Technical Cant Play VCD, Newbie Question

TSaLittleMisfit
post Aug 23 2006, 09:37 AM, updated 20y ago

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

I'm using xbox360 as home media. I just noticed it can't play VCD's.
If i am going to burn some home video's on a cd. any recommended format?
without using stream from a computer?

sorry, search function out.
LiLBoy
post Aug 23 2006, 09:44 AM

319 posts

QUOTE(aLittleMisfit @ Aug 23 2006, 09:37 AM)
I'm using xbox360 as home media. I just noticed it can't play VCD's.
If i am going to burn some home video's on a cd. any recommended format?
without using stream from a computer?
sorry, search function out.
i think X360 cant play VCD, sry i am also a newbie of 360, but i wan try to help you. smile.gif
Darkchaser
post Aug 23 2006, 09:55 AM

522 posts

Definitely 360 cannot play VCD, just like the PS2 and Xbox.... (without modifications of course)
MobiusVyper
post Aug 23 2006, 10:36 AM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

DVDs are the way to go wink.gif
|Keantan|
post Aug 23 2006, 05:55 PM

407 posts

If you can. Rip your (supposed to be legit) VCDs onto PC and then burn to movie DVDs, i do that on mac.. it works great, can cramp like 3 movies on 1 dvd =D LOTR on one disc (i havent tried la). XD
Mgsrulz
post Aug 23 2006, 05:57 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(|Keantan| @ Aug 23 2006, 05:55 PM)
If you can. Rip your (supposed to be legit) VCDs onto PC and then burn to movie DVDs, i do that on mac.. it works great, can cramp like 3 movies on 1 dvd =D LOTR on one disc (i havent tried la). XD
still confusing...

some "officials" say a consumer has NO RIGHT to rip THEIR OWN VCD/DVDs.

some say it's ok.. rclxub.gif
rip and use for personal things...

guess we have to see the territory biggrin.gif
windows_sux
post Aug 30 2006, 05:06 PM

75 posts

xbox website said 360 can play VCD..hmmm pelik cool.gif

http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/media/viewvideo.htm
paanjang16
post Aug 30 2006, 07:27 PM

335 posts

When I tried to play an original VCD it recognize it as mized media disc but didn't manage to play VCD. I was expecting it to play an ori vcd but oh well.
SUSMightySmiter
post Aug 30 2006, 09:01 PM

471 posts

dunno about ripping vcds then burning them as dvds...but i can confirm that the 360 can play dvds(local and original) tongue.gif
necromanser
post Aug 30 2006, 09:39 PM

67 posts

i supposed in United States you can rip whatever that is yours. Provided that you'll use it personally. Here in Malaysia, I am not sure. But I think we can do that for personal use.
MobiusVyper
post Aug 30 2006, 09:59 PM

Livin' Ultralife.
1,249 posts

QUOTE(necromanser @ Aug 30 2006, 09:39 PM)
i supposed in United States you can rip whatever that is yours. Provided that you'll use it personally. Here in Malaysia, I am not sure. But I think we can do that for personal use.
Here in Malaysia if you rip a JackSparrow VCD or DVD you already broke the law when you bought it laugh.gif
TSaLittleMisfit
post Sep 1 2006, 09:23 AM

Honorary Lifetime Misfit
886 posts

QUOTE(windows_sux @ Aug 30 2006, 05:06 PM)
xbox website said 360 can play VCD..hmmm pelik  cool.gif

http://www.xbox.com/en-GB/media/viewvideo.htm
cant leh.. original vcd also can't... mad.gif darn ms

0.0147sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:03 PM