 AM
4,464 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 15 2015, 09:14 PM) The product wont go to hell, after all many full synthetic have been formulated with percentage of both. Maybe I should rephrase, rule of thumb, don't mix those full synth that claimed to be 'ester' with others. This post has been edited by dstl1128: Oct 16 2015, 09:04 AM |
Oct 17 2015, 03:12 PM
17,804 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
currently use this baby for my toyota camry 2.0e year 2003
![]() |
Oct 17 2015, 04:02 PM
19,320 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang |
Saw at tesco recently having promotion for Mobil 1 and shell fully synthetic at rm139 to 149
Oct 17 2015, 04:09 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 17 2015, 04:02 PM) and then see if giant 1up's them lolusage of shell helix ultra full synthetic with pureplus( the new one collaboration with pennzoil using natural gas)has been very positive so far and my sis also like it. only downside it being not as rev happy as motul's h tech as it was xw30 and shell is xw40. but the cost of that and topping it up due to worn seals/engine oil being combustion out of the exhaust at the engine is just no longer feasible to continue on with motul. i actually gotten like 3* 4 liter cans, i guess they will last me for quite some time since its no longer consuming EO that badly now. |
Oct 17 2015, 07:40 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 17 2015, 04:09 PM) and then see if giant 1up's them lol Will probably try some of the 0w-40 and 5w-40 Mobil 1s and seeusage of shell helix ultra full synthetic with pureplus( the new one collaboration with pennzoil using natural gas)has been very positive so far and my sis also like it. only downside it being not as rev happy as motul's h tech as it was xw30 and shell is xw40. but the cost of that and topping it up due to worn seals/engine oil being combustion out of the exhaust at the engine is just no longer feasible to continue on with motul. i actually gotten like 3* 4 liter cans, i guess they will last me for quite some time since its no longer consuming EO that badly now. As I remember it was the Mobil 1 3000 (something like that) and Mobil 1 New Life 5L bottle for like RM139 |
Oct 17 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 17 2015, 07:40 PM) Will probably try some of the 0w-40 and 5w-40 Mobil 1s and see very nice offer! As I remember it was the Mobil 1 3000 (something like that) and Mobil 1 New Life 5L bottle for like RM139 *i faintly recall we (other forumers) had a discussion regarding those models as well in this thread This post has been edited by Quazacolt: Oct 17 2015, 11:29 PM |
Oct 18 2015, 12:46 PM
1,055 posts Joined: Feb 2009 From: Selangor/Johor |
anyone use Tesco Fully Synthetic oil before?
is it ok? i wanna use it on my Saga flx ... |
Oct 18 2015, 04:42 PM
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Oct 18 2015, 07:15 PM
Talking about Tesco FS SN 5w40 its rm85
Oct 18 2015, 08:15 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 18 2015, 07:15 PM) only problem:https://engineoil.api.org/Directory/EolcsRe...andName%3Dtesco only SM |
Oct 18 2015, 09:15 PM
367 posts Joined: Apr 2012 |
1.How is Tesco able to sell engine oils at $100 reduced price?
2.At the end of shelf life, how long can the oil be kept, if not opened and top seal unbroken? |
Oct 18 2015, 09:34 PM
558 posts Joined: Aug 2015 |
QUOTE(king_lover23 @ Oct 18 2015, 12:46 PM) I use before, no problem on my 13 year old vios. Checked the oil condition through dip stick looks quite ok.No harm trying, saga engine not some crazy sensitive continental engines |
Oct 18 2015, 09:36 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 18 2015, 08:15 PM) Agreed, i bought one before and label rated for SM. |
Oct 18 2015, 09:48 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Oct 18 2015, 08:15 PM) Maybe they printed out wrong sticker label |
Oct 18 2015, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 18 2015, 09:48 PM) Even for SM rated, still freaking good deal to buy at RM85. I bought mine last year november for RM88. Considering inflation and the depreciating ringgit, it is remarkable tesco able to price it even lower than before. |
Oct 19 2015, 07:53 AM
48 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
QUOTE(SKYjack @ Oct 18 2015, 09:15 PM) 1.How is Tesco able to sell engine oils at $100 reduced price? 1. Tesco is a global brand. All they need to do is buy 100 units each shop globally per shop and they already have enough bulk to press down the price. It's the same for the Mobil 1 that they sometimes sell for ridiculously low prices. They buy from Exxonmobil Europe by bulk and ship globally worldwide. Local Malaysian Mobil 1 is 200+, Tesco Euro Mobil 1 is 140 bucks only. Economies of scale.2.At the end of shelf life, how long can the oil be kept, if not opened and top seal unbroken? 2. Shelf life for unopened and sealed oils is very long, 3-5 years easily from manufacturing date. If opened, seal with cling wrap for airtight seal and cap it, it'll last easily a year if not exposed to direct sunlight. |
Oct 19 2015, 09:31 AM
QUOTE(shinjite @ Oct 18 2015, 09:48 PM) afaik they dont even print out the logo properly so they dont get sued lolQUOTE(wkc5657 @ Oct 18 2015, 10:15 PM) technically speaking SM may even be better than SN in terms of wear/protection.problem is, that certified tesco oil is US based and supposedly ours come from europe. different blend/different packaging/no certification. |
Oct 19 2015, 10:49 AM
118 posts Joined: Oct 2011 From: Black Mesa |
QUOTE(izso @ Oct 19 2015, 07:53 AM) 1. Tesco is a global brand. All they need to do is buy 100 units each shop globally per shop and they already have enough bulk to press down the price. It's the same for the Mobil 1 that they sometimes sell for ridiculously low prices. They buy from Exxonmobil Europe by bulk and ship globally worldwide. Local Malaysian Mobil 1 is 200+, Tesco Euro Mobil 1 is 140 bucks only. Economies of scale. I noticed none of the Shell Helix Ultra (full synthetic) EOs which I had brought from Tesco comes with the original hologram sticker... Because the Shell Helix Ultra full syn. which I brought from the Shell petrol station does comes with the original hologram sticker. Finally, when I was in the car workshop I asked them about the Shell Helix Ultra full syn. EOs from Tesco, & they told me that those comes from the middle east & are not genuine... 2. Shelf life for unopened and sealed oils is very long, 3-5 years easily from manufacturing date. If opened, seal with cling wrap for airtight seal and cap it, it'll last easily a year if not exposed to direct sunlight. --- |
| Change to: | 0.0186sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 06:51 PM |