drawing tablet/ other than wacom ?, beginner level

TSiimcrystal
post Aug 4 2014, 03:29 PM, updated 12y ago

627 posts

hi guys tongue.gif

I want to buy drawing tablet just for hobby (maybe future work)
but I also want it to last about 5year ++
and I'm bring to class as well.
and I been researching and saving my remaining pocket money just to buy one

but Wacom is too expensive considering I wanna buy a medium sized one
I heard of genius tablet,
not bad not bad lah tongue.gif

but I wonder...

is there any other drawing tablet brand in the market beside Wacom and genius ?

and to the experienced user
can you guys suggest me a drawing tablet for :
1)hobbyist/working user
2)medium size drawing area
3)regardless of pricing/ not to tight budget (at least not the cintiq price lah rclxub.gif )
around rm200-500

ps. if I post in the wrong page, please guide me where should I post
cause I saw this subforum got post some questions kind of topic,
so I thought it's ok to post my question biggrin.gif

and don't so rough/aggressive,
I just came here to ask suggestion and some questions
and I don't wanna feel so attack sweat.gif
kadajawi
post Aug 4 2014, 03:43 PM

544 posts

Buy Wacom bro. Have had the first Bamboo for, well since it was launched, probably 8 years ago? Still using it, works well and lasts. Yes it is smaller than you want, but personally I prefer smaller ones since you don't have to move so much from one side of the screen to the other. It also depends on the resolution of your screen though. At FullHD it is a bit small maybe, tiny movements will have an effect.
TSiimcrystal
post Aug 4 2014, 03:51 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(kadajawi @ Aug 4 2014, 03:43 PM)
Buy Wacom bro. Have had the first Bamboo for, well since it was launched, probably 8 years ago? Still using it, works well and lasts. Yes it is smaller than you want, but personally I prefer smaller ones since you don't have to move so much from one side of the screen to the other. It also depends on the resolution of your screen though. At FullHD it is a bit small maybe, tiny movements will have an effect.
if small sized tablet,
what's the advantages ?

cause I worry that if too small,
hard to draw or something (worry something might goes wrong lah sweat.gif )
LOL

I just read other review,
most said Wacom better cause if rosak,
not everything rosak

unlike genius, if one broke
moneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gifmoneyflies.gif
need to rebuy everything cry.gif hmm.gif

though, don't know is it true sweat.gif
idkaaw
post Aug 4 2014, 05:13 PM

19 posts

In Malaysia it's quite hard to find tablets other than Wacom. I'd suggest buying secondhand Wacom, 'cause usually Wacom tablets are pretty hardcore. Try seeing if anyone bought it and then ended up not using it.

Regarding to your question on advantage of small tablets mostly would be the price and easy to carry around, considering you're bringing this to class. If you're trying to draw something big and your tablet is small, one way to go around it is to use the zoom function on your drawing software.
Source: have a small Wacom (hobbyist as well). It's actually not hard to use at all.

And there are a lot of other tablets, just google and you'll find them. A good reviewed one (when I was looking for a tablet myself) is the Monoprice tablet, which I read is of good quality and quite cheap. However, importing one makes the price similar to a Wacom, so I'd advise againts it.
TSiimcrystal
post Aug 4 2014, 05:57 PM

627 posts

QUOTE(idkaaw @ Aug 4 2014, 05:13 PM)
In Malaysia it's quite hard to find tablets other than Wacom. I'd suggest buying secondhand Wacom, 'cause usually Wacom tablets are pretty hardcore. Try seeing if anyone bought it and then ended up not using it.

Regarding to your question on advantage of small tablets mostly would be the price and easy to carry around, considering you're bringing this to class. If you're trying to draw something big and your tablet is small, one way to go around it is to use the zoom function on your drawing software.
Source: have a small Wacom (hobbyist as well). It's actually not hard to use at all.

And there are a lot of other tablets, just google and you'll find them. A good reviewed one (when I was looking for a tablet myself) is the Monoprice tablet, which I read is of good quality and quite cheap. However, importing one makes the price similar to a Wacom, so I'd advise againts it.
i agreed with you on that
i think trying to find a second hand wacom is difficult in my case sweat.gif
cause i prefer go to a walk-in store rather than buying online
and i think it's rare/uncommon to find anyone using drawing tablet (==")
and of course i want to claim warrently incase anything happen icon_rolleyes.gif

today, just found genius, wacom, and monoprice
though still no time to have indepth research on them yet yawn.gif

gonna continue brand searching before consider buying or making any decision icon_rolleyes.gif

and i LOVE wacom since, 4-5years ago ?
that's when i first knew about drawing tablet laugh.gif
but after saw the price shocking.gif cry.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Aug 4 2014, 06:25 PM

627 posts

hey guys,
what's with all these "pen tip replacement" ?
what does the pen tip made of ? blink.gif
shuihuo P
post Sep 5 2019, 05:37 PM

Probation

There are quite a few freelancing pro's that use Wacom alternatives tbh, they are cheaper and do the same job, so why not? Studio's live in another world financially.

Huion, Ugee and XP-pen are solid brands, XP-Pen especially because they specialize in screentablets. the new XP-Pen Artist 12 Pro Art Tablet With Screen is the best Cintiq alternative yet. It's a full step up from the Artist 12 , which was already considered a top competitor .

https://www.xp-pen.com/product/479.html

0.0152sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:51 PM